We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travellers Planet Hostel
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It was my first time staying in a guest house in malacca and I was very pleased with the whole place. Everyone was so welcoming. the only downside is that the toilet was a bit dirty but nothing that can't be handle.
It was also loud at nite with the motorbikes around,probably because it;s the weekend. But overall,place is great. Good location. Clean. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: best to pick a room with AC as fan room gets too hot.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Travellers Planet Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Spend my weekend in melaka town with my family and staying in this place as we just want to stay in budget place.pay rm85 per nite in room with ac and private bath.we got a big room and quite happy with it.the place is very central to most of the interesting place that we want to visit and there is even a nite market which is just few steps from this hotel.we really happy with our choice to stay in this place as the manager george is very friendly and very2 informative thats make our trip so easy same goes to the other staff ana and nash who had treat us like family and even the owner is very humble and professional when we had a few conversation with him on our finsl nite there.overall the place is very clean and the environment is superb as guest from all around the world meet in this fabulous place that had fabulous people who work here.i will definitely recommend this place to everyone and sure me myself I will comeback whenever I in melaka..keep it always like this guy and thank for having me here

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank adraadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great staff, spotless rooms,(ours had air con with private bathroom for only RM55 per night!), superb communal area with countless dvds. Cards/Jenga also here and the beer is as cheap as the supermarket! Walking distance to Jonker Street (Friday, Saturday, Sunday),5 minutes and to the malls also! Anna Speaks great English and is a very welcoming host! You will not be disappointed for such a high level at such a low price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielDagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Room and toilet was cleaner than expected! The room was pretty spacious. It was a comfortable 2 nights stay for the price we paid. The owner there spoke fluent English and was really welcoming and friendly. The hostel is also within walking distance to the malls and Jonker Street. Overall, a good location!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oenenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I found this place after walking out of another. The room was bright and sunny with a window that opened out into the street. The bed was comfortable and the fan worked well.The shared shower had lots of hot water and was clean most of the time. Anna, the assistant manager, had good English and a warm personality. The only downside was that the kitchen was a bit small and personally I felt the place was lacking in ambiance when Melaka has such a vibrant historical culture. The location is a bit of a hike to Chinatown, but it is close to the museums. I would have liked to have seen more information on local transportation and things to do both inside and outside of the city. For a hostel it is lacking in information for backpackers. Regardless, I felt safe and it was a great place to rest!

Room Tip: Upstairs better!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I would stay here again. Anna and her daughter are such sweet hearts and I also met some great guests while here. The communal area is cozy and the room was spacious. The only down side was the breakfast that is included was only basic bread and jam as well as tea and coffee. Also it was an additional fee for sheets and towel, which I believe should be included. The fee is so low that is seems silly to argue it, but it should be a standard inclusive and just add a dolour to the room charge.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank conniefsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, as much toast, tea and coffee as you want for breakfast (and there is now a toaster, sugar, creamer, butter, jam etc) lovely airy, light common room and great location. Not 5 star but exceeds expectations for the price!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ambagahanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,632 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Planet Hostel

Address: 1-19 Jalan Pm 3, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $10 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Planet Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Planet Hostel, Malacca is a modernize architecture building painted with striking orange outlook. Featuring 13 various budget rooms to standard deluxe rooms. When it comes to accommodation, we really meant business to cater for all. Located in the heart of Melaka (Malacca), city of UNESCO historical site. We are just minutes away from all tourist spot such as the Jonker Walk (Chinatown), Fort A'Farmosa, St. Paul's Church, The Dutch Square (Stadhuys) and even all the famous museum. This is the latest and newest backpackers travelers hostel in town. Friendly environment and fairly cheap price for rooms. Rooms availability from Single/Double/Triple Fan / A/C / Attached Bathroom. The best part is the atmosphere here is so laid back and fun, plus the great locality which is near to all sightseeing sites, but not on the main road. So the place is peacefully quiet at all times. Unless the socializing travelers are having a great fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travellers Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Planet Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing