We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Strategic Location...Will definitely recommend my friends to stay here..”
Review of hangout@jonker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hangout@jonker
Ranked #21 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2011

-strategic location, everywhere and anywhere you want to go is within the walkin distance
-nice/simple deco with a Homey/cozy feeling,
-good customer services
-Free internet services available
-24Hours COFFEE/TEA....HOT/COLD water dispenser...

Best to Book your Room Online for better value price via AGODA!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valeriechuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Dear Valerie,
Thank you for your detailed feedback and tips on booking method. Hope to see you again at hangout@jonker!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

I dug this place! Free computers and wifi, free coffee/tea, nice solid beds w crisp white duvets and ultra mod bathrooms. The staff was very welcoming and there was a nice rooftop patio w tables. All in all, good value for slightly more than a guesthouse and the location couldn't be more central!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrhurwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

i was happy as i chose a right and nice hotel. staff there really nice and they will help u out if u need a help. there is a balcony on 4th floor, i was lucky to stay at the 4th floor as i could just walk a few steps to watch the view at the balcony, melaka river is just opposite thr. guests thr also friendly, i felt warm when a girl told me that the toaster is suitable to set 1min as her breads were all black in color. :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaisinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Good location and nice staff, but small and nowhere near as good as its sister Hangout@Mt. Emily in Singapore.

Room Tip: Good, central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback, We will do our best to improve and be at par with our sister at mt emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I had check into Hangout@Jonker on 26March around 11pm.What had greeted me and my wife after a long drive from Singapore was a room that was left untouch since the last guest have check out.Bed that was still in a mess,toilet and rubbish not clear,floor with hair lying around.We thought things would improved after we have lodge a complaint with the frontdesk but when we had check into the room ar 1am,the "new" bedsheet had stains on it,remote control for the TV had flat batteries and my "fresh" towel have a long curly hair sandwich in it.Good location but not worth price for what we had experienced.Won't recommend to my friends or family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pureshore74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

“Dear Sir,

We are truly sorry for the unpleasant experience and any inconveniences you have encountered during your stay at our hotel. We acknowledge that our staff had overlooked on the housekeeping of your room, which is not excusable. We have definitely taken your feedback seriously, to ensure we maintain consistent standards of our hotel’s housekeeping.

We have also sent you an email to relay our deepest apologies.


Warmest Regards,

hangout@jonker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Hangout has a perfect location, right in the middle of all the sights and food such that practically everything is walkable. The service we received was friendly, professional and efficient.
Rooms were very clean and neatly done up, exactly as in the pictures on their website. They were very tiny, however, and the shower was a squeeze, even for us petite ladies. Doors were heavy and very loud when they shut. They tend to slam, the doors along the corridors as well as those to the rooms. Great security doors, but they are really loud and if you are unlucky enough to get neighbours who are active late at night or at very early hours,
I would stay here again. For the price, it's excellent value, but if sleep is precious, then I suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This hotel is brand new and perfectly located at Jonker's Street. I like the design and layout from the reception to the leisure area and room deco. It is clean, shower has good water pressure and consistent hot water. Good security as we have to swipe our card everywhere. Free internet available.

It ended there. The hotel ran out of white bread for breakfast on my second day and it took them 30 minutes to buy some more. Even if they didn't expect the extra walk in guests the night before, it was already 10.30am, they had plenty of time to get bread before that.

What bothered me the most was the non-sound proof walls. This Chinese family checked into the family room next to mine. I could hear every conversation, every sound, I could even hear my neighbour snoring 2 nights in a row. I specifically requested for a quiet room, and that was what I got. Please do something about the walls!!! It would ruin an otherwise great stay. For that kind of premium-priced budget hotel, one would expect a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumaizah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#59 of 220 in Melaka
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinz Boutique Hotel
Vinz Boutique Hotel
#78 of 220 in Melaka
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 220 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 220 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
45 Jebat Backpackers
#84 of 138 in Melaka
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 138 in Melaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@jonker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@jonker

Address: No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@jonker 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hangout@jonker is a treasure to find for savvy travellers looking for a fun yet fuss-free stay while travelling. We were officially opened on 3rd July 2010 in Malacca, Malaysia. The 22-room boutique hotel is located in the Jonker Street area, a popular, must-go destination for tourists visiting Malacca. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, our hotel gives travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for those great cushy beds and squeaky clean bathrooms. And, if you love making new friends on your trip, Hangout Hotels offer the perfect hangout place to meet and share adventure tales with fellow travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your hangout@jonker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout@Jonker Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing