We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great budget hotel. Only main issue was the actual location, its a little out of the way from Malacca (not too bad if you've got a car though). Parking was plenty, hotel rooms were clean and tidy. Oddly, even though the hotel is in a suburb area, its actually right on a very busy main road / highway. Rooms facing the road are pretty noisy, sometimes to the wee hours of the morning (traffic noise).

Breakfast was pretty standard, but that is to be expected (its a cafe that the hotel runs).

Internet access was available throughout the hotel.

Do take note that there were no toiletries (except for towels) - not sure if I didn't ask or they didn't provide, not an issue since I bring my own on most trips anyway.

Room Tip: Might want to stay away from rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davin_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
6
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 2012 enroute to Frasers hill. Traveling with three young kids, it's good to break up long distances. Settled with Sunflower despite it not being at the centre of town. Nice quiet environment. Parking is right in front of hotel. And it's free. Stayed in a family room with two double beds with some space for kids to move around. Flat screen tv available with some cable channels. Room comes with a window which is good as I can peep over the parapet to see my car parked downstairs. There is no lift so you have to move your luggage up the stairs. Drinking and hot water dispensers are available along the Corridors. No jugs or cups in rooms though. No hair dryer but can be borrowed at the counter. A no frills stay over to explore the Malacca town. Important for my family is space and cleanliness as well as safe environment. Btw room rates came with breakfast which is a simple spread of local foods in a nice small cafe at the ground level.

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious. Go for it. No swimming or fitness ctr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We drove from Singapore to Malacca as a family holiday, booked the sunflower bungalow (service apartment), clean and decent for a place in M'sia.
We were able to fit 2 cars in the pouch, the apartment has got 4bedrooms and 4bathrooms (1bedroom and 1bathroom on level 1 and the rest were at level 2), a dining area and also a living room area, fully air conditioned and also includes a washing machine!
The only downside was that the fridge was a little too small as it was only a bar fridge. Won't affect much if you are not the kind that prefers cold drinks, anyway, we were able to get ice/cold drinks from the nearest 7-eleven store (a common 24hr convenient store in Singapore and Malaysia).
It's not very safe in Malaysia, but, this place has got its staff riding bicycle around to make sure guests are safe! Double thumbs up on this.

Will definitely stay here if i'm going to Malacca again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g3rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We drove up to malacca from Singapore as a family holiday

We booked sunflower hotel as it offered reasonable pricing for a bungalow which has 2 storey, 4 floors, 1 living room x 1 dining room x 1 kitchen, 3 x bathrooms..

The quality of the bungalow was of good standard and there was a car porch which can accomodate 2 cars.

The check in was swift and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corebooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 days 1 night as a transit place for a wedding in Johor. The hotel located at slightly off town but still consider not far from main attraction.

For those who travel with car, this might be a good place to stay. The price is reasonable and plenty of parking. The room is a bit small but comfy and enough to stay.

The breakfast is at downstair with ok quality and with a coffee or tea.

The only suggestion is the toilet for women is limted where else for me, there is more rooms and more spaces, should arrange the other way round where usually women take longer time to get ready.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuxannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here with sister for 2nights. My sister chose and recommend this hotel as she said it's price is reasonable and the room is ok too. I just followed as we had no much to choose from. Hmm.. the room is ok, clean and neat. Staffs there are nice. What made me happy is that, they provide hair dryer freely, it's FOC! as i knew many hotels would ask surcharge for those services. We stayed for 2nights and provided 1bottle of drinking water each day. Breakfast is provided at sunrise cafe which located below the hotel but we did not take it. A lot of parking place in front of the hotel. It's quite quiet in the night since it's not located at the bustling street. There is also a few of astro channels, such as ESPN.. What let me down is, we had to share bathroom. There was no attached bathroom in our room. We need to walk a short distance to bathroom to have a bath. Location is not very strategic, a bit far from town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaisinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We are a family with three young children, stayed in the four bedroom villa two nights in the beginning of april.
First it was difficult to find the hotel as there are few JP 1 streets in Melaka and GPS brought us to a different place. But when we finally found the hotel, I was pleased it was clean and nice and the stuff was very pleasant. We arrived late and there was no food available in the hotel so they bought some food for us in a local restaurant. I found it very nice of them.
The house was big and spacious and very clean!
Two things I did not like:
1. Not enough dish in the kitchen. We were 5 and there were only two bowls for soup. No cutlers at all, we had to call for it.
2. The doors were squeaking terribly.
The location was very convenient, in a quiet residential area. 5 min from the centre of Melaka, better to have a car.
Our overall experience is very good and I recommend this hotel for a family.

Ps there were no swimming pool and fitness and it's by mistake I gave it bad rating (don't know how to remove it!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glandois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#43 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.9 mi away
AL-33 Hotel Melaka
AL-33 Hotel Melaka
#44 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.6 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#31 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
2.1 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#38 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Property: Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Address: No 57 Jalan Pj 1, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Malacca 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located at ambient and friendly residence area and not too far away from heritage town. If you are looking for a short trip to explore and experience the true living in Melaka, Malaysia, Sunflower Hotel is the right choice for you. Clean and air-cond room, free wifi, free breakfast, shuttle service, calling taxi, rent a bicycle and basic living needs, you no need to worry when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel And 1 Residence Hotel Malacca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing