We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travellers Planet Hostel
Ranked #15 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

When arriving at the Melaka bus station we were swamped by people offering us places to stay, after lying and saying we had a room booked we were very confused & Arjit (the boss) approached us, while we were skeptical at first he showed us photos & the tripadviser Certificate of Excellence. This sold it for us & we are all very glad that Arjit came over as the hostel is a great place to stay in Melaka. The hostel is in a great location with attractions & food in very comfortable walking distance. We stayed up late drinking with Arjit & he really took care of us. Very friendly staff and a really relaxed atmosphere. This hostel is a steal for the price as well as we got a room for 3 of us for $14 USD a night! We are leaving for KL soon & the owner has rang a friend and has sorted us a room in a hostel there which was really helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone planning a stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howardblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    54
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Really, I can't complain for the money. It was well priced for what it was. Friendly staff. We would have gone for an air con room but there were non left so we had a fan room on the top floor, shared bathroom. The bathroom was excellent, cleaned often and with separate toilet and shower cubicles.

The breakfast was a help yourself type affair with toast and tea/coffee. There was a lounge area that seemed quite popular but we did not use. The wifi was OK (upstairs) although sometimes dropped out (it was pretty good in the lounge.)

The room could be improved upon. The size and the bed was fine but, as sometimes happens in budget places there was no ceiling fan, just a desk fan. This was quite noisy. The main problem was that having the fan on meant that we were using the ONLY electrical socket in the room and could not charge anything. There were no anti-mosquito measures on the windows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minisuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Strategic location. Night market right downstairs. Lots of restaurants around. Walking distance to Jonker Street and other attractions. Things to do at night are, stroll along the night market, take the tower ride which is just a few steps aways from the hostel, enjoy the beautiful boat ride down the river as the boat ticketing is just nearby, then walk to Jonker street for the famous chicken rice ball dinner and settle at a pub (open during weekends) for a drink and enjoy a couple of music and song.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is my first review on trip advisor because a place has to be either really good or really bad to warrent any after thought. Stayed here for longer than planned because this place is definitly a good one. like any great travel experience, the people here were the key, some were staff, some long term guests, and some just passing through. the rooms are all different, and generally very basic, but the common area is great and one of those places where groups tended to gather. the staff are great, and ajit is really knowledgeable and can give you as much info on the town (and really the whole country) as any travel agent, except hell tell you the cheapest way to get things done! location is great, right beside some hawker stalls and a big mall if thats your thing, and only a few mins walk from chinatown and little india. also just across the street from the historical district. if your looking for a good, cheap, clean place with the potential to meet some people, or just watch a movie on some pillows in the common area, This is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett_CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

During September l stayed at Travellers Planet twice. Recommended to me in Singapore, l caught the bus to Meleka Sentral, then hopped on no 17 bus to Mahkota mall and made my way to the orange front building. I spent two days there before flying to Langkawi. After spending the next three weeks backpacking around the Malaysia peninsular l found my age catching up with me l decided l needed some place to chill. Where else but the best place l had stayed in Malaysia. I relaxed for the next five days at Travellers Planet, being taken care of by Arjit and his willing team, while l took in the wonderful sights of Meleka. Without doubt, the best accommodation l encountered, the place attracted some wonderful travellers who contributed to the great memories l have of Meleka. My first stop if l am ever able to return to Malaysia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersing, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

staying in this place for almost 2 weeks with my wife and 2 kids.we arrived at the bus terminal and one of the staff promote to us this place and we decide to come and check the place because of the convincing photos that he show us.we normally not staying in the guest house because of some bad experienced back in Thailand but the staff told us to take a look at this place and he told us that there is many hotel and guest houses here and so we decided to just drop by and take a look at this place.
we took taxi from the terminal which cost us Rm20 and once we were there the staff from this guest house already waited for us and to be honest the building from the outside is not so nice as the painting look a little bit worn.since the staff were there my wife just follow him to see the room and oh my god i just cant believe it that my wife decided to stay and i just pay the taxi driver and shah and shamu the guys who work for this place help us to carry our luggage to the room.
no wonder my wife decided to stay here as they really had a real big room with double bed and give us 2 extra mattress for our kids and no extra charges as they told us that their boss say kids stay for free...the room had its own clean spacious private bathroom ,ac,tv, dvd player,wifi and even a place that you can hang your cloth.the place and the room is well maintained and the lobby area on the first level is nicely decorated with carving wood and nice lighting complete with satelite channels,hundreds of dvd movies,board games,internet service and best of all the got kitchen here..free coffee and tea all day long and free simple breakfast which is toast,butter and jam and all we had to pay is rm80 per nite.
the location is really good as we can just walk into the historical area in 2-3 min,chinatown is only less than 10 min,close enough to the 2 huge shopping mall where you can get almost everything,2 min away to a huge public swimming pool complete with kids pool and gym,melaka river,restaurant and there is even weekend night market sell cheap cloth,local stuff and good food..
totally we had enjoy our stay here and thank you to all the staff shah,shamu and guna who make our stay pleasant and we will definately recommend to all our friends and travellers that we meet on this trip..thank you for having us and let our kids playing your internet games.our kids miss you guys and we promise them to come back to melaka again for sure.we really miss our room there....

Room Tip: room no 4 is the biggest and nicest room in the place.it comes with tv,ac,dvd player and they even h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irontraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great service, very friendly and helpful staff (they even hosted a birtday party for my travel mate!). The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and we had a cozy corner-room with lots of windows. Have lovely memories having a beer or two in the common area (sold really cheap) and getting to know new people from around the Globe!

Good location with a weekend night-marked just a block away, walking distance to the tourist areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Planet Hostel

Property: Travellers Planet Hostel
Address: 1-19 Jalan Pm 3, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Planet Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Planet Hostel, Malacca is a modernize architecture building painted with striking orange outlook. Featuring 13 various budget rooms to standard deluxe rooms. When it comes to accommodation, we really meant business to cater for all. Located in the heart of Melaka (Malacca), city of UNESCO historical site. We are just minutes away from all tourist spot such as the Jonker Walk (Chinatown), Fort A'Farmosa, St. Paul's Church, The Dutch Square (Stadhuys) and even all the famous museum. This is the latest and newest backpackers travelers hostel in town. Friendly environment and fairly cheap price for rooms. Rooms availability from Single/Double/Triple Fan / A/C / Attached Bathroom. The best part is the atmosphere here is so laid back and fun, plus the great locality which is near to all sightseeing sites, but not on the main road. So the place is peacefully quiet at all times. Unless the socializing travelers are having a great fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Travellers Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Planet Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing