We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine no lights in corridor of my floor”
Review of Beuford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beuford Hotel
Ranked #133 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Imagine no lights in corridor of my floor”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here becoz no other hotels were available that nite. As a Muslim traveling during ramadan we need to eat sahur (pre-dawn meal) at 5 a.m. When we tried to go top the lift (elevator) the corridor was in total darkness at 5 a.m. Apparently, in trying to save electricity the hotel saw it fit to shut off the corridor lights on my floor. Imagine what would happen if there was an emergency and I need to get out of the hotel quickly. I had to run in the dark to find the lift.
So I almost missed my meal that morning. The room floors are cement rendered, although it is painted yellow. There was no Qiblat sign in the room; this is strange in Malysia, esp in a 3-star hotel as claimed by the mgmt. If I can help it, I will avoid this hotel in future. Its Budhist statues in the Lobby do not look welcoming to Muslims. Why the need to look like a Budhist temple? Just try to look Neutral and friendly to all persons.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaaug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hants.uk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

THE HOTEL BUSINESS CARD SAYS '' AFFORDABLE LUXURY'' .......IT MOST CERTAINLY IS NOT!!!!!!

The hotel is situated on the eastern side of the city in an unattractive location. It has building sites on two sides (future hotels). On the third is a BUSY MAIN road and this coupled with POOR QUALITY single glazed sliding windows (with gaps) made for the noisiest hotel room we have stayed in. The hotel is near to many busy local restaurants and only 15 minutes walk to a big shopping mall. But the centre of town/Chinatown, where it all happens is at least a 30 minute walk away.

Our bedroom (deluxe King) was small, about 12 sq metres of usable space. The furniture was minimal and basic. The bed linen was good but only a single sheet covered the mattress, so it will not be long before it becomes heavily soiled. The pillow was the CHEAP foam rubber filled type. You could not put anything in the bathroom, not even your toothbrush as there are no shelves. Free toiletries(minimal and very small slither of soap) were left on the bedroom table by the staff. The shower had excellent pressure but turned the bathroom into an enormous pond which took ages to drain away, leaving drainage smells. There is only one room with a jacuzzi. There is NO WI -FI upstairs as the signal does not reach. There is only a small domestic router near the stairs. The bedroom floor and hotel floors and walls are finished with INDUSTRIAL GLOSS PAINT the kind you get in public buildings/toilets and there are no carpets or mats.

BREAKFAST WAS SIMPLY AWFUL. Tea and Coffee stand stewing in jugs on hot plates. There was no fresh milk, only creamer powder. The food consisted of three steel warming trays which are COLD with no heaters under. One contained slices of bread with jam and butter. The second had cold srambled egg and cold sausages. And the third tray had cold fried noodles. The hotel would do better to offer no breakfast at all.

The ground floor FIRE EXIT DOOR was LOCKED SHUT. The stairwell/fire-exit route was covered in litter and waste. THE FINAL FIRE EXIT DOORS WERE PADLOCKED SHUT.

Next to the lobby is a large bar/music room and when it starts up you will hear it throughout the hotel until it stops.

The hotel seems relatively new and clean, but the furnishings are stark except in the lobby where you can get wi-fi.
The two girls at reception are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The hotel has potential and it is a shame it cannot be fulfilled.There has been a lot of short -sighted design decisions There is a lot better value for money and quality all around elsewhere in Melaka.

As i have been so negative, I would be happy to discuss my comments with the owners if they want to e-mail me. I would be pleased to give advice without consultation fee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetwocvsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I am inviting my spouse from foreign to visit M'sia for the
first time. We have reserved a room from them directly 3 weeks in advance.
We were told that we have provided sufficient information and our reservation is
CONFIRMED!

On our early arrival, one of the staff (guy) told us there is no more room.
We showed them our record of reservation, the young man just
ignored it disrespectfully with a smirk. We were then forced to find a hotel
immediately.

Never bring your beloved one to this hotel if you wish to have a room
reserved upon your arrival. I have read some post from the past that gave the same
comment as me. I was shocked that they still practice this in securing their business.

Be aware not be the next victim, have backup hotel, some hotels offer very friendly
service at a cheaper rate and are closer to the attraction spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aup830526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

hi, i was staying there during the recent 1 may labour day...due to the public holiday, all hotel in malacca basically are fully booked but we are lucky enough to book with the beuford hotel and had our 2days 1 nite at malacca. When we first reached the hotel, the receptionist was kind enough to told us to park our car at the back of the hotel in order not to get summon from government as the back car park are belongs to their hotel premises, but still it seems better to get summon than park our car at the back of the hotel.On the next day when we about to collect our car after checkin out, to our surprises , our car's window are broken, the car audio and the valuable things are all gone...to us... is fine as long we are safe..but..when i asked the hotel receptionist abt the camera, they told us that it was being taken down for painting and forget to put it back?oh c'mon...this shouldnt be happen for any hotel...right?my advised dun stay at budget hotel due to the terible security especially for those who drive up to malacca....

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sweetcornnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Location wise, it's very close to the city center where most of the historical sites situated. No comments on the cleanliness as it is barely 3 months old as per the receptionist.

Still, there's really lots more improvement that need to be done.

Room: Nice clean room with LCD-TV and air-conditioned. However, I wish there were extra pillows for us. The air-conditioned was leaking too and it actually wet my clothes that was hung on the hook nailed directly under it. No safety to keep our laptops or our valuables. No mini bar too

Toilet: Lots of space, no bathtub. 1 pack of shampoo and a small bar of soap given for 2 adults which I really do not understand. Wish they could be more generous on it.

Another point that need to be taken in by the owner is there's no Wi-Fi signal even when we were staying in the 1st floor. What a let down on this.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller81_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

OK...where to start???
Reception:
Very disorganised system, not really sure on the process, no card to fill in, makes me feel unsafe on the control of the hotel. Receptionist is smoking in the lobby at the desk, with a LARGE NON smoking sign behind him. Ask for 100Rm in cash for deposit, but no receipt given for this. Hand over a remote for TV and air con, but the TV remote had no batteries.
Lobby:
Terrible smoking smell, yet have signs for NON smoking all over. Toilets are smelly and not looking clean.
Car Parks:
Hotel says free parking, but its only 6 bays in the muddy building site behind the hotel, and if you park in front you get a parking ticket, saw many guests have this issue.
Room (we were 2001)
The nice "spa" bath, is not connected to the hot water, so can only have cold spa. The TV reception does not work, and when you ask the manager they say just happened and the Technician is coming. Well he was coming for 2 days, and when I read other reviews, the TV has been out for weeks, so terrible lying by the manager. The room has no fridge, and the bathroom has open window no privacy. The pillows are the cheap foam ones, very poor for hotel. The free wifi, does not work...again..the technician is coming
Breakfast:
This would have to be the worst joke ever. Some noodles with nothing in, some cold cut frankfurt, and baked bean poured from the can. Thats all....coffee and tea are the poor quality bulk ones, and you have to ask for milk.
Restaurant/Bar:
Does not work, the only people drinking are the staff, wth a clsoed sign on the door.

DO NOT STAY here....there are a LOT of hotel in Melaka, and this one is WAY too expensive for the service and style. It will be more the budget 80-100Rm room rate hotel. Anything more is just not correct.

Feel a bit sorry for the owner, as they are going to lose a LOT of money with staff who do not care, and who actually do not know how to run a hotel at all..!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gigibear
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The hotel is new and clean, rooms and beds are clean. Decor is nice. Its nicer than other 4 stars hotel in Melaka and at a cheaper price. The owners are very friendly. But be careful if you book online because when you go there, they will try to charge you extra tax even if you have paid inclusive of all taxes online. Also the water pipes are a little noisy if your neighbours are using the toilet/shower.
Will go back there again. The basic room is good enough but the room with jacuzzi is fantastic. Good value for money. The thing I liked most about it is that its very clean and new.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
Herald Hotel
Herald Hotel
#81 of 166 in Melaka
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#26 of 166 in Melaka
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angsana Hotel Melaka
Angsana Hotel Melaka
#53 of 166 in Melaka
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wana Riverside Hotel
Wana Riverside Hotel
#107 of 166 in Melaka
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beuford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beuford Hotel

Property: Beuford Hotel
Address: 373 E/F Jalan, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Hotel Class:3 star — Beuford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Beuford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing