We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Rio Melaka
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hong(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$73
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
$155
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,618 results
Traveler rating
1,005
477
92
23
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
477
92
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetthe riverrooftop poolonde ondecinnamon soapjonker streetriver view roomturn down servicelittle touchessemi buffetala cartecold towelsbig bathtubbeautiful hotelceiling fanhard rock cafestone's throw
Filter
Updating list...
1,071 - 1,076 of 1,618 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Casa del Rio is well situated by Melaka river. It claims to be a 5 star hotel. Well, the hardware seems to be. A decent looking Portuguese colonial style building, However, their staff service is not. Particularly, the front office staff just talking each other casually during the day time and only one staff was there in the evening.

I'd been their Grill room for dinner with great expectation. I sat indoor. Nice decoration with piano music. The food is just OK, but not great. The biggest problem is mosquitoes are there all the way biting me. I think no one will expect mosquitoes in a decent grill room. That's why I didn't enjoy the dinner and just wanted to finish it and leave. Will never come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent three nights at Casa del Rio Hotel in Melaka.

The pros:
Location: Great! Walking distance to nearly everything in Melaka, tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. Right on the river, which I agree with a fellow reviewer occasionally it smells, but you can sit at the veranda with a glass of wine and gaze at the hilarious trishaws (illuminated and heavily decorated playing extremely loud music) or the boats going up or down the river.
Room: Spacious with a veranda and a big bathroom. Very comfortable bed! Huge fan as well in the veranda helps during humid evenings.
Internet: Fast and reliable.
Front desk: Very efficient and always with a smile!
Even before my arrival at the hotel, the hotel’s Manager Aaron Nelson and his assistant were very prompt and attentive to my questions about transportation options to Singapore.

The cons:
Towels: Yes, there was a problem with the towels as all of them had stains and it really strikes me as odd cause the rest of the room and the bathroom was very clean.
Breakfast: I agree with another review that certain items were not properly displayed and some jars with nuts were not very clean. Also, a suggestion – French fresh cheeses are very sensitive in the heat and should not be displayed for more than they should cause they melt. And there is nothing worse than a melted cheese on a board!
Maintenance: Although the hotel is well kept there are certain inexplicable issues which do not affect the whole stay but give a “lack of interest” impression which does not reflect the hotel’s general condition. For example: the wall in the luggage storage area in the room was filled with black scratches. It does not cost anything to clean those scratches!


Spa and swimming pool: The pool area at the top of the hotel has great views of the city and is particularly pleasant when there is a slight breeze blowing. The loungers were very relaxing. The spa service is logically priced. The treatment I had was not the best ever but it was relaxing.

As the first day was our arrival at KLIA and transfer to Melaka, we had two full days there which proved rather long. I would suggest one full day would be more than enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have stayed a couple of times at the lovely Casa del Mar resort in Langkawi and we thought it would be nice to stay at their sister hotel, the Casa del Rio in Melaka as we were going to be in KL for three days and then wanted to go somewhere else for another couple of days.

We arrived at the hotel about 2 p.m. and were told that our room was not yet ready although they advertise that check-in time is 2 o'clock. We did the check-in formalities and then went for a wander to Jonker Street which is very close to the hotel, had a bite of lunch and then arrived back at the hotel about 4 p.m. by which time we were able to get into our room. We had booked a river view room (the alternative is the lago view room which overlooks the interior water feature in the hotel). The rooms are quite large with very nice bathrooms but are a bit dark as the balconies are recessed and don't let in much light. The furnishings are a bit like at the Casa del Mar but seemed even bigger and darker- I guess the idea is to recreate the impression of a Spanish country home, so the overall look of the room is one that is a bit full of furniture and not particularly comfortable. There was a nice walk-in closet area with iron and ironing board so that was welcome.

The public areas of the hotel are quite nice as they surround the interior Lago which is a kind of water feature. The lobby is spacious and open so it benefits from the natural breezes that make it quite a nice place to sit. The main dining room overlooks the river and has lots of outdoor seating- this is where we had breakfast every day. The buffet breakfast was okay, nothing special and some of the food was not particularly well displayed so it wasn't that appetizing. The waiters and waitresses were pleasant and fairly efficient.

The swimming pool is up on the top floor of the hotel and overlooks the river. It is rather a odd design and not particularly user-friendly as the only access is by a ladder rather than steps- making it difficult for anyone with mobility problems. There are a few loungers at one end of the pool and a sort of bar area at the other end but we never really saw many people there- we lay by the pool and had a swim one day but did not go back.

One of the main problems with the location of the Casa del Rio is the 'rio'- the Melaka River which is not very interesting and really quite smelly in places. Sitting on the terrace is quite pleasant depending on which way the wind is blowing! The views from the hotel are not very scenic or exciting- opposite the hotel there is another modern low-rise hotel and next to that a museum which seemed to be closed- so the riverside view was a bit disappointing. The best thing about the hotel is the location- literally five minutes to Jonker Street with all its shops and restaurants. We were there on the weekend so were able to see the night market where we had a simple but tasty dinner. We were disappointed to see that on a normal night the street is pretty dead with most restaurants closed so there really wasn't much to see or do in the evenings.

Melaka is a pleasant enough place but probably is best seen on a day-trip from KL. We booked to stay for two nights at the Casa del Rio and to be honest we wished we had only stayed one night. The Casa del Rio is a good hotel but has none of the charm of the Casa del Mar and suffers a bit because of its position on the rather smelly Melaka River. The highlight of our stay in Melaka was a morning visit to Baba Charlie's kuih factory which is a short taxi ride from the hotel- it's great to see how they make the 'kuih', one of the great treats of Melaka. We met Baba Charlie and his wife who were both charming and very helpful in explaining how all the delicious sweets are made. It is definitely worth a visit if you are interested in Malaysian desserts!

Would we go back to Melaka? Probably not! If we did return to Melaka would we stay at the Casa del Rio? Probably not! We checked out the Majestic Hotel which looked like a much nicer hotel but in not such a good location. There are definitely more interesting places to visit in Malaysia so we probably will not make a return visit to this part of the country.

Room Tip: The river view rooms suffer a bit because of the smells from the river which might put some people off. The lago facing rooms with balconies might actually be better for sitting out.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here with friends over the CNY long weekend for 1 night. It was a lot more expensive because of the public holiday but they told us that twin share and triple share incl breakfast would be the same price so the 3 of us happily shared a room. The room was extremely spacious and facing the river. The location is fantastic and a 3 min walk from Jonker Street. It is also within walking distance to the newer shopping malls. The pool is great for a late afternoon dip. It is way too hot to spend the day there (although many people did!). They were kind enough to extend our check out time by 2 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Casa Del Rio exceed our expectations on our 3 night stay. We had a terrific stay. I had read a number of reviews and was a little uncertain about what to expect. We arrived via a coach from Singapore (4 hrs) so we were tired and looked to get to our room and start our sightseeing. The check in, with the refreshing ginger sorbet, was friendly and easy. We were taken to our room and given a "tour of the room" and hotel which was helpful in getting our bearings. The room with a river view and balcony was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a separate rain shower and bath with fluffy towels and bathrobes. The bed was comfortable with more than enough pillows. The room was quiet and we had no problems sleeping (older reviews complained about outside noise but there was none). The internet was fast and we did not get knocked off.
We added breakfast to our stay. The buffet plus an a la carte item was excellent. We tried both the western and the Malaysian dishes which we really enjoyed. There was plenty to eat and coffee was fresh brewed. We had 2 ladies taking care of us Fiona and Sofia, who were excellent. In addition they took the time to explain a little about the food and area.
We did not eat in any of the other parts of the hotel but breakfast was fresh and delicious.
The hotel facilities were well maintained and were an oasis in the city. Housekeeping was great as well. Rooms were clean and maintained.
The night before we were about to check out we had a problem with our bus tickets back to Singapore. Trying on-line to fix them became impossible so we went to the front desk for help. Arnita helped us with a backup arrangement until we could reach the bus companies in the AM. This let us sleep knowing we had arrangements. Early the next morning we went back down to the front desk and spoke to Ertain (I hope I got the name right). After a few calls we had bus tickets arranged and a taxi waiting for us when we needed to leave. Check out was quick except my wife needed to buy some things from the gift shop which slowed us down.
So overall I would highly recommend this hotel.
My only issues were:
We had decided to visit Melaka based upon various travel reports of a old quaint town with many interesting things to do. We stayed for 3 days and that was more than enough. Once you get done with the highlights your done, Heeren, Jonker, coral museum the Dutch Church, sultan house and Nonya museum. So except for the hotel as a destination I am not sure we will be back for a while.
Hot water- The bath water was warm not "hot" so if you want a hot bath you will have a problem. We were told that because it is a hot climate no one wants a hot bath.
Last issue is that the name tags for people are hard to read. Either they blend in with the typeface or they seem to face down. I would have like to have complimented others but I could not read their names.

Room Tip: river view room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear wwwtravelerRochester

Greetings from Casa del Rio....your home by they river

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Malacca, we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit overall and that you have no problem to recommend.

Thank you for taking note of the staff that you encounters that helped to either assist or make your stay memorable, we will ensure to pass on your kind comments.

Hopefully we have the chance to see you again.

Warm Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews