We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Took my family to stay here on a working trip. We took one of the rooms overlooking the river, and it was worth every cent, as the view was really nice especially at night. We absolutely loved the room and the balcony was a perfect spot, be it to read a book, or play some board games with the kids. Though the pool was a little small, the 'infinity concept was appealing. I liked the breakfast. The only thing is that my dad and kids (aged 7 and 8) overslept on one of the mornings, and were late for breakfast (by 1/2 hr after closing). Nobody sympathized or even offered anything for my poor kids. I found this a little disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmala_BhooPathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Nirmala_BhooPathy

I do hope you will accept my sincere apology for the way we handled your breakfast needs. We should have been able to provide you with a solution to this. This has been discussed with our restaurant manager and I feel sure we will do better in future.

We were naturally delighted to learn that you had otherwise enjoyed your experience here at Casa del Rio. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had lunch here one Sunday (didn't opt for the brunch which looked good and seemed good value at 55rm per adult). Service was good but not quite top-notch. Lunchtime kids room was poor with only videoing being shown. The restaurant was very nice but I couldn't quite see the reason for the high room costs when there are other more atmospheric options?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Beijing Folks

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch experience at Casa del Rio.

The kids’ area in the Grill is set up each Sunday to provide a cushioned floor, a selection of soft toys, a table with colour pencils and colouring in mats as well as the video you mentioned. Improvement however can always be made we will look to see how we can do this. There is a consideration to make this a permanent fixture for children as this room would possibly get greater use.

In addition we have also arranged for The Casa Jazz Cats and Jason, the wandering Magician to add to the mood of a Sunday Jazz Bruch by the river. Yes we do think that our Sunday brunch with what is on offer from the brunch buffet, Barbeque and Roast Carvings with trimmings does offer good value for the RM 55. We very much appreciate you mentioning this.

Reading your comment on the room rates, it is not clear if you stayed at the hotel. Any suggestions for improvement in our accommodation can be sent to my attention at info@casadelrio-melaka.com . They would be gratefully received and seriously considered.

We are pleased to learn that you seem to have, on the whole, enjoyed your lunch and hope that we may one day welcome you again to Casa del Rio.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay here was excellent, customer service from the staff is superior. From the sorbet we revieved on arrival to the note on our car saying they have washed the windows for us as we left, the hotel added so many little extras to ensure a great stay. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Location was close to the action but away from the noise! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrieKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear KerrieKL

Well this is high praise indeed – thank you so much!

So glad you noticed the smaller touches like the Onde Onde and the windscreen cleaning service. We will continue to work hard to live up to your high recommendation.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived late, around 2am, and were greeted warmly by the desk manager as we checked into a Deluxe Lago room we booked on Agoda. For a reason we never figured out, we were instead put into the nicest suite in the hotel for the entirety of our 3-day stay. The staff were polite and gregarious to a person -- at breakfast, at the pool, in the lobby. A porter even ran off to pick up bus tickets for us at no charge, and then rebuffed our attempts to tip him! The breakfast (included) featured a solid buffet and the option to order a complimentary main (eggs florentine was the winner) and espresso.

Location-wise, we were within easy walking distance of the old town, and right around the corner from Pak Putra, a Punjabi restaurant that ended up being one of our favorite meals over 12 days in Malaysia.

Honestly, can't say a bad word about the place. For the rest of our trip (Penang, Tioman island), we stayed in more casual, boutique spots, and if that's your style exclusively, the Casa del Rio won't do it for you. It is a big, shiny new 5-star hotel. That said, we enjoyed having a couple nights in a really comfortable place like this with a rooftop pool, tasty breakfast, etc. Can't deny that our mystery upgrade made us instant fans of the hotel, but even in a standard room I think we would have loved it.

Recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Devin C

We really do appreciate your very complimentary review.

We were delighted to learn that our reception crew was able to help with the bus ticket. I will see to it that his efforts are recognised. We appreciate you letting us know.

Yes Pak Putra turns out a very good naan and chicken from their charcoal fired tandoor ovens and is a safe recommendation to our guests.

So glad too that you liked the breakfasts. We have worked hard on that and the partial a la carte can sometimes be misunderstood but is, on the whole, working well and gaining more favour.

Thank you for your solid endorsement.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the best hotel that I've ever been.

Service was excellent. Easy and relaxing check-in and check out.

Room was very spacious, comfortable and clean.

Lovely view from the balcony from which ever room you stay.

Great location. Just a few minutes walk from Jonker street.

only down side is that noise pollution from across the river as there was a concert/show held there on the night of our stay. It's beyond the control of the Hotel . Despite the tiny discomfort, the stay there have been great!

Not sure whether this happens to about others room too but I found that they placed a rubber duckie for my son to play with in the tub. That was a nice gesture.

in fact it was all these tiny detail that made our stay there memorable and a happy one. For example, when we mentioned the word "check-in" the lady led us to the Cabana and have our welcome drink . Unlike other hotel, she did not even asked us for our booking details. Only when we have settled down did she took our particulars to be processed.

The journey to our room was eye opening too and the lady escorting us was very friendly and explained to us about the facilities they have there.

In the room we also found some minor things like a Nyonya Kuih left on the table with a welcome note, a books by Lee Su Kim about Nyonya Heritage, A note book by the hotel staffs recommending activities to do there ...all these minor details made me feel that the hotel care for its guests

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathychy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Cathychy

Thank you for your positive and quite lovely review.

We are very touched that you mentioned the little things in the hotel, from the rubber duck in the bath room to Lee Su Kim’s book on Nyonya Heritage (I have sent her a note to let her know) and that you found the reception experience to be helpful and friendly.

We hope you will make the trip back down from KL to see us again Soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Can't beat the location - just off Junkers street and on the river. Great rooms, well appointed and clean. River or courtyard rooms have good view across or down the river. Nice breakfast, good service. Great roof-top infinity pool. Really nice experience. River cafe/grill has a good lunch special.

Room Tip: Courtyard or river riew rooms are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrowtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Harrowtwo

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at Casa del Rio. Thank you for sharing your positive comments. It is encouraging and motivating for the team to know that what they do is noticed by our guests.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in two delux rooms at this hotel September 2012, four adults and three children.
The rooms are lovely and clean and large enough for extra beds and we really enjoyed the outside balcony. The service at this hotel is excellent, from check in to check out.
The breakfasts were amazing and I miss my eggs Benedict. Only downside was we had to use the pool from the adjoining apartments and couldn't book drinks to our room, so didn't go there much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evershine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Evershine

Thank you for taking time out to talk about your stay with us in September.

Yes we had to bite the bullet and have the pool re-grouted during your visit. We timed it for when the pool at the adjacent apartments became available for use. I do apologise that you were not offered the facility of charging your drinks to the room. We should have been able to do this.

happy to report that the pool is now back in working order and offering guests the chance of a swim while enjoying the panoramic views of Melaka city and the famous straits.

So glad you liked the breakfasts and service in general; we really appreciate you including that in your review.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 168 in Melaka
1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $144 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing