We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Checked in at about 6pm . Was welcomed by a very friendly staff , great welcome sorbet of lime and ginger . Very refreshing . Room was amazing . Staff were very friendly and attentive . Great stay . Will surely come again .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear gujugirl

Having a guest say they will return is one of the greatest compliments a hotel can receive.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Melaka at “The Casa”.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Melaka was our last stop on a 5 week holiday we had booked 4 nights, we arrived by taxi from KL, the porters were very efficent had our bags out of the taxi and on the trolley before we even got to the check in desk, the lay out is very open air and spanish in style, large cooling central water feature with nice shaded booths around the courtyard and pool, we were seated in one of these booths brought a nice gelato and cool towels while we completed check in, our room was a river view with balcony the room was huge, massive king bed very comfortable, balcony over looking the river, very large bathroom with huge two person soaking bath the shower had monsoon head as well as well as normal detachable spray head, tolietries were high quality, there was a nice sized alcove with wadrobe and storage area for bags, there was also a clothes horse that you could put out on the balcony so you could actually wash and dry clothes, roof top pool was very relaxing the pool staff quick with jugs of wate and the biggest bath towels I have very seen, the hotel it's self was easy to walk to Jonker Marker, the dutch and british quarters, we though Melaka was the highlight of our trip and woudl definitley stay there again, we had a taxi booked for 7am the next moring so had breakfast at the hotel very good selection and the egg were cooked to order. There is a colony of cats that live at one end of the hotel, I did notice once of the kittens appeared to have a deformed/injured leg I informed front desk, they told bme the staff look after the cats, I hope this is true and not just fobbing off the tourists, though the cats looked well fed and weren't mangy stray or feral looking.

Room Tip: River veiw with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Comfortdiva

We have been working to improve consistency in the arrival greeting and so were very pleased to read that it seems to have worked, in your case at least.

There are three Casa cats that live in the hedge by the fish pond. Another lives by our nursery near the Cafe. They are fed before meal times to deter them from begging at the restaurant. Eventually they will be caught, neutered, have the paw fixed and, returned to the hedge to protect the Casa from other incoming cats. Hope this assures you.

Thank you for mentioning all the features you liked about the hotel. Knowing what we are doing right helps us to reinforce the service we aspire to.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took my family to stay here on a working trip. We took one of the rooms overlooking the river, and it was worth every cent, as the view was really nice especially at night. We absolutely loved the room and the balcony was a perfect spot, be it to read a book, or play some board games with the kids. Though the pool was a little small, the 'infinity concept was appealing. I liked the breakfast. The only thing is that my dad and kids (aged 7 and 8) overslept on one of the mornings, and were late for breakfast (by 1/2 hr after closing). Nobody sympathized or even offered anything for my poor kids. I found this a little disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmala_BhooPathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Nirmala_BhooPathy

I do hope you will accept my sincere apology for the way we handled your breakfast needs. We should have been able to provide you with a solution to this. This has been discussed with our restaurant manager and I feel sure we will do better in future.

We were naturally delighted to learn that you had otherwise enjoyed your experience here at Casa del Rio. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had lunch here one Sunday (didn't opt for the brunch which looked good and seemed good value at 55rm per adult). Service was good but not quite top-notch. Lunchtime kids room was poor with only videoing being shown. The restaurant was very nice but I couldn't quite see the reason for the high room costs when there are other more atmospheric options?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Beijing Folks

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch experience at Casa del Rio.

The kids’ area in the Grill is set up each Sunday to provide a cushioned floor, a selection of soft toys, a table with colour pencils and colouring in mats as well as the video you mentioned. Improvement however can always be made we will look to see how we can do this. There is a consideration to make this a permanent fixture for children as this room would possibly get greater use.

In addition we have also arranged for The Casa Jazz Cats and Jason, the wandering Magician to add to the mood of a Sunday Jazz Bruch by the river. Yes we do think that our Sunday brunch with what is on offer from the brunch buffet, Barbeque and Roast Carvings with trimmings does offer good value for the RM 55. We very much appreciate you mentioning this.

Reading your comment on the room rates, it is not clear if you stayed at the hotel. Any suggestions for improvement in our accommodation can be sent to my attention at info@casadelrio-melaka.com . They would be gratefully received and seriously considered.

We are pleased to learn that you seem to have, on the whole, enjoyed your lunch and hope that we may one day welcome you again to Casa del Rio.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay here was excellent, customer service from the staff is superior. From the sorbet we revieved on arrival to the note on our car saying they have washed the windows for us as we left, the hotel added so many little extras to ensure a great stay. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Location was close to the action but away from the noise! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrieKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear KerrieKL

Well this is high praise indeed – thank you so much!

So glad you noticed the smaller touches like the Onde Onde and the windscreen cleaning service. We will continue to work hard to live up to your high recommendation.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived late, around 2am, and were greeted warmly by the desk manager as we checked into a Deluxe Lago room we booked on Agoda. For a reason we never figured out, we were instead put into the nicest suite in the hotel for the entirety of our 3-day stay. The staff were polite and gregarious to a person -- at breakfast, at the pool, in the lobby. A porter even ran off to pick up bus tickets for us at no charge, and then rebuffed our attempts to tip him! The breakfast (included) featured a solid buffet and the option to order a complimentary main (eggs florentine was the winner) and espresso.

Location-wise, we were within easy walking distance of the old town, and right around the corner from Pak Putra, a Punjabi restaurant that ended up being one of our favorite meals over 12 days in Malaysia.

Honestly, can't say a bad word about the place. For the rest of our trip (Penang, Tioman island), we stayed in more casual, boutique spots, and if that's your style exclusively, the Casa del Rio won't do it for you. It is a big, shiny new 5-star hotel. That said, we enjoyed having a couple nights in a really comfortable place like this with a rooftop pool, tasty breakfast, etc. Can't deny that our mystery upgrade made us instant fans of the hotel, but even in a standard room I think we would have loved it.

Recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Devin C

We really do appreciate your very complimentary review.

We were delighted to learn that our reception crew was able to help with the bus ticket. I will see to it that his efforts are recognised. We appreciate you letting us know.

Yes Pak Putra turns out a very good naan and chicken from their charcoal fired tandoor ovens and is a safe recommendation to our guests.

So glad too that you liked the breakfasts. We have worked hard on that and the partial a la carte can sometimes be misunderstood but is, on the whole, working well and gaining more favour.

Thank you for your solid endorsement.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the best hotel that I've ever been.

Service was excellent. Easy and relaxing check-in and check out.

Room was very spacious, comfortable and clean.

Lovely view from the balcony from which ever room you stay.

Great location. Just a few minutes walk from Jonker street.

only down side is that noise pollution from across the river as there was a concert/show held there on the night of our stay. It's beyond the control of the Hotel . Despite the tiny discomfort, the stay there have been great!

Not sure whether this happens to about others room too but I found that they placed a rubber duckie for my son to play with in the tub. That was a nice gesture.

in fact it was all these tiny detail that made our stay there memorable and a happy one. For example, when we mentioned the word "check-in" the lady led us to the Cabana and have our welcome drink . Unlike other hotel, she did not even asked us for our booking details. Only when we have settled down did she took our particulars to be processed.

The journey to our room was eye opening too and the lady escorting us was very friendly and explained to us about the facilities they have there.

In the room we also found some minor things like a Nyonya Kuih left on the table with a welcome note, a books by Lee Su Kim about Nyonya Heritage, A note book by the hotel staffs recommending activities to do there ...all these minor details made me feel that the hotel care for its guests

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathychy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Cathychy

Thank you for your positive and quite lovely review.

We are very touched that you mentioned the little things in the hotel, from the rubber duck in the bath room to Lee Su Kim’s book on Nyonya Heritage (I have sent her a note to let her know) and that you found the reception experience to be helpful and friendly.

We hope you will make the trip back down from KL to see us again Soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $142 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing