We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, comfortable and rustic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money, comfortable and rustic place to stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Jonker boutique is really as described in the other reviews. THe stairways while quaint and rustic may be a little squeezy with large luggage. The fact that there are stairs to climb after a long walk around malacca also makes the stairs a little daunting, so this might really not be suitable for the elderly etc.

Location-wise is perfect, and the staff are really helpful and nice. My girlfriend felt ill at night (after all the delicious food) and the staff provided panadols immediately.

Jonker gets packed on weekends, so driving might not be wise. We walked everywhere we wanted to go (due to its strategic location)

and in all a pleasant stay. The room was really big (there was only the biggest one available) but the karaoke downstairs was really really loud. We kinda expected that but given that my gf fell ill, we were regreting our decision alittle. Nonetheless it kinda died down at 11pm so i guess thats fine..

Value for money, comfortable and rustic place to stay.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    280
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
245
244
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Very nice hotel located cross both main streets in Chinatown (jln
tokong), very easy to find. Arrived from Singapore by bus, would
recommend to take a taxi to city center or take local bus "Melacca Sentral" (~1RM) which will leave you few meters from the hotel.
Room 107 decorated in Japanese zen style, huge comfortable bed, nice
bathroom attached. No breakfast provided. Try Geographer's to have
Kaya (coconut jam) toasted bread for 3RM to start your day.
Only complaining would be about the price which after visiting other
malaysian places we found quite expensive (229RM/night)
Quick tip: Do not plan to stay more than 2 nights in Melacca, 2 days
are enough time for sightseeing!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagmanSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Nothing bad about this hotel. Perfect room, perfect location, perfect hospitality, and everything is just perfect.

Some people may complain the noise along jonker walk but to me the hotel provides you the best location to see and feel the local culture. Our room faces the stage where locals can go up stage to sing. That's another form of entertainment and culture discovery.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to explore and enjoy the local culture. May not be a good hotel for those who want quiet peaceful environment.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epchandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Nothing bad about this hotel. Perfect room, perfect location, perfect hospitality, and everything is just perfect.

Some people may complain the noise along jonker walk but to me the hotel provides you the best location to see and feel the local culture. Our room faces the stage where locals can go up stage to sing. That's another form of entertainment and culture discovery.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to explore and enjoy the local culture. May not be a good hotel for those who want quiet peaceful environment.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epchandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

beautiful place.check in and check out was speedy.rooms were clean,practical and spacious.location a little busy but right smack in jonker madness.halal food a bit difficult to come by but jonker88 restaurant is nearby and excellent.after i called to say that i'm early and whether i could dump our luggage at the hotel first staff called Amy waited for us at the lobby and was very helpful.if u come with a large party,highly suggest the grand deluxe room that cooms with a mega huge bathroom with tub,a small ala cafe table and two double beds.only setbacks were no complimentary brekkie and aircond took a while to cool the room.but theres a cafe downstaira with tolerable toasts to eat.at night theres a karaoke stage right outside and tends to be crowded but after 1030 it should be ok.dfinitely will come again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZihanHassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Jonker Hotel is definitely worth staying in. We had a deluxe room that faced the street and didn't find it noisy and actually enjoyed opening our window to hear the sounds of the town waking up. The only advice I'd offer is to book the rooms on the top floor (although there are no lifts but it is only about 3 floors high) as the wooden floors carry the noise of feet from the above residents. Lovely.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank green_grassMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at the Jonker Boutique for one night in December, What a fantastic stay! They have successfully converted traditional 2 or 3 blocks of shophouses into this little boutique accomodation full of charm and character, and retained the internal courtyard with rooms wrapping around it from above. Staff was warm, helpful and very responsive throughout the booking process. Well done guys!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing