We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Rio Melaka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heeren Inn(Melaka)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
Heeren House(Melaka)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
906 Hotel(Melaka)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveler rating
983
472
90
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
472
90
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetthe riverrooftop poolonde ondecinnamon soapjonker streetriver view roomturn down servicelittle touchessemi buffetcold towelsala cartebig bathtubbeautiful hotelceiling fanhard rock cafestone's throw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,231 - 1,236 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great Location, Great view from River-view Roms. Avoid rooms in the south-East Corner due to verynNoisy Airconditioning of central areas. Quality of Service in the Restaurant and at Check-in is wide spread (some are very nice and helpfull others don't realy know what to do) and not adequate of a 4*Levels Hotel . Especially our check-in person was more interested in talking to others than checking us in, no help with luggage, worthless dinner recomodation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear GFried,

We apologise for not meeting your expectations on arrival and in the restaurant.

We do understand that in all areas constant refresher training is necessary to if the expected standards are to be achieved.

Please be assured that we do act, are committed to a constant refinement in our performance and hope that your experience would not deter you from considering a return visit if ever in Melaka again.

With regard to the noise, I believe this may be the Kitchen extraction fan which needed some urgent repair work on the bearings. This, we believe, has now been resolved.

Andrew Drummond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My family of seven stayed in two river view rooms.

Plus points:
1) The welcome snacks were a nice touch - the sorbet was refreshing and the onde onde was sweet. 2) The room was huge and allowed plenty of space for the kids to play around. 3) The large balcony enabled our family to enjoy our afternoon tea there comfortably. 4) The location was superb as it was within short walking distance to Jonker Street (5 mins) and the Dutch Square and various museums (10 mins). 5) Service was very friendly and quite prompt- something lacking in many places that we visited in Melaka.

Areas that could be improved:
1) Check-in was slightly disorganised as the staff who served us was new and needed guidance from the more senior staff who were occupied with other guests.
2) The extra beds that we requested were not set up at the time promised. However, after we called to remind, the beds were set up immediately.
3) The swimming pool is fairly dangerous - Children need to be closely supervised. We found sharp-edged tiles and big crows hovering and drinking from the pool!

Room Tip: The river view room does not offer much of a view as the river is dirty and there is construction opposite the hotel. However, the balcony size is larger than a regular room and is a good place to have afternoon tea and chill at night.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darellyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear DarrellynL,

The check-in experience is something we do monitor and refine constantly. While, I believe, we do get it right in most cases please accept my apologies that we did not seem to do so for your arrival.

The making up of extra beds is normally performed at turndown time. I will revisit the process with our Housekeeper.

Not being aware of the issue of the sharp tiles in the pool, I will have this looked at.

Hoping this did not detract too much from your experience, I was pleased to read that you seemed to have otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind remarks. All feedback is shared with the team and positive comments do encourage and motivate us to do better.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Upon arrival, we had a refreshing welcome drink, towel etc. Very resort style! Staff made us feel relaxed and brought us to our room giving us lots of information on the hotel.
The room is big, clean and has nice decoration within. The bed is heavenly! Am very certain it's one expensive one! Firm and huge! Unfortunately, in my room, the tiles are beginning to look at bit rusty / dirty.
Breakfast is loaded with choices!! Pick from the menu and you have access to the buffet table as well! Don't know where to end at! Plus point - it is just a minute walk to Jonker Street! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear NowRaven

As a result of your review we are now inspecting every room for tile stains. Apart from daily clean when occupied, each room is deep cleaned with strong detergents and given a full maintenance check every six months to maintain the standard demanded of our rating. I hope this did not detract too much from your experience.

Yes the beds are made especially for Casa del Rio by King Koil. It can be arranged for you to purchase one direct from King Koil if you are interested.

Thanks very much for your kind comments. So pleased to hear the team looked after you with information, that you noticed the welcome amenities and enjoyed the breakfast.

Hope to see you back on a future break from singapore.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room is huge and the bathroom as well, full also of any sort of amenity.
A lot of attention to details, staff is extremely friendly and attentive
Breakfast looking on the river is perfect, both as location as for quality of food
Location very good both for leisure and business.
Definitively advised

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guidolo

Thank you for your very positive and encouraging review.

We are delighted that you liked the breakfast and enjoyed the touches. Your remarks have been shared with the team.

Many of the ideas came from the staff of the hotel and they are motivated to know that they are noticed.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

1. Hotel is in great shape, great surrounding, clean, beautiful, very very nice
2. Location is great short walk to the main Jonker street, by the river, nice view.
3. Bed room is great, nice bed, nice linen, nice decor, tv, kettle, balcony... All great. Bed is so comfy...!
4. Bath room.. Very nice. Big bath, shower great, toiletries very good. Super clean... Well done house keeping.
5. Breakfast, very nice buffet with made by order hot breakfast. Excellent fruits bar. Bread excellent. But low selection in puff and pasty, certainly weak point in the kitchen need improvement.
6. Dinner at Grill Restuarant , not bad, a bit quiet for a very nice setting by the river setting. Main grill , lamb was not bad, great tasting sauce, salad can be better , dessert banoffi pie/cake not great at all. So I think the kitchen must be weak in their cold kitchen/sweet/ pantry side.

After tasting their desserts( had a banana chocolate cake kind of at the cafe as well) and seeing not much selection in their puffs, pastry( croissant ,Danish) . I think their pastry kitchen needs some serious review. but keep the baker, bread is good.

One more suggestion, something need to be done about the overall feel of the restaurant as it looks a bit dead. The door always shut and just felt closed and not as inviting as it could have. The breakfast and dinner ambient are totally different, love the breakfast, dinner .. Questionable.

7. Service staff is not bad, reception/ check in staff is tentative but need that extra edge for a full mark. I booked for a romantic break with dinner and spa included but had to remind them about it. But all went ok. So that tiny extra detail could have made the first impression really smooth.
Really had to say how impressive is their house keeping team, really excellent. Spa staff really good too. Full point for both.

8. Overall, great hotel, service good, food ok, I can see and feel more improvement on the way.

Give it a try, sure u can find cheaper in Melaka but its not Casa Del Rio.!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tonycookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear tonycookery

Your review is both comprehensive and objective, making it helpful.

Our new chef, Allan, and I have both identified that there is some room for improvement in the pastries. Allan’s experience in Vietnam where some of the best pastry in the region comes from is being mined to find ways of doing this.

The arrival experience is something that does need to be monitored and polished regularly to make sure we get the details right. This comes down to training refreshment and will be reviewed with the Front office manager.

Very glad you like the breakfast as it is something we have been working on ever since we opened and will continue to refine.

I will make sure that your positive and encouraging comments are shared with Housekeeping and The Spa as well. They will be appreciated.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews