We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything is so extremely beautiful here! The hotel, the room, the service, the location! I would love to stay here again and just stay in their room for several days! It is so comfortable, one of the best i have so far after sepang golden palm tree resort. Staff is so helpful, we plan stay here for 1 day only then after that we found this place really meet the need, we decided to extend. Room is so clean and the fragrance that comes from the aromatherapy is so relaxing. Night fairy jet trip round the city is so amazing! Culinary is heavenly cooked since we stay near to jonker street ( i would recommend Nancy's Kitchen) i would definitely visit and stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslytania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Leslytania

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Melaka and Casa del Rio.

Thank you for your kind comments about the service. our aromatherapy is a blend of orange, lemon, rosemary and basil mixing the sweet with a bit of spice – very glad you liked it.

Yes Nancy’s kitchen is a recommendation of ours as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Rio Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel that I ever stayed before! There r only 2 counter at the lobby for check in, but dun worry. Their staff will Neva let u stand n wait for check in. They guide u to the seats beside. U can just relax n sit down there while they do all the check in arrangement for u. N u will be served by cold tower n their lemongrass ice! N they r so sweet to have written our name on the leave..! Next thing that amazed us is the hotel room. It's big n nice! Bathroom are clean n bath tub is very big.! With a small duck beside =) the balcony is nice n the whole atmosphere of the whole hotel and rooms are relax n comfy.. They staff are all do prompt in helping n friendly. They will grant u whenever they see u.. They really make us feel like we r home. The pool is an infinity pool. By swimming to the edge. U will be able to see the beautiful side of Melaka. Location wise is great too.! It's just 3 mins wait to the famous jonker street! Breakfast in the hotel is another enjoyable thing! The restaurant is beautifully designed n their food are delicious! Really love this hotel so much that I would love to stay here again the next time!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Fancymol

Well this is high praise indeed. We do appreciate you mentioning the little touches you liked and will continue to work to do justice to your positive review. Thank you and we would love to have you stay with us again as well.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Going back to Melaka always reminds me of my teenage years in Singapore and staying in Casa Del Rio which is just at Jonker Street have that relax and no rush feeling, what can I say about the room it is so cosy,warm, spacious and very well lighted especially if you need the lights not like some dogy hotel rooms, thoroughly enjoy every moment of my stay there.

Room Tip: every room has a view of it own.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkChanHRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear MarkChanHRC

It is true that opportunities to experience the history of the region are diminishing. Melaka is one such place being under the protection of its heritage listing where we hope it will continue to be preserved. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel we do hope you will return for another trip down memory lane.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Huge, comfortable room with nice bath tub. Soak in the tub with the view of the tv. Hotel even provide bath salt to soak away the tiredness after so much walking. A stone throw to reach jonker street. A down service provided too. Great al carte breakfast with semi buffet provided, unlike those provide by those hotels i been too. Will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akoh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Akoh78

So glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We have put some focus into this and appreciate the feedback. Thanks for this positive review and your other kind comments about the hotel and your recommendation to friends

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights but were so impressed, I'm sure we will become regular visitors. The service was good, the food excellent. Breakfast in particular was very good with a choice of a la carte freshly cooked to order. We also enjoyed the bar in the evening with great cocktails and nice live music. The rooms are very nice, full of character with nice little extra touches.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor which was convenient for the pool and had great views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharp-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Sharp-Life

It was heartening to read that you had enjoyed your time here in Melaka.

Even more so to know that you noticed what, we think, makes our breakfast offer a little different, the room touches and also that you enjoyed the bar.

You mentioned the possibility of a return visit. you may be interested to know then that from next month we will have a new act in Bar Rio called “Brave heart” made up of keyboard, guitar and vocalist.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely experience, the sorbet on arrival, great room, sensible layout to room, fabulous bathroom, beautiful view from the balcony, welcome sweeties, lit candles during turn down, yummy breakfast, cool library with an expresso machine for guest use, infinity pool on the roof, perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear westcountrybasil

Thank you for this wonderfully succinct but thorough endorsement –

We do appreciate you detailing the services and products that you enjoyed during your stay with us. I am always glad to be able to share this with our hosts as I know they are much encouraged by it.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon arrival, welcomed by v friendly and efficient staff who seated us in a cabana whilst taking our details - not the usual waiting in line! We were also given a refreshing little bowl of lime and ginger sorbet. We knew from that moment this hotel was going to be a bit special.
A member of staff showed us to our room and where everything was. The room itself was fab: very spacious with superb bathroom (huge white fluffy towels), extremely comfortable bed with quality bedding and duvet. There are tea/coffee making facilities that are restocked twice a day. The balcony was spacious and overlooking the river, although only one of the padded seats had a backrest, making it uncomfortable for one person to lean back - although this is a minor detail and I'm sure the management would have swapped the seat for another! - the TV had a range of channels and many in English. In the evening, staff came round, restocked the fridge with three more bottles of complimentary water, turned back the bed, lit an essential oil candle (which smelled amazing), and lit candles on the balcony as well as a mosquito ring. (There is also a can of mozzie spray in the room, should you need it, we didn't)
There is an infinity swimming pool on the rooftop, the pool towels are soft and enormous.
Breakfast was superb with an excellent buffet plus an a la carte menu. Again, staff couldn't do enough to help.
The location of the hotel is perfect: minutes walking distance to Jonkers Street (check out the little heritage museum at 8 Heeren Street, which is even closer. The museum is a reconstructed Dutch style house of a few hundred years ago. Very interesting and free!). The jetty for the river cruise is short walk and can be seen from the hotel across the river. Sadly, we didn't know/werent informed about the free hotel transportation to the shopping mall until we had checked out! We would have liked to have done this.
On checking out, we had time to spare and were told we could use the air-conditioned library (that has tea/coffee making facilities) and my husband was given magazines to take away and read on the journey back to KL.
We simply couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely make a return visit and encourage others to do the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boubelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Boubelina,

Looks like we do need to look a how we communicate the availability of some of our services. You should have been made aware of the complimentary shuttle service to the shopping area of Melaka.

We were pleased to see that you had otherwise enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. Thank you very much for your kind words of encouragement and for highlighting some of the details you encountered and appreciated.

Thank you for your recommendation.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $137 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing