We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good choice for a short stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed just one night whilst we touring Peninsular Malaysia.
Hotel in a great location on Jonker Walk. We had anticipated that road noise might be a problem, but actually Melaka was very, very quiet on a Tuesday night.
The room was quite attractive, with a surprisingly comfortable platform bed and a good bathroom with efficient shower. There isn't a great deal of storage, which wasn't an issue for one night, as we didn't unpack.
We were welcomed with a cool drink and our bags were carried up the stairs to our room for us.
We had paid in advance for breakfast, but this was not available to us as we had to leave at 7am for the next leg of our tour. Reception did suggest where we might get an early breakfast, but did not offer anything in-house. (Tea and coffee is available in the room.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotflop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    280
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
245
244
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Don't even look elsewhere. I had a fantastic experience here. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Stayed over valentine day and they took care of sourcing a local florist for me and had flowers delivered to our room. Gave us drinks when we arrived while we were checking in. Doesn't seem like a big deal but I have never had any hotel do that for me. Now if you are looking for a peaceful retreat it might not be the location for you as it in the heart of the town. But this is the beauty of this place and exactly what we were looking for. If there is any major holiday going on you may find a few hundred people celebrating in the street right under your window as we did. But we loved this. It isn't the cheapest hotel but if you can afford to pay a little more it is worth it here. Room was clean and spacious and comfortable bed. We did have the largest room they had so I cannot comment on the other rooms. Without hesitation I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I didn't really travel all that much, but I have my fair share of hotel stays here and there (mostly at bigger chains). But Jonker Boutique has probably - by far - the best hotel staff ever.

I only booked the hotel for the weekend a few days before my intended stay, and knowing how popular this boutique hotel is, I was a tad worried that it would probably be already full. Nevertheless, I called, and made my reservation subsequently over email when a very nice lady told me over the phone that there are still rooms available, but I'd need to switch room after the first night as the second night is full except for one room left. Thank goodness!

When we reached on Friday evening (with Jonker Street closed and we had to drive into the private carpark from the back road), the back road was unfortunately blocked by a series of floats. It was when I got down from the car to request from help at the hotel, then I was informed that there would be a huge procession going on the next day, and the floats were parked there for preparation. Nevertheless, the male staff (I didn't get his name, sorry!) went out of his way to follow me to our car, guided us through, and even talked to the people handling the floats to get one of the cranes out of the way for our car to go through. It took about 20minutes or so, but we really wouldn't have been able to park at the hotel if not for his help. And throughout the incident, he was still all smiles to everyone. Very nice guy!

When we finally reach the reception of the hotel to check in, he proceeded to tell us where's good place for food, which are the more famous restaurants, which direction should we head for this or that, etc. He also readily answered any queries that we had. I've never met a hotel staff who so readily offered answers and tips and advices.

The next day, we had to switch rooms, and this time the reception was manned by two rather young staff. Both of them were of all smiles again, and the male staff gladly stowed our bags in their holding area and promptly placed them in our new room when it was ready, while we enjoyed taking in the sights and food of Malacca.

Both rooms (one Deluxe and one Premier Deluxe) were very clean, and very big. Deluxe already was rather spacious, but Premier Deluxe went a notch higher with plenty of room between the bed and the TV. I'm sure one could waltz with your partner right there if one wants to. Newspapers were delivered to the room daily. The mini fridge was empty, but cool enough (I've been to hotels where the mini fridge was actually warm). Towels were clean, beddings were clean. There ain't much TV channels, but with Animal Planet, Discovery Channel and Fox Sports, I think one would hardly be bored if for some reason you would be staying in your room instead of venturing outside.

Location is definitely perfect - right smack in the middle of Jonker Street, where the action is on weekend evenings. But that would also mean inconvenience (if you drive and reach only in the evening when road is closed) and definitely a little noisy (the Jonker Walk stage is just right in front of the hotel). Thankfully the onstage karaoke usually ends quite early.

The only two things I would lament about are:-
1) Mosquitoes. I have no idea where they come from since I did not open the windows... but on the first night I was bitten quite badly around 5am. 3 bites on my left arm, and 3 bites on my right. I guess the mozzie must have been pretty hungry, as it was desperate enough to bite even on my finger. I had to drag myself from the bed to slap on some mosquito repellent on my arms. (My legs are thankfully spared as I tend to cocoon myself with the blanket, leaving my arms and head exposed.) The itch subsided after a few hours, but the red bumps are still there as of now. On the second night, I simply just put mosquito repellent again before I go to bed and there's no more bites.

Perhaps the hotel should engage some pest company to fog their rooms every now and then? I remembered reading another TA reviewer about this mozzie issue too.

2) The pillows provided are a tad too low and soft, and there weren't any spare pillows for us to prop our heads up. It probably would be nice of the hotel if they could just provide 4 pillows per room, instead of the guest having to request for it.

However, these two issues are trival enough for me to still stick to my five star rating, as I certainly did not want to write off the staff's fantastic manners and attitude due to these minor issues. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends - but do remember the mosquito repellent if you are a mozzie-magnet like me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rainne_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Probably the best place to stay in Malacca if you want to be in the heart of the action and don't mind a little noise. Helpful, friendly staff and funky, clean rooms. Would be nice if breakfast was included. Large car park behind is very helpful for anyone driving. Not that cheap but you get quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Won't say much as the other reviews here sum it all up. Nice, friendly, independent boutiques hotel. Surprisingly spacious rooms for an older building. Clean modern decor. Helpful smiling staff. I asked them to sort out a taxi to KL which they arranged for RM180, which was RM100 less than quoted by the taxi company I contacted. Driver said "RM200", but that's fine and cheap. Nothing to complain about here and a very good choice in Melaka.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DJSkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed in Jonker Boutique hotel in Feb 2012 and left my face towel behind. I left a message asking them to keep it for me and didn't drop by into hotel till two years later (Feb 2014). To my surprise, they have kept it for two long years. I was very pleased although it was just a face towel. I remembered the hotel provided baby bath tub for my little ones which are hardly available by most hotels. Would like to give my thanks to Ms Amy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracecmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Spent two night at Jonker and enjoyed it thoroughly. Staff were friendly and very helpful. They arranged for a trishaw to show us around city and lent us a cell phone to use. Their recommendations were appreciated and helpful. The room was clean, spacious with a very comfortable bed.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthBay1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing