We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed there for a night. Friendly front desk staff on arrival.
Conveniently located near Jonker Walk.
The room was clean, spacious and wifi was good.
Free private car park provided. Good for those driving there.

However the flight of steep stairs leading to the rooms may pose a problem for old folks.
Map provided by the hotel via email was poor and not very helpful in locating the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tohlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Jonker Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 734 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have stayed there 3 or 4 times and definitely coming back for more! Definitely my first choice accommodation in malacca. Fantastic location and convenient parking which gives me access to my car throughout my stay. Staff always makes me feel welcomed and I love how the staff always greet us by our names, and always ready to assist in any way.
On my last visit, I left a set of keys in the hotel room and the housekeeping staff had returned the keys honestly. A series of e-mails ensued and staff was most helpful (and patient!) in keeping me informed of the progress of getting the key pouch back to me! I know my keys would have been a lost cost if it had happened in any other hotel!

Thanks to the staff of Jonker Boutique hotel who make every stay so pleasant and keep us coming back year after year!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great service right from the start. The reception recommended places to go and provided me with a map of all the attractions the moment I checked in.

The hotel location is at the start of Jonker St so it's a good starting point to explore the attractions Melaka has to offer.

Rooms were clean and all the facilities were provided for a comfortable stay. I loved the parquet flooring which is so clean you could walk barefoot without feeling uncomfortable. However, I did notice a layer of dust on top of the rain shower head, not big deal although I would have given full marks for cleanliness if not for that.

The local newspaper placed outside your door every morning was a nice touch.

All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evant3o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Last time we were in Melaka we chose a large shiny hotel, away from Jonker St. That was a mistake. This time we chose so wisely, staying at Jonker St itself. The hotel was perfect for our needs. Free parking was great. There were 3 of us so we shared a family room with 2 Queen beds. Spacious and very clean. Loved the staff too.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Yvonne and I booked into Jonker Boutique Hotel for eight days following our excellent experience there in 2011. Once more we were not disappointed. This is despite the fact that we are now both about 70 and tire more easily. Service from Jasmine and the team was first class, as we had expected, the room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of space. We did find the stairs heavy going but it was worthwhile for the service, kindness and help we received. We would definitely go again but sadly it is far away from the UK; we just hope we might get the opportunity to return in the future.

As one of the previous reviewers stated, do not be put off by the surroundings. Much work is being done to preserve this historic area.

Our previous visit was at the time of Chinese New Year and we had the best place in town to watch the festivities outside. This year the closure of the Jonkers Street area for the regular weekend market and festivities did mean we had to walk 200 yards to our taxi or car but again we were at the heart of the action. There is now plenty of space for parking and the cafe/bar outside is well appointed for breakfast and meals most of the day. There are dozens of other places to eat, both cheap and more upmarket, within 800 yards.

Malacca is an historic and culturally diverse city and the hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the main attractions. In China Town there are historic temples and mosques, the mausoleums of early princes, shop houses and townhouses all along Heeren and Jonkers Streets including art galleries and the Baba Nonya Heritage Centre.

For that part of the city with a heavy European imprint one has only to walk down Jonkers Street (Jalan Hang Jebat) and across the river. Of particular interest are the Stadthuys, the Formosa Fort, St Paul's Hill, the Porta de Santiago, the Malacca Sultanate Palace, the Islamic Museum and the Maritime Museum. These are all within two minutes walk of the busy Town Square. There are other gems but these you will find yourselves by wandering through the streets.

Away from the centre a little at Bukit Cina is the largest Chinese cemetery outside of mainland China, well worth a visit. Do not forget the river. Take a boat ride and see many of the main features including Kampong Morten, a traditional Malay village.

In Malacca you will find a modern city but also both see and sense the worlds of yesteryear, from the Middle Ages to the end of the European Empires. Jonker Boutique Hotel is an ideal base to visit and experience these places and times, at an economical rate and to feel welcome after returning from a tiring day's exploration.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs do choose first floor rooms as there is no lift/elevator..
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the 1st time that we took a departure from standard large hotels & selected a boutique hotel. We stayed for a night last weekend & it was an excellent decision. The location is fantastic; everything that is special about Melaka is within walking distance. Staff were professional & friendly. Room is clean & comfortable. A private carpark is a plus.

Room Tip: No lifts, so be prepared to lug luggage up the narrow stairways.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VivienAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

highly recommend Jonker Boutique Hotel to anyone who enjoy's great service, fantastic amenties and gorgeous rooms, all this located in the heart of the town. Had a great time, staff were lovely and very friendly. Thank you again and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SPChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,438 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $47 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing