We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This could be an ok place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayang-Sayang Guest House
Ranked #131 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This could be an ok place”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed in the dorm for 2 nights.
The dorm here is a very big space with many beds separated by courtains.
If you have good luck with your roomates (because of noise), this can be an ok cheap dorm.
So...maybe you can book a private room to get sure that you will have a better sleep.
Toilets...they have 4 on the second floor where the dorm is: one was not working, in another the door was not working, so you had only 2 quite clean for many people.
Location is very good, just on the riverside, and very close to the night market.
About the staff, they don't speak very good english, so no much to say.
They have 1 computer with internet for free and also wifi for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    19
    3
    13
See reviews for
4
11
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but rented the bike here refer by one of my friend.

I think the room rate here is pretty cheap and great for budget trip. The receptionist Elvin is super friendly. Beside gave a general introduction about their rooms and facilities. He even walk us to Sayang-sayang two to get the bike as their were rented out. We pay only RM10/per day for one bike. Or hourly rental at RM3/hr...it's so reasonal.

As a hotelier like me, cost not an impact! The sincerity, warm and hospitality was the different! Once again, thank Elvin and you are the best!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very near to Jonker street ,so it is very convenience to me.
Besides, the price is very cheap for staying there just u have to share the bathrooms.
But the bathroom is clean , there always go and clean the bathroom.
The room is special for me which need to climb the stair and reach the bed,
nice experience to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osakajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Located at a place near Jonker street which around 5 minutues of walking distance. Price wise and good place for sleeping. Cleanness is good. Food can be found around. Recommend for a budget trip like me :D

GPS Coordinate : N02°11.892
E102 ° 14.878

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huongwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

1) During the "peak" season (weekends) prices increases (25% more)
2) when I arrived the bedsheets were DIRTY
3)when I do the check-in the receptionist don't give the password of the entrance. He forget to say to me that the guest house close after 12pm. So when I arrived after 12pm I had to wait 2 HOURS OUTSIDE. Nice... One host opened me the door. I m a lucky man, otherwise I would spend all the night outside.
4) BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE: the boss said to me that he is "sorry" about what happens. Any compensation, or something else for apologize for the annoyances...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monavisest-objectif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Sibu, Sarawak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been staying here for twice and it's quite comfortable with the environment. I am sleeping at the mix dorm upstairs which the "bedrooms" are separated by board and there is no door with just curtain. Still, I feel save from it. Other than that, with only ceiling fans, I can sleep well with it. Overall is clean and the host is very friendly. Location is near to Jonker Street by just a 5 minutes walk. I will recommend here if you come with friends for a budget trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VannTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad location. Rooms smack of IKEA, small mezzanie style. Free WiFi if you can get on it.

Showers and toilets clean.

Not very friendly.

Doors on rooms are all sliding consetina style, not that secure.

Cheap, clean and comfy bed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
V'La Heritage Hotel Jonkers Melaka
0.2 mi away
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
0.1 mi away
Sayang Heritage Residence & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheng Ho Guest House
Cheng Ho Guest House
#52 of 121 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lavender Guesthouse
Lavender Guesthouse
#69 of 210 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#15 of 210 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang-Sayang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang-Sayang Guest House

Property: Sayang-Sayang Guest House
Address: No.16, Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sayang-Sayang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang-Sayang Guest House is located right at the centre of Melacca's historic Chinatown, overlooking the Melaka River. It's only a few minutes' walk to the historical heritage, museums, and Heritage Street. Comfortable and clean accommodation provided for budget travelers to have a good rest and recharge for their long journey ahead exploring the beautiful historic city.There is a cafe and little bar in our guesthouse which serve our guests both local & western food and drinks for all day long. BBQ area is close to Melaka river side thus guest can enjoy the view while having barbecue at night time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sayang-Sayang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang-Sayang Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing