We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit at night”

Melaka River Cruise
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Visit at night”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Melaka river cruise is an awesome experience. Especially, if you go for it in the night, you can see the beautiful lights of the town, and the wall paintings. At one end of the cruise, there are beautiful Malaysian style houses that are well lit with lights. When I went for the cruise, I took the last trip at 11:30 pm. There was some rain and there was a carnival too.. so, got to witness awesome fireworks from the cruise. A must do for anyone in Melaka.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hareesh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    221
    137
    25
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must-list if you're visiting Malacca”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

1. If you had a chance to visit Malacca, do not forget to ride the Malacca River Cruise.

2. I had been to Malacca a few times (5-6 times) but I never thought the ride is so exciting and promising. I always think it will be a very boring ride. (Like Tambang in Kuching)

3. On my last trip to Malacca, I had set my mind to experience myself the cruise. I always wonder why the cruise always full with passengers.

4. Every cruise you saw when you at the top of the bridge (a bridge connected Red Building & Jonker Street), with full of passengers with a very Happy and excited face.

5. The Malacca River Cruise start from 9AM till 11PM.

6. TIPS: But I am suggesting you to ride the cruise at the late of evening. Ride it around 6.40PM-7.00PM. Why? Because during the this, from day changing to night. So you can have 2 types of photos. 1 from a day scene and one more from a night scene. (Not too dark night). Beautiful and breathtaking scenery..

7. Only RM10 for adult. Cheap and worth it. I wonder why my previous trip I did not even think to ride this cruise… hurm…..

8. The ride took about around 40 minutes.

9. Go to Muara Jetty to ride the cruise (Start from here and will end here) 2-ways.

10. Where is Muara Jetty? From Red Building, you walk toward the Ships Museum (Replica of Flo de la Mar). On your way, you will pass the Quay Seafood. Then just about 40meters from the restaurant, just find the River Cruise sign. (Between the restaurant & the Museum).

11. TIPS: Be the first to come down to the boat. And pick the last seat (At the back). Easy to snap a photo.

12. TIPS: Like I said just now, pick the last seat at the back. And sit on the RIGHT (If facing the river, or LEFT if you facing the drivers). Why? I will elaborate later.

13. TIPS: Do not pick the center seat! Unless you afraid with water.

14. You will start at Muara Jetty until Taman Rempah Jetty (40minutes).

15. If you got lucky, you will get the boat driver who can give you a tour explanation during your way. Mostly the women driver always excited to give their on explanation.

16. But, if not, Muara Jetty to Taman Rempah Jetty, the boat driver will play some music.

17. But once the cruise arrived at Taman Rempah Jetty, on the way back, the will play the tour tape documentary. (Only voice, In Malay and also English)

18. The explanation of what you passing by. (Most of them are on the right of the boat during on the way back) That is way I ask you to seat down at the right of the boat.

19. Because it is late evening, your way to Taman Rempah Jetty, still bright, but when you almost reached the Jetty and on your way back, it’s a night! And a beautiful view. Watch my videos to get an idea.

20. So, this ride was so exciting and fun. It is just not a ride, but along the ride, there were a history tells!

21. So, just enjoy your right. Relax your mind. And take a fresh air and enjoy view of Malacca River.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank mytravellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply a "MUST DO"....”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If there is one attraction in Malacca that one should not miss, it’s the river cruise. Don’t let the long queue dampen your spirit as it moves pretty fast. You hop on a boat with comfortable seats, sit back and enjoy the ride. When I heard the operator telling me that the ride is akin to gondolas ride in Venice, I was a bit skeptical. The ride takes about 45 minutes and passes underneath few classic cross-river bridges. A very informative English narration is played on board making the trip more interesting. You will see lots of waterfront café, budget motels and traditional houses along the river. You won’t inhale unpleasant smells (like the ones in Venice or Bangkok) and generally the river is very, very clean. Kids and adults alike will definitely enjoy this attraction. To find this, you just walk along the maritime museum (the big ship) and you’ll notice the queue. Go there for a night ride, where the river lightened up, literally. One of the finer hotels in Melaka, Casa Del Mar, is really a sight to behold from the cruise.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank FaroukVanNistelrooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice and fun Nite Cruise”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Take it in the evening, the wind and water splash are quite nice.
There's a few piers to ride it, we took the boat at the Malacca Eye - ferries wheel. Its schedule start at 8pm, thus less crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fat_miao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“amazing trip”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

melaka river cruise offer us to enjoy the heritage from different view. best for exploring in the evening when the lighting make the trip so amazing.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dennislexitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melaka River Cruise also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Melaka River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing