We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rent a house!! Great when you are traveling with more than 8 and want to stay together.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Rent a house!! Great when you are traveling with more than 8 and want to stay together.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Travelled with 3 other families. At first I was vary because this was not a hotel or a renowned chain but am pleasantly surprised to find an entire terrace house to rent for the night. There is a living room, dining area and kitchen, in addition to four nicely appointed room. The decor is basic but tasteful. So u will feel comfortable. Great for large family outings. A home away from home. Kids just love the space. No pool.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purple_dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
8
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

It was the beginning if school holiday and most hotels (that are located within the town) were fully booked. We were lucky as SunFlower Hotel has rooms available.

We wanted our own bathroom and decided to stay at its double premium room. It has king sized bed with attached bathroom. I like the bed but would love to have more pillows (they only provide 2 pillows for the room). We were too lazy to ask for more pillows as we were so tired driving in the massive jam on our way to Melaka.

The hotel is not too far from town; it is within 5 to 7 minutes drive. They provide shuttle service to town and you can ask the front desk for the timetable.

It is a new hotel so I hope they could maintain their standard.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luqluq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Superb value for money hotel. Well, certainly is right now when it's new. Nice concept of the shared bathroom, which is something certainly new to me in budget hotels. That most probably is the reason behind it's affordable price. Internet is normal and acceptable. One really plus point is the carpark lots right in front of the hotel,... FOC, 24/7, something that I must highlight since public car parks in Malacca is the only place in Malaysia where its also in operation on weekends and on Public Holidays!! Yes, that's 365 days per year.

Rooms are tight but also have a very pleasant, clean design which has simplicity at its best. Air conditioned of course not to mention also, have LCD tv's...Yeah, LCD tv's, branded one's, mind you. Quality sure is in place for the hotel as a whole. Staff are not too knowledgable about Malacca as a tourist destination but very, very friendly and always willing to help nonetheless. There's a meeting room too although I'm not sure of the rates or how is it like but as far as looks are concern, it's certainly above budget standard.

Nice, cheerful hotel that is easy to spot along the main road. Chinese restaurant/coffee shop just beside and also lots of other amenities such as sundry shop, clinic, post office...etc. \Well, it's just fantastic. I would give it 8.5/10 overall.

Oh yeah, they also have houses for accomodation (One Residence Stay) at the back of the housing area. Quite some walking distance from the hotel, certainly not adviceble to walk under the scorching sun, but once you're there in the house.....ulalaaa....
SHEER HEAVEN!!!!!!! I will not go deep into this one though but just a quick one instead. I would give it 9.5/10.

Certainly the best long term stay house concept that I've come accross in Malaysia. Wins hands down. U just gotta see it to believe. Enough said.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelier_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2010

It was a business trip on a long weekend :-
1) Walked-in to Sunflower reason being, most hotels in Malacca were fully booked.
2) Pleasant check-in process - Joycelyn, Trisha & Adi at the front desk was very polite &
courteous.
2) My room which was the twin sharing - not too bad.
3) It was a shared bathroom, which I'm not very happy about! However, as I entered the
bathroom, it was very very clean and the water pressure was also good.
4) Even the housekeeping staffs greeted me...Impressive for a budget hotel.
5) The whole hotel is WiFi enabled...which was very convenient for myself
6) To town - 5 minutes drive only - Convenient
Overall...it was a pleasant stay with Sunflower Hotel. Recommended to all walks of life!
Backpackers & Business travellers - Highly recommended to try out this hotel. They also have homestay units.

Good job,
Business Traveller.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.1 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#60 of 166 in Melaka
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#56 of 166 in Melaka
76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 166 in Melaka
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#38 of 166 in Melaka
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#42 of 166 in Melaka
7 reviews
2.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#37 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Property: Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Address: No 57 Jalan Pj 1, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Malacca 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located at ambient and friendly residence area and not too far away from heritage town. If you are looking for a short trip to explore and experience the true living in Melaka, Malaysia, Sunflower Hotel is the right choice for you. Clean and air-cond room, free wifi, free breakfast, shuttle service, calling taxi, rent a bicycle and basic living needs, you no need to worry when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel And 1 Residence Hotel Malacca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing