We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place in Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best place in Melaka”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel brilliantly located on the river couldn't be better placed for exploring on foot. Loved the ambience, the service and the food was tremendoud - well worth paying the extra compared to what was on offer outside.
Miss Susan on reception was the connsumate professional. We had a problem with our room booking & bless her she tried her hardest to resolve it. Word of caution - we booked a silver package and paid extra for a superior river view room. The booking confirmation did not specify river view and when we got to the hotel no river views were available. We were supposedly offered an upgrade to stay in a largo view room but on returning home have discovered that the room we were "upgraded to" was of the standard we had originally paid for but without the view.
Feel a bit cheated especially as I was told on complaining to take it up with whoever I had booked the room with?????
Apart from the room debacle would I stay here again YES I WOULD. Lovely hotel with exceptional food and services. Quality of fixtures, fittings and amenities first class. Could be one of our all time favourites.

Room Tip: Make sure booking confirmation clearly specifies what you have booked / paid for as river views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPJDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear HPJDurham

Greetings from your home by the river.

Thank you for your kind comments of Casa del Rio, we are happy to know you had enjoyed the hotel especially the location, and yes Melaka is best explored on foot.

I do apologize for the experience you endured with our reservation confirmation, I will ensure we look into this to prevent further incidental with guest expectations.

We are constantly looking to improve on all aspects of our hotel especially our food and services, we hope you will return soon as we will look forward to see you again.

Kind Regards
Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    384
    73
    19
    16
See reviews for
464
457
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staff members were attentive. Room was lovely. We had a river view and enjoyed looking out at the traffic. But their shampoo, conditioner, cotton buds and such are not wrapped-- they are in refillable jars and ceramic containers that many fingers have touched. I did not care for the products or the presentation which did not seem sanitary. Breakfast buffet is nice, but breakfast entrees are only so-so. These are small quibbles-- we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear katyzm
Greetings from Casa del Rio.

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are happy to know you enjoyed the service and room with river views.

We have noted your concerns, we are planning to improve by changing the containers that hold our signature amenities, and we have taken into consideration your comment along with some other feedback from our guest. Our breakfast will see some changes coming soon, although this will still remain semi buffet with ala cart for main dishes, we will be expanding the selection.

Thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to hopefully see you again sometime.

Kind Regards
Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a 5 hour drive through terrible traffic from Singapore arriving at Casa Del Rio was a god send. Though arriving anywhere with beer after 5 hours would have been a god send.
The hotel is, as the name suggests, spanish/mexican in design and whilst the common areas are nice enough its the rooms and little touches that make it such a great experience.
The rooms are large, well designed and feature the biggest hotel beds I've seen: small music centre set to a Jazz station, simple room service menu, nice tea and coffee selection the usual flat screen telly and excellent pillows. All good. Balcony was compact but this might be due to the large and comfy day beds/seats. Very nice. Original touches are small retro note pads and a locally based novel for reading/purchase. Incidently, there is also a small but beautifully elegent library.
The bathroom is large and well equipped with terracotta pots and containers for an array of lovely cleaning products. One huge bath with sliding windows to allow you to watch tv/talk into the bedroom, a large seperate shower and plenty of thick towels and dressing gowns complete a very comfortable expereince. just add hot water and red wine.
Breakfast was comprehensive (a mix of a la carte and buffet) and gorgeous. Plenty of white linen and quality cutlery on the riverside terrace. Excellent start to the day.
Finally, discovering the windows of my car had been cleaned "to help us on our way" was a excellent final touch as we left.
It's in a fantastic location with the new and stylish Hard Rock a few feet away, the beautiful, atmospheric and bustling Jonkers Night Market even closer. Everything you'll want to see and do is walkable.Just a brilliant stay. Discussions with friends in KL reveal they, and everyone they know had a similar top class expereince.
One gripe: the policy on kids is a bit strange, especially as the massive beds limit the need for the expensive (but good quality) roll outs. A friend spoke to the hotel direct and avoided the large surcharge for kids over 3!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mark c
Greetings from Casa del Rio,

Thank you for choosing to stay as Casa del Rio, we are happy to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed the detail of the hotel.

We appreciate you highlighting experiences relating to young children, we will look into this to ensure that travelers with young children have a positive experience without excessive surcharges, we are actually redesigning some rooms to suite young children by having a family room with fixed children beds, once this is available we will update through our web site.

We look forward to see you and your family again.

Kind Regards
Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My Fiancee and I spent a fabulous weekend in this delightful hotel and it was extremely comfortable, service staff were superb and they paid attention to little details which im appreciative of.

Likes
-5 Mins walk from the touristy and ever popular jonker walk
-2 shuttle services to Mahkota for shopping
-in-room facilities were excellent, tiny details like a speaker in the room which is connected to the sound system made having baths or soaking in the tub extra pleasurable, they even had a little rubber ducky at the tub. on the last night of our stay we were greeted with hot chocolate and they set up essential oil that made the room feel very comfortable.
-the tv was huge and well placed
-bed was very comfortable
-the massage at the spa was F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S, one of the better ones ive had thus far and not exorbitantly priced.

Dislikes
-the pillows could be better
-mini-bar was a little sparse (not much of a bother, you can get food and snacks a stones throw away)

im DEFINITELY going back there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChevalierMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear ChevalierMartin
Greetings from your home by the river,

Thank you for staying at Casa and we are delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel and that the room was comfortable, and that you shared this experience with your fiancée.

I am glad you enjoyed our spa, this is quite a special experience and yes we like to keep the price at a moderate level for you to enjoy a few more treatments. We have taken note to your concerns, in your room we do offer 2 x types of pillows, yet the is a pillow selection upon request. For addition mini bar items we offer a selection of mini pbar packages that can be organized.

We are excited to know you are very keen to come back and stay with us, we will look forward to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a pleasant stay recently in Casa Del Rio.
No doubt it is one of the more expensive hotels in Melaka, I guess the service standards and quality of the room/facilities made the price paid worth it :)
I really like the design of the room. It was spacious and everything was well taken care of.
When we first arrived, we were served with ginger-lemonade sorbet which was lovely especially since the weather was really hot.
The staff even did an introduction of the room (where the remote controls are, where the hairdryer, coffee/tea facilities are etc) when she first brought us to the room.

During turn-down service, they also placed a cup of onde-onde in the room for us to enjoy.

Location was superb too as it was within short walking distance to the Jonker Street and Christ-Church Melaka.

I would rate it 4/5. The only regret is that one week before checking in, I emailed the Reservations department to inform them that it was my husband's birthday on the check in day and asked if they could prepare a birthday cake for him as a surprise in the room. I sent the email to Reservations as I did not have any other email contacts to send the email to. The hotel did not respond to my email so I was quite disappointed. Nevertheless, on the check in day, I told the staff about it and requested for them to prepare something small for my husband. Thankfully, they said it is possible and they would arrange a small cupcake and send it to my room. I guess that made things up a bit.

Overall, I would still say that it was a good stay :) Would definitely consider staying here again in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Olivia Ong,
Greetings from Casa del Rio.

Thank you for your comments, we are very happy to know you enjoyed you visit and enjoyed the location.

I am very sorry that we did not reply you through our reservations with regards to your birthday request, this should have not happened, I do apologize. I am glad to know that your second request was follow through, we can certainly understand the initial disappointment.
We do hope to see you again soon; I will look forward to meet you upon your next visit.

If you are not driving, do consider using the luxury coach service from Singapore, this departs from Concorde Singapore directly to Casa del Rio daily.

Best regards
Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a 3 D and 2N stay at CASA DEL RIO last week. Undoubtedly, it is one of the premier hotels in Malacca. The overall experience of the stay was pleasant. The only grouse is with the price - expensive by Malacca standards. There are other decent hotels in close vicinity like the Sterling and the Hatten ( Makotah area) which are priced more competitively.

Visitors may wish to note that though the hotel is located at Jonker, during weekdays ( Mon -Thurs), night activities are limited after 9pm so, it can be rather boring. The street scenes only come alive on weekend nights with its night bazaars.

Those visiting over weekdays may wish to consider options nearer the Makota locality where amenities and food are amply available. Shopping Centres, Spa, Massage, Peranakan and Street food are all with a 500m radius of Equatorial and Hatten hotel.

Generally, Malacca is not a place for those seeking fast pace excitement and a party lifestyle. It has a rustic and laid back ambience that soothes away the stresses of city dwelling. Depending on an individual's taste bud, the food are good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trepan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here everytime I'm in Malacca. Love the architectural building and concept. Perfect location at the heart of Jonkers. Shopping, eateries, historical places are nearby. Newly-built Hard Rock Cafe is a stone throw away! Hotel located along the famous Malacca River. Don't miss the river cruise. Quite breathtaking experience. Nice scenery of the river at night. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Restaurants are good. Love the breakfast buffet and steamboat dinner. Very spacious room with nice bathrooms. Love the comfortable beds too. State of maintainance of hotel is two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzharJohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear AzharJohar

Greetings from Casa del Rio

Thank you for your comments we are very happy to know you had a wonderful time at the hotel. We will look forward to see you again, do keep an eye out for our new exciting food & Beverage experience; you can try on your next visit.

Best Regards
Aarron Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing