We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The rooms here are very generous in size - exactly how they look in the photos on the website. The staff were generally very helpful. The whole place was very clean, and the rooms are turned down twice a day, with little notes or snacks left for you. The infinity pool was great. The location was perfect to stroll through the main area of Melaka and plenty of near by restaurants. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDreaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear HolidayDreaming13

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Rio, thank you for choosing to stay with us, lets hope we have a chance to welcome you again someday.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    393
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
482
468
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained property, great service and best location. The rooms are generous in size and well equiped with nice balcony, book riverview. Staff very friendly and helpfull even after we messed up our booking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JD-SIngapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear JD-Singapore

Greetings from your Home by the river,

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us while visiting Melaka, we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del RIo Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks. UK
Level Contributor
408 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The ‘House on the River’ it is indeed, and water is a key feature with the river terrace, huge ground floor water feature and roof-top infinity pool. Possibly not Malaysian in style, maybe a throwback to the Portuguese heritage? But anyway, it’s beautiful inside and out, the rooms were beyond our expectation in terms of size, quality of fitment and facilities. Nothing lacked, or if it did (like green tea bags) it was swiftly provided. Really comfortable bed, fresh tea and coffee provided, fluffy gowns too. The staff knew who we were, nothing was too much trouble, and the service was personal and always with a smile.

The location is also perfect – on the edge of Chinatown, across the river from the colonial area, a short walk to Little India and about 10 minutes to modern shopping malls with great value food courts. If you can’t face the walk in the heat they offer a twice daily shuttle bus to the mall. Probably we should point out that the location makes it quite “lively” – sometimes there is a bar with music across the river, there are lots of trip boats passing and also a live band in the bar 6 nights a week with some rather wailing female singers. Fortunately there is quite good insulation in the rooms so we did not get disturbed too much but maybe turn it down a notch guys?

The pool was fantastic – swim to the edge for a view of the river, and the end for a view of the sea. It was never very busy so the fact there are not many loungers was not an issue.

The restaurants in the hotel are more expensive than outside it but not bad for the level of hotel. Breakfast had lots of choice and the buffet changed every day. English hot meals were cooked to order and each day there were specials. In Chinatown there are plenty of small restaurants and cafes but be warned that a lot of them close in the evening and even current guide books are out of date, the place is changing so fast. If you turn left outside the hotel instead and walk for 5 minutes bearing round to the right there is a whole row of evening restaurants and across the road an amazing Indian place where they cook tandoori chicken and naan in the street!

Couldn’t really fault this hotel; you’d pay five times the price for the quality in Europe. We're looking forward to its sister hotel in Langkawi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear helenakitt

Greetings from Casa del RIo Melaka,

Thank you for sharing your review, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you have a wonderful time at Casa del Mar in Langkawi, I am sur eyou will be look after well there.

Best regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel. Location was good and near to lots of heritage sites. We were impressed by the persinalized service of the staff and the thoughtful arrangement by the hotel. As we were there to celebrate the our 14 years anniversary and my birthday, hotel actually decorated the room with a heart shape petals on e bed, rose petal bath and a birthday cake for me.
They even clean our car's windscreen since we park the vehicle at the basement.
Try to stay in during weekdays when it's less crowded..
Kudos to the service team at Casa Del Rio, Melaka. Because of ur excellent service, we will be back again soon

Room Tip: Choose a lago view room if u prefer a quiet environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspiggykek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear mspiggykek,

Greetings from Casa del Rio,

I was delighted to read you review and am very happy to know you enjoyed the hotels and our services, thank you for celebrating your 14 year anniversary at Casa del Rio.

We will look forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

we're a couple originally from the uk. we were looking for a place to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. i had sent an email to on 5 october to ask for some special decorations to the room and we didn't get any response back until 4 days later. we arrived at 2:40pm and were told that the room will be ready at 3pm. by 3:20pm we were still waiting in the waiting lounge next to the fountain. we were frustrated as no one from the front desk come back and let us know the delay. i then speak to one of the staff and told they'll come back to me. we then wait until about 3:40pm and finally being told that they had our room was ready. by the time we went to our room, we noticed that delux room we stayed in has two singles beds combined instead of 1 double size bed. we also found the drain under the sink were not flowing fast enough and end up filling up the wash hand basin. on the next day, we went for the breakfast and found there wasn't a lot of choices, no meat were served under the buffet section. no chef was serving in the egg frying and waffle section. we end up picking some ready cooked waffles. after we checked out, we went back to the hotel shop to look for some souvenirs as we were given 2 vouchers, we then started browsing within the shop, however the shopkeeper were extremely unfriendly and seems annoyed when we went into the shop, she seems to be busy reading her newspaper or something. she was slow to response and when we asked if we could buy the famous shower gel within a little jar we were told they have sold out. we then wanted to get the shower gel in a plastic container we were told we need to purchase before we could use our voucher. we were extremely disappointed and furious as this information was not told by the staff when we first arrived at the hotel. overall, the customer service we had from this hotel is one of the worst in our experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bcyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Trip advisor readers,

We are currently in the process of contacting this guest regarding their stay.

Should any reader of this review have any concerns or queries please do not hesitate to contact myself directly on aarron.nelson@casadelrio-melaka.com

Best regards,

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I would recommend this hotel. The whole staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. All restaurant facilities were of an exceptional high standard. The location was ideal for walking around the river area and historic Melaka. Parking was also good.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Casa del Rio Melaka is a live example of excellence combining the art of building and servicing accommodation with high level of professionalism. Hotel design gives the feeling of openness and freeing your imagination away unbound with typical hotels walls. A river is on one side and a fountain in a middle of water is on the other side. And if you look above you, you can see the sky. It is a piece of an artend with services by the people around you
Everyone is showing high level of professionalism with simplicity that makes you feel at home. I have been in many places but this one was totally different. It is a place that you must visit if you came to Maleka. In fact it worths a visit by itself.

Room Tip: never miss riverview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHOBARCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,595 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing