We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The One Residences by Sunflower Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Penang
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The One Residences by Sunflower Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There were 17 of us and we booked the terrace service house (One Residences) by Sunflower Hotel. The 2 houses we booked were very clean. Everything inside the house were in good condition except the TV which is having a blur picture. I would say RM400+ for 8 persons per house on a public holiday is quite cheap. The house come with a washing machine and we did our own laundry (after buying detergent from a nearby sundry shop). I would say, it's quite a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenlee86, General Manager at Sunflower Hotel Malacca, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Choihb,

Thank you for your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we have changed the signal booster which we believe damage during the raining day and caused the blur picture.

It is glad that you enjoy your stay and you may request for game like mahjong tables set which is free for your next visit. We do provide also BBQ set at a charge and we believe this will be fun for you to enjoy gathering with friends and family.

Best regards,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
6
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Budget hotel yet still comfortable and value for my money..nice, comfort and clean..sundries,local restaurants,bakery & minimart nearby.despite having sits on a shoplot it still have a green area all around corners..definitely will came here again.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms dont have bathroom.have to share outside bathrooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenlee86, General Manager at Sunflower Hotel Malacca, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Idx,

Thank you for your response. It is glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again in near future.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Chanced upon this hotel as the usual B&B which we used to stay at was fully booked.
i would say this is one of the better hotels in Melaka for budget travellers.
We checked into the family deluxe room where there was a king sized bed with a single bed.
There was also a LCD tv with basic satelite TV channels.
The best part of the room was the shower. The water pressure was fantastic.
If you drive, the hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes by car to the town centre.
The hotel also has bicycles to rent for around RM10 for a day which is a pretty good deal.
Oh, the room also comes with breakfast. Basic but decent.
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeffkhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is definitely value for money!

The room is clean, the bed is comfortable, and the amenities are sufficient. The toilet has a nice modern design, and the water pressure is great. Everything else meets requirement and to a certain extent exceeds my expectations for the amount of money that I paid.

The breakfast is simple - bread, omelette, fried noodles, sausage and ham, fruits, coffee and tea, but it's good enough.

However, you'll definitely need your own transport if you plan to stay here. The town is at least 10 mins drive from this hotel.

Overall two thumbs up, but I have 3 small grouses though. On the last morning we were there, the hot water never came even though we left the water running for a while. The astro channels are a bit unstable which makes it annoying to watch, and the cafe has lots of mosquitos. Other than that, this place is awesome.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although we stayed for only one night, it was a great experience. The hotel is clean, well equipped with amenities, simple choices of breakfast and the price is right. One downside is, would prefer if the staff could make the bed for extra bed in the room, instead of lying the bedsheet, pillows on the floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khasha18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Sun Flower Hotel in Melaka was our choice to stay during Melaka trip in 2010. It's areally nice, cozy, neat and clean hotel. The bottomline, this is a perfect hotel with affordable price :D.The people there were nice, the room was clean and roomy, the bathroom outside was clean and have enough light, the linen was very clean and neat.

It took few minutes from Melaka Bus station to go here. But, unfortunately this hotel was quite far from the downtown. We need to get taxi to go downtown (jonker street, etc)
For those who wants to have quiet place to rest, this is a nice place to stay. It's not hard to find your daily needs here such as foods, drinks, medicine, etc. There are mini market, drugstore, restaurant around Sunflower hotel.
I give this hotel two thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NengniaWibawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overnight stay at their terraced double storey house in a residential suburb. 1 room ground level and 3 rooms upstairs. Bedding for 8 pax and simple b/fast delivered to the house. Place was homely,spacious and clean. Ideal for groups/families. Porch space for two cars. No cooking amenities, but cutleries provided. You can choose to eat at the hotel cafe which is along the main road. Check-in registration at the hotel reception. Place is 10mins drive to city centre, Hardly see cabs nor public buses around this area. In town centre,you have to purchase parking coupons ( where required ) even on Sundays and Public holidays. There are eateries along the way but you need transport. Coming from Kuala Lumpur ,preferable to enter and exit via Alor Gajah toll, If you are from Singapore, enter via Ayer Keroh toll. It will take you 45mins drive, subject to traffic volume and the numerous traffic lights. : ( . Not recommended for those without wheels, if your purpose is to walkabout in town. Save on taxi fares by staying in the heritage enclave itself. Jonker's Walk area , on Fri-Sat.night is very popular. If the state govt allows traffic to ply this streets at night as proposed, it will be the death of this touristy area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#38 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
2.9 mi away
AL-33 Hotel Melaka
AL-33 Hotel Melaka
#42 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#36 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#23 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
3.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#53 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Property: Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Address: No 57 Jalan Pj 1, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Malacca 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located at ambient and friendly residence area and not too far away from heritage town. If you are looking for a short trip to explore and experience the true living in Melaka, Malaysia, Sunflower Hotel is the right choice for you. Clean and air-cond room, free wifi, free breakfast, shuttle service, calling taxi, rent a bicycle and basic living needs, you no need to worry when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel And 1 Residence Hotel Malacca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing