We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Hotel & Nice View !! Good Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Pontian Kecil, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel & Nice View !! Good Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice Hotel.. Good service & Comfortable....
Nice view from my room.. can c the river of melacca..
IS only a 5 mins walking distance to Jonker walk...

We leave the hotel for FOOD only.. others than that, we stay in the hotel...

Will visit again ...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi yenlung,

Warm Greetings from your home by the river - Casa del Rio,

Thank you for staying with us, great to know that you enjoyed the service and view from your room, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon again.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    356
    63
    19
    15
See reviews for
414
410
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

First & foremost, the location of this hotel is very strategic, walking distance to the Jonker street tourist hot-spot and next to the Melaka river. This is a boutique hotel with only 66 rooms. Checking was fairly speedy, we were asked to rest the cabana with welcome drinks served. Strangely they don't have porter around to bring our bags up to our room, leaving the front office office staff to double up as porter. Our room, a river view category fairly spacious but not suitable for family with young kids as it has steps and sharp edges. One thing I like is their main lighting switches panel with indication of which is for which, unlike many other hotels where you have to wonder it yourself! Room amenities are pretty good, spacious bathroom with spacious standing shower room that can fit two at one time!!! Sad to learn that they don't have sport channel especially during world cup season! Good turn down service and clean housekeeping job. Breakfast is kind of hybrid, ala carte main course with buffet for fruit, juice, bread, others Asian selection. We like it as we are not heavy eaters. I short, I would say the hotel has a very good hard wares but soft wares ( human touch ) need more room for improvement. The staff, they only greets you only when you starts to greet them first, not friendly and warm as expected. Anyhow, this hotel gives me an alternative choice to stay in Melaka as I only stay at The Majestic Melaka all this while.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_lkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear andrew_Ikm

Warm greetings from Cas adel Rio Melaka,

Thank you for sharing your review from your stay with us, overall you have seemed to enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your feedback on some areas that we can improve, we will continue to improve especially with the human touch, we hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again upon your next visit to Melaka.

Warm Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with extended family so we took a 2-bedroom that came with living/dining room, a room with a ensuite King sized bed in 1 room and a ensuite 2 single beds room plus we also had a corner Studio King room that sleeps 4 comfortably with a king sized bed, a single bed sized daybed with a pullout single sized bed and a nice corner balcony with seats to chill out in. Rooftop pool and a nice water feature with sofas surrounding the lobby area. Breakfast was fantastic with a choice of 1 item off the ala carte and so many other items from the buffet. Hotel is within walking distance to Jonker Street, food places and sights, else hop onto a trishaw for about RM10-20 (negotiations and bargaining required) for a short 5-10mins ride to somewhere nearby.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear m00lah,

Greetings from your home by the river, Casa del Rio,

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to know you enjoyed the hotel and our location near Jonker street.

We hope to see you soon again, let us know when you are planning your next trip.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polaris, Montana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had an opportunity to stay here for a conference. Never expected such a boutique hotel in a small town of Melaka can have such an extreme great service!! Hotel is strategically located around the corner and walking distance to the famous Jonker street and Hard Rock Cafe.
We had a warm welcomed, greeted by a couple of Management and a nice soothing sorbet.
The room are spacious, with elegant design and beautiful view from the balcony.
The coffee house has vast range of local delicacies, it's very rare that I find local delicacies in hotel taste so good. The roof top pool with city skyline view were just amazing!
Besides all these excellent product, nothing beats the fantastic service - from Front Desk to Housekeeping, from Banquet to Restaurant server - all were World Class!!
Out of all these, Housekeeping impressed me the most with all the cozy special touches.
Kudos to such a great team!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulipanmorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tuipanmorado,

Warm Greetings from Casa del Rio Melaka,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are happy to know your stay was enjoyable and that you managed to explore Melaka while you were on your conference.

We will share you experience with the team, our Housekeeping will be delighted to read your remarks.

Kind regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am impressed with this hotel and was pleased that I got a chance to stay even though it was just for a night. I feel that the hotel pays a lot of attention to detail. Like for example, they have a bath tub and hence provided bath salts. Another example is the master switch which was perfect as I didn't need to fumble on many switches, and it made the room dimly lit which is how I like to sleep in. Some hotels can be too warm or too cold regardless of how you adjust the temperature but the room is always cool without having to adjust much. I am pleased with the internet access provided as I did not need multiple logins and the connection is fast. I enjoyed the food where they served a unique, Peranakan lunch, while buffet dinner featured special dishes (that I don't think you can find in any other hotels) that are delicious. The hotel is located only a street away from Jonker Street and is right next to the Melaka River. I am truly surprised how this hotel managed to hit the right note on many things however a night's stay is rather expensive which is understandable considering the value they provide.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, I think it is best to choose rooms not facing the road as traffic can be heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank altanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear altanative

Greetings from Melaka,

Thank you for your kind comments and sharing your experience, we appreciate you you noticed and felt a number of experience we offer for our guest.

We look forward to welcome you back again to Casa del Rio next time you are in Melaka.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Much heard about Casa del Rio, Melaka, I finally got to experience this place for myself and family. We went in June for a weekend family getaway. There are glitches here and there (*feedback given to FrontDesk on departure, so I will only highlight the good points here and provide some tips to make your stay more enjoyable)

Melaka Suite Room 1888 /Location
We spent our time in Melaka Suite Room 1888, it was excellent, thou not greatly promoted by Hotel website descriptions. It is very spacious with lots of amenities- 1 living room /dining room ,1 king size bedroom and 1 twin single bed room, with GREAT sunrise and outdoor spaces , comes with an outdoor jacuzzi. The view is priceless. This room located at the north end of Casa del Rio, offering the view overlooking the Melaka River WaterMill, the bridge from Melaka Clock Tower to Jonker Walk.

Daily newspaper with little memo providing the weather and daily breakfast special , that is so unique!

Noise? Foul smelling River?
This room is just above River Bar and opposite the busy River Melaka Cruise area, and to our surprise , as contrary to other reviews,there was no noise at all , we slept soundly! And the river does not smell as bad as described by bloggers.

Security
Access card is required to access facilities- library , washroom , and to room floors. I find this very good and rare features this hotel offers.

Service/ House keeping / Room Service
Excellent. Overall the staff are approachable and tried their best to serve. My Mother loved the complimentary birthday cupcake by Casa del Rio! There is evening turndown service, loved this service. The staff tried their best to meet the requests and friendly, also prompt!

Facilities
Spa - Excellent- staff was very knowledgable, friendly , great smiles!! and EXCELLENT techniques! Better than the ones I had in Bali.
Pool - roof top pool with great view! Pool bar/ pool water/ cleanliness however during our visit was really disappointing, so do check it out yourself when you're there
Library - excellent , very quiet and relaxing room for reading and waiting. The room also offers coffee / tea making facilities , awesome!

Food
Great selection of food - breakfast and lunch! For breakfast, we were spoiled with many choices, excellent coffee/ tea, newspaper . Lunch is very unique , peranakan tangkat set lunch is so delicious! Unfortunately, we didnt manage to have dinner at River Grill, so unable to commend much.

River Cruise / Trishaw Ride
As part of the promotion for Melaka Suite , we had complimentary river cruise and trishaw ride. I recommend the river cruise at night , we were picked up by the boat at Casa del Rio own jetty, how nice was that away from the long busy queue at Melaka Cruise Centre. The river cruise is great apart from safety *well maybe we are unlucky , there were no life jacket onboard!

I recommend the trishaw ride to be done at dusk, and ask for the trishaw Mr KaoChai (Puppy in cantonese) he was our trishaw man, he was passionate in commentary along the ride and not rushing at all, allow ample time for photo taking! You may consider bringing some mask for the trishaw ride. This is because trishaw may be trapped in traffic jam as the roads of Melaka city centre are very narrow the exhaust fumes can be suffocating.


Lastly, here are my tips:
Room
- get Melaka Suite - breakfast + trishaw+ river cruise package.
- enjoy the great sunrise @ Melaka Suite jacuzzi balcony/ outdoor space
- request some tea candle for your aromatherapy pot, and mosquitoes coil
- each room only allows 3 devices to connect, so pick your devices wisely, otherwise you'll have to wait 4hours for the wifi portal access to reset

Spa
- book sessions when there is no kids at the pool / after pool hours. the spa is just next to the pool, noises from the kids may interfere the tranquil spa session

Facilities
- Utilise the Library
- River cruise/ trishaw ride tips as above

Food
- try the Peranakan Lunch

Room Tip: Melaka Suite *see my review for details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear cali118

Warm Greetings from Casa del RIo Melaka,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us with your family over the weekend, The Melaka suite is our largest room, and we are happy that you enjoyed the room and services of Casa del Rio, we have taking note on the promoting of this room, although we only have this 1 x room type, we will look to better promote.

I was happy to read that you appreciated the security aspect of the hotel, we are working to add more security features to ensure that our guest feel comfortable as assured that we take good care of our guest.

Overall you have seemed to really enjoyed your stay, I have read through your comment card you left with the front office, I will be addressing the recommendation you have mentioned.

We hope to see you and your family soon again.

Best Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Found this on TripAdvisor, and only thought it fair to share an update. Casa del Rio is a great find, right in the midst of all the things you want to see. Having traveled extensively in Asia, I gave this hotel a 5 because of the nice, small touches and the other amenities you expect in a hotel like this. Greeted with a lemon-ginger sorbet served in tiny, cute Chinese cups. Room was large, clean and decorated in a Dutch-Portugese style. Other niceties: scented bookmarks left at night, along with a lit and scented diffuser. Front desk helpful in making plans; Sugu Gopal went the extra mile in trying to coordinate a cooking class with a different hotel. Even though it didn't work out, he was willing to help guests with their requests. When he brought my car around upon departure, the windshield and other windows had been washed with a note saying, "…so that your onward journey will be a little more comfortable". I love the little touches!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the river, and was therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roylaunik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear roylaunik,

Warm greetings from Casa del Rio Melaka,

Thank you for staying with us while you visited Melaka, we are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and shared your experience, sorry that the cooking class didn't work out, I am glad that we were able to assist.

We are working on some cooking classes at Casa del Rio, we hope that you will experience next time you visit Melaka.

Look forward to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards

Aarron Nelson - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#6 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka is part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minutes walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches.Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing