We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room but new staff need more training.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, nice room but new staff need more training.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in a river suite on 8 Feb. The place is nice and it has a good basement carpark. A Chinese lady who has just been on the job recently served us and showed us the room. She asked for our selection of newspaper for our room. However the newspaper was not given to us for our two nights stay there. Instruction to her to pass us more towels was not followed up and we ended up calling housekeeping at night to request for the towels.

On the next day after our day tour, we found that our room was not vacuumed.

Overall the service staff there needs more training.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Enthonyl

The lack of response from our team to your requests and the lack of attention from our housekeepers is something for which I cannot offer an excuse.

These are matters I have discussed with our reception and housekeeping teams. Please be assured that we are serious about getting the standards we set ourselves, consistent through ongoing training.

I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and that it will not prevent you from considering a return visit one day.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    394
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
485
470
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Casa del Rio for a long weekend and absolutely loved it. The room was amazing and we could have lived in the bathroom it was massive. Fantastic shower with a huge monsoon head and a very deep bath - nice to soak in at the end of a hard days walking. The bed was really comfy and also huge. Our room overlooked the river which was nice and our friends had a room overlooking the hotel courtyard which we would have been very happy to stay in and may have cost very slightly less. The breakfast was delicious, we tried both the local and Western dishes and everything was fresh and plentiful. Good coffee too. We sampled the cocktails (very good) and tapas (also very nice). We had an early morning swim before we left and there was not a soul around - the pool was wonderful. The location was great very handy for the markets and also for general sightseeing and eating. Melaka is amazing and absolutely dripping with history. Living in SIngapore we found the whole weekend very cultural and diverse with lots to keep us occupied. We bought some local art too at a very good price. Two minor downsides - mosquitoes - we have got used to the 'fogging' in Singapore and so forgot that mozzies are out and about all times of the day and night. Second small matter was that the hotel had a live band playing on Saturday night. They were good but the music was incredibly loud and even in our room we struggled with the volume. If it could be turned down a bit and/or finish earlier I think all the residents would be very happy. Our friends son (4yo) found it hard to fall asleep so hopefully it wasn't just us being a bit fussy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear MrsB6410,

We appreciate you taking time to write this review.
Although there is a standard of volume set for our live musician, there are times when “volume creep" can set in nudging it up to louder levels. This has been revisited with our band, “brave heart”, which does now understand the need for guests sleep as well as for their entertainment. We will continue to monitor and remind them of this. I do apologise for any disrupted sleep.

We were however heartened to read that you had otherwise enjoyed your experience here at Casa del Rio. Thank you for your positive remarks about our food, cocktails, tapas, and the pool and above all your declaration that you’ll be back!

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

our friend recommended the hotel and we travelled the 2hour journey to Melaka from KL for a 1night stay. having previously stayed at the sister hotel in Langkawi, the Casa del Mar, the Casa del Rio lived up to the high standards we experienced before. the room was great overlooking the river and sites across the old town. the room had all the usual high standards, with complimentary robes, slippers, bottled water, and newspaper. we marvelled at the part sunken bath which was screened from the bedroom area with sliding doors which opened so you could watch TV whilst having a soak in the bath!. there was also the accompanying duck to keep you company!
The roof top pool was great too. We ate at the hotel restaurant for our evening meal and breakfast. the food was lovely and the prices were not overly expensive for the quality of the hotel. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Having arrived in the rain we were provided with complimentary umberellas to view the town. Guests also received a 15% discount in the newly opened Hard Rock cafe shop. needless to say, my husband took advantage as we always have to visit a hard rock cafe.
Handily placed for Jonker Street, we did lots of shopping and had some great bargains. Coffee at the '13 states coffee shop' was lovely.
we would definately recommend it to others.

Room Tip: the river view is lovely but the rooms overlooking the inner courtyard look just as nice but which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear golfgal41,
Am relieved to read that we were able to live up to your expectations after your visit to Casa del Mar. thank you for mentioning many of the features you enjoyed when you were here. Our team is very much encouraged when they know these touches are enjoyed by our guests.

The Calanthe (or 13 states) coffee shop would be one of our recommendations as well to our guests being a stone’s throw from our front door.

Thank you for your recommendation and also to your friend who had also recommended us to you.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

As we drove into the basement parking there is already a hint of warmth in the ambience...unlike some lurky parking place...but it was the warm welcome tt amazes us...superb sorbet with personal welcoming greeting that says "welcome home" with my name on a leaf

Luckily i had booked in advance to spend my birthday in our favourite place...melaka. the room is beautiful n cozy...overlooking the lago n selat melaka. I had the most wonderful birthday celebration when we came back fr the river cruise to a lovely awaiting cake and turned beds and candle light. My hubby topped the excitement with surprise balloons n birthday gifts tt makes our stay at casa del rio a cherished memory.
I also super like the bfast setting n food...we also fell in love wt the swiming pool. By the time to leave...i knew tt i must come again. It is a promise...because we start calling it our home in Melaka.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noraliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Noraliza B,
It is music to our ears to hear guests referring to our hotel as their home in Melaka. It is very gratifying to know that some of the things we put in place to try to create that feeling seem to be working.

Thank you for your kind endorsement we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and do definitely look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed the night with my family and we got the 2 bedroom suite,on the second floor, facing the river. The sight is nothing too impressive but the plus point is the gym and empty swimming pool. Our room located across the river and as such, we hear constant honking and boats cruising. Anyhow, the noise level is still tolerable.

The room is infused with wooden furnishings and flooring, comes with a small dining area and living room as well as free WIFI.

It is not too bad a choice for a weekend getaway with the family. Moreover, this hotel is situated only 5 mins walk from the bustling Jonkers Street and the Geographer's Cafe.

Better to head out for your meals rather than to have it in the hotel's restaurant. The food is not really that delicious. And the price of the spa massages start at MYR90 for foot massage to MYR300++ for body massages.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jenzl,

Thank you for taking time to write your review.

We do take note of your feedback about our food. If you had any specific suggestions about how you think the food could be improved then a comment to my attention to info@casadelrio-melaka.com would be gratefully received and seriously considered.

Many of our guests do enjoy the view of the river, especially at night with the boat activity. The Lago rooms are also available as an alternative for those seekng the more tranquil view of the Lago but still with river views further out.

We thank you for your endorsement as a weekend getaway with the family as indeed we are a mere two minutes walk from all the action on jonker street.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just like other reviews, staff guides us to an cosy area and serves the lime sorbet while waiting for the check-in procudure. After the check-in, a very polite and helpful chinese lady guides us to our room 320. This young lady explain to us every facilities in the room.

The room is spacious and clean. My hubby and myself love the bath tub a lot. They even display a ducky beside the bath tub. So cute! The smell of shower gel is also pretty good.

Their services are excellent too! We have very good experience through out the whole trip. No matter we are having breakfast at The Rivel Grill or chilling out at Bar*Rio, they welcome us with warm heart!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenwar520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Greenwar 520,

Your endorsement of Casa del Rio is very much appreciated.

Mentioning the touches and the service is an aid to encouraging the team here to greater excellence thank you so much!

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next break from Singapore.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything is so extremely beautiful here! The hotel, the room, the service, the location! I would love to stay here again and just stay in their room for several days! It is so comfortable, one of the best i have so far after sepang golden palm tree resort. Staff is so helpful, we plan stay here for 1 day only then after that we found this place really meet the need, we decided to extend. Room is so clean and the fragrance that comes from the aromatherapy is so relaxing. Night fairy jet trip round the city is so amazing! Culinary is heavenly cooked since we stay near to jonker street ( i would recommend Nancy's Kitchen) i would definitely visit and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslytania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Leslytania

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Melaka and Casa del Rio.

Thank you for your kind comments about the service. our aromatherapy is a blend of orange, lemon, rosemary and basil mixing the sweet with a bit of spice – very glad you liked it.

Yes Nancy’s kitchen is a recommendation of ours as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing