We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty boutique hotel, but bad customer service and aircon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenaa De Luxe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty boutique hotel, but bad customer service and aircon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is very nice with antique furnitures and pretty deco, I quite like my room which has a pretty little balcony, and lamp, chairs, curtain that are all pretty. Don't know why I keep feeling that the queen size bed seem smaller than usual queen size, but the softness of mattress is real good and it is comfortable. However, the aircon is noisy and not cooling during day time, we call for technician and being told it is the blower sound which is normal, and the aircon is working with no problem (that's what they said), so we gotta tolerant with the aircon.

We don't really satisfied with their service, firstly they will hold your RM50 for deposit, we understand it is normal but the room access card, they only give you one! We request for one more access card but they said it is hotel policy that each room only provided with one access card, this is totally not acceptable for us as the room is hot as I mentioned earlier, we have to leave the card in room always to keep the room less warm, so everytime we just have to go to the counter and tell them we left our card in the room, and they assist us to open the room with their master card to enter our room everytime, you can imagine how troublesome it is.

The breakfast is average or can be said as lower than average, but nasi lemak with the sambal chili chicken, porridge with corn and carrot are not bad for me, the drinks of grape and orange juice are not fresh juice, totally tasteless, first time ever I would rather go for coffee and tea all the way during breakfast. However, I think the breakfast and lobby area are nice and chillax to have breakfast there and hang around.

Parking space right in front of the hotel is limited, we didn't get to park there even once during the stay, and everytime we gotta pass by to check if there is parking but everytime disappointed and gotta go one big round (as you know Melaka is all with one way road) back to the parking that opposite the hotel, which area that need cross the road from hotel.

Overall, the hotel has its pros and cons, but with the rate of RM128 nett per night comes with nice room and breakfast, we still think it does worth.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and spacious room that far from others, you will be waken up when your neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GetawayL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
17
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The outside look for this hotel was class, but do not get cheated on it. They have very limited parking, i only know they serve the parking base on first come first serve basic when check in, end up i need to park my car on roadside.
The room that i get was messy and not cleaned up, their lobby mention will get housekeeping to clean up and get another room key for me, but at the end i went down to lobby get the room key.
Their buffet breakfast was the worse part ever, simple fried rice, oily fried mee, empty porridge, again porridge with carrot, coffee was tasteless, white bread with kaya and planta(no butter),curry chicken in a small bowl (need to request, very limited, can not get second bowl after you finish).
I am not recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katetan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed on 24th and 25th May 2013 on the 7th floor. Check in and out was a breeze. Room was clean though the housekeeping is nothing to shout about. The tap at the basin is wobbly but the shower is advanced and spend some time figuring out how to use it. No shower curtain which make the bathroom floor wet all the times. Rather noisy between 10pm and midnight as children were running and adults talking loud - some are even drunk - i think it would be all the family rooms are on the 7th floor - otherwise it was a decent good place to stay. The distance to Jonker Walk and other places of interest is far, about 20-25 mins walk, but it is okay for some walking and sight seeing. Yes they need to do something about the vehicle parking as there is lack of such facilities and Singapore cars are too expensive to be parked unguarded. Service is bare but friendly. Breakfast simple but it is a good deal since we paid for S$200 for 2 nights for 5 pax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel facade is decent and the surroundings are clean. Front desk lady when we checked shouldve been more adept to the local attractions and be able to suggest good eating places.

Room 618 - not sure how often they change the covers and blankets but I had to put a bath towel on top of my pillow coz I cant imagine sleeping overnight with an unnaceptably dirty pillow covers. Quilt covers gave us a shock! Its got yellow stains and hair from the previous guests. The shower was average though water stains are very visible and drainage is poor. No shower curtains. Hopefully its only at this room.

We know we can't complain that much for paying an Sgd70 deal but I guess they shouldn't compromise on cleanliness as it's a must no matter how much guests pay.

Morning came and buffet breakfast was served at the lobby, served local hot meals and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themushroomsociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked a standard room for 1 night stay, however the hotel has upgraded us to a family room since the standard room is already full but maintain same price ..we are happy for that! The room is spacious, 2 queen beds with a couch and a leather chair. The interior used in the room is nicely design. The only thing that i dislike is the towel and the tea cup. The towels are old, its like they bought it 2nd from other hotel. and the tea cup is spoilt. Car park is very limited - less than 10 cars can park in front of the hotel. Others things are great. The location is quite distance from town, 3km from city. There is a malay restaurant beside the hotel and chinese restaurants opposite. Overall, we just love the room but location wise, quite far from the city.

Room Tip: family room is spacious.. nicely design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie7808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Been there for a second time, this time I stay here for a friend wedding.

Pros
The room is comfortable
Swift check in
A few channels for you to watch
Amenities is good,for basic usage

Cons
The parking is opposite the hotel but no security guards to guards the space. Live in fear of car being stolen
No appropriate parking space drawn on the ground. All busses n cars parked anywhere they like.
Breakfast is a very simple affair here. U can make them in ur room.
Far from anywhere...u just want to buy some thing you need drive out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristieYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here in early Sept. for a nite as we couldn't get any place near the center of the city. The hotel is decent but its a good option only if u have a car to drive. Otherwise you have to take a taxi to go back and forth from the tourist destinations. The doors are a bit thin. Easily disturbed when people pass by your room.
Only place near is the Old Portuguese Settlement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critterCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.1 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#53 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#44 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Hotel Melaka
Angsana Hotel Melaka
#67 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#41 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#36 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenaa De Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenaa De Luxe Hotel

Property: Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
Address: No. 222 (Lot 639) | Jalan Ujong Pasir, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenaa De Luxe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenaa De Luxe is a boutique hotel with 82 tastefully furnished rooms in the heart of Historical Melaka City, just a short distance from Air Keroh Toll & Alor Gajah Toll.Our hotel is your perfect getaway choice, as it is nestled within a peaceful residential area and backed by the luscious greens of St. John's Hill which provides you with the calm serenity away from the hustle & bustle of city life.To top it all, we are just a stone's throw away from Famous Local Food outlets, Tourists Attractions, Shopping District & Nightlife hotspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arenaa De Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing