We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This guesthouse has a great atmosphere which helps with the amazing, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast is yummy!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Planet Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travellers Planet Hostel
Ranked #13 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
1 review
“This guesthouse has a great atmosphere which helps with the amazing, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast is yummy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Overall this guesthouse has everything you need, clean rooms, friendly and well spoken english speaking staff, with a great communal area. Near to all the historic sites and 30 seconds to the night market. I have been traveling for 2 years, and this is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaDefeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    54
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I took the air-conditioned room with shared bathroom. Room was quiet good, beds were comfortable, everything was clean and the staff was pretty helpfully. They have a nice furnished community room with TV, DVD's, books, etc., cheap drinks, free WiFi covering the whole place. Talk to George if you stay at this place, he is the manager and a pretty cool open minded guy. You can have interesting conversation with him. When ever I come back to Melaka I will stay at this place again, for sure!

Room Tip: Air-conditioned room with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b_flip85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I took the air-conditioned room with attached bathroom. The room is a bit small so its more suitable for backpackers or a very short stay only. Room and bed was comfortable.I manage to spot 1 mosquito around.

The male person-in-charge was really friendly. DVDs and books are available for you to read in case you are bored in the night.

location is near to historical sites and about 10min walk to the megamall.

Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NW1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very clean place, comfortable, cozy living room. Nice and helpful staff. Truly the cheapest beer around. We spent a very nice few days there.
Just one thing: stop selling the "continental" breakfast as being phenomenal and huge, it's just a couple of toasts with something and a tea/coffee. Nice but nothing amazing.
We'll come again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

It was my first time staying in a guest house in malacca and I was very pleased with the whole place. Everyone was so welcoming. the only downside is that the toilet was a bit dirty but nothing that can't be handle.
It was also loud at nite with the motorbikes around,probably because it;s the weekend. But overall,place is great. Good location. Clean. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: best to pick a room with AC as fan room gets too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Spend my weekend in melaka town with my family and staying in this place as we just want to stay in budget place.pay rm85 per nite in room with ac and private bath.we got a big room and quite happy with it.the place is very central to most of the interesting place that we want to visit and there is even a nite market which is just few steps from this hotel.we really happy with our choice to stay in this place as the manager george is very friendly and very2 informative thats make our trip so easy same goes to the other staff ana and nash who had treat us like family and even the owner is very humble and professional when we had a few conversation with him on our finsl nite there.overall the place is very clean and the environment is superb as guest from all around the world meet in this fabulous place that had fabulous people who work here.i will definitely recommend this place to everyone and sure me myself I will comeback whenever I in melaka..keep it always like this guy and thank for having me here

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adraadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great staff, spotless rooms,(ours had air con with private bathroom for only RM55 per night!), superb communal area with countless dvds. Cards/Jenga also here and the beer is as cheap as the supermarket! Walking distance to Jonker Street (Friday, Saturday, Sunday),5 minutes and to the malls also! Anna Speaks great English and is a very welcoming host! You will not be disappointed for such a high level at such a low price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielDagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#13 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Planet Hostel

Property: Travellers Planet Hostel
Address: 1-19 Jalan Pm 3, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Planet Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Planet Hostel, Malacca is a modernize architecture building painted with striking orange outlook. Featuring 13 various budget rooms to standard deluxe rooms. When it comes to accommodation, we really meant business to cater for all. Located in the heart of Melaka (Malacca), city of UNESCO historical site. We are just minutes away from all tourist spot such as the Jonker Walk (Chinatown), Fort A'Farmosa, St. Paul's Church, The Dutch Square (Stadhuys) and even all the famous museum. This is the latest and newest backpackers travelers hostel in town. Friendly environment and fairly cheap price for rooms. Rooms availability from Single/Double/Triple Fan / A/C / Attached Bathroom. The best part is the atmosphere here is so laid back and fun, plus the great locality which is near to all sightseeing sites, but not on the main road. So the place is peacefully quiet at all times. Unless the socializing travelers are having a great fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travellers Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Planet Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing