We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melaka Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Melaka Surprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Having watched CDR under construction over several trips to Melaka, we have long wanted to stay here. The reality has exceeded expectation. It is the perfect place to stay, comfortable, nice European feel and has attentive and courteous staff. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you to all the staff who made our visit such a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    384
    73
    19
    16
See reviews for
464
457
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Combine old world charms with modern facilities and breath-taking views, and you have Casa del Rio – a luxury boutique hotel that pays tribute to the cultural heritage of Melaka. Casa del Rio offers 66 luxuriously appointed rooms and is the only hotel located by the banks of Melaka river.

My Casa del Rio experience started with a refreshing lime sorbet upon check-in, and a cold towel to freshen up from the humidity of Melaka state. Soon after, I was lead to my room – beautifully decorated and designed, creatively blending Mediterranean style with Peranakan elements.

From my balcony, I got a beautiful view of the Melaka River and the clear blue skies. My bathroom was spacious and comes with a bathtub and a separate shower stall for convenience. The room also includes high-speed internet access, flat screen TV, iPod docking station, in-room safe and a mini bar.

While there are many nearby attractions from Casa del Rio, guests can also enjoy a day-in by checking out the rooftop infinity pool that offers a view of Melaka skyline. There is also a children’s pool for travellers with young kids. The rooftop gym is equipped with modern cardio training and strength equipment — perfect for fitness buffs, while those who seek a pampering experience may find one at Satkara Spa.

I dined at The River Grill for both dinner and breakfast the following day. I think they do pretty good local/Asian dishes so if you stick to those selections, you can’t go wrong. I especially loved the Thai-style prawn salad – robustly flavoured, fresh tasting and sweet from the seafood. Breakfast is half buffet and half ala carte, where you pick one main dish and get your breads, cereals, fruits and drinks from the buffet spread.

Casa del Rio boasts easy access to Melaka attractions such as Jonker Walk, Christ Church, A Famosa and St Paul’s Church. You can opt to walk to these sites (recommended) or take a taxi. The latter is more time consuming. Besides, you’re in Melaka. Walk, and explore!

Guests can also go for the river cruise, a service extended by Casa del Rio. River Cruisers depart daily between 9.30am to midnight on thirty minute intervals from the jetty on the opposite side of the hotel. The cruise cost RM15 per foreigner – adult and RM7 per foreigner – child. For locals, it’s RM10 and RM5 respectively. It’s best to go for the evening cruise as that is when the city is beautifully lit up.

Hotel staff were attentive to their guests’ needs. It was full occupancy when we were there and despite that, the staff remembered which guests needed to leave for Kuala Lumpur International Airport and arranged for the transportation based on the flight details.

Truly a Home by the River! I had a wonderful weekend at Casa del Rio. Prices are naturally higher compared to the rest of the hotels in Melaka but I reckon you’re paying for the overall experience and hospitality. I wouldn’t mind doing so on special occasions.

Room Tip: The rooms with river view are amazing, but they can get a bit noisy when musicians start playing fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We've made weekend visits to Melaka twice before, staying at other hotels, but this was the first Melaka weekend with my baby boy and our first time at Case del Rio.

My baby boy is very very very fond of water, and water is the focal of this hotel! He loved the fountain at the lobby. He loved the bathtub. He loved the kiddie pool, the infinity pool and the benches in the pool, opposite the pool bar. We appreciated being able to order french fries at the pool, in order to persuade my baby to leave the pool! The aioli they served the fries with was delicious. A really great pool!

We also appreciate the convenience of not having to queue for the river cruise and got the best seats on the boat. My son had a great time on the river cruise, though my parents fell asleep!

I only wish I had had more time to spend in the library! A decent variety to read, which I didn't have time for, chasing after my baby boy. Good coffee, though the machine was tricky to work. Luckily service is so great and helpful. They're practically instant!

We didn't bother eating at the hotel, since Melaka is full of delicious food, and all really nearby! We even had a really tasty dinner right opposite the hotel for RM10 a head, with fish head assam pedas, another fish, beef, 2 veggies and salted eggs.

Will need to scrounge up the money to come up again, because our 2 nights there was the best Melaka weekend I'd ever had!

Room Tip: The swimming pool is on the 3rd floor. If you've got pool fiends for children, I highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanishoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was excellent as it was near jonkers street. Despite that, the hotel felt exclusive. Having stayed at a number of hotels in Melaka, this is by far the best stay. The check-in took a while but we were given vouchers to get drinks at the cafe, not your usual cheap fruit cordial but we could pick our lattes and beers. Refreshing sorbet was served as welcome drink. Room was nice and new with mediterranean feel. The breakfast was very sumptuous, my kids enjoyed it tremendously. They had a nice reading room with snacks and capsule coffee machine. Though the pool was a tad small, the friendly pool bar staff made up for it. We were given complimentary drinks and fruit. It was a five-star experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megmum0374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

fantastic hotel!! By far the best I've stayed in. First and foremost, what stands out is the service which was impeccable. Then the room itself, which is massive and very well equipped! It was really cool how they had a personalised guestbook for every room, which I thought was thoughtful.The restaurant is pricey for local standards(so are the rooms) but the food is great and its really romantic at night by the river. One thing I suppose they could improve on are the buffet choices for breakfast, but they redeem themselves with you having the option of going ala carte(massive servings) as well buffet. Love this place! would recommend for couples!

Room Tip: River facing rooms if you don't mind the ferries passing by every 5 mins or so. It's great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaroshJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms here are very generous in size - exactly how they look in the photos on the website. The staff were generally very helpful. The whole place was very clean, and the rooms are turned down twice a day, with little notes or snacks left for you. The infinity pool was great. The location was perfect to stroll through the main area of Melaka and plenty of near by restaurants. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDreaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear HolidayDreaming13

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Rio, thank you for choosing to stay with us, lets hope we have a chance to welcome you again someday.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained property, great service and best location. The rooms are generous in size and well equiped with nice balcony, book riverview. Staff very friendly and helpfull even after we messed up our booking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JD-SIngapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear JD-Singapore

Greetings from your Home by the river,

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us while visiting Melaka, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del RIo Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing