We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the place! There is no elevator, so be prepared for the stairs, but other than that, I would highly recommend this place. The staff were great, helpful and accommodating!

Room Tip: I would recommend a lower floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChadSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    275
    60
    12
    5
See reviews for
239
242
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff were friendly and extremely efficient. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and well equipped. The rooms are tastefully decorated with a touch of the old and new. Location is great - at the archway to Jonkers street so you will never be without good food (refreshing even for Malaysian tastebuds) and interesting shops (antiques galore). The entire ambience of the area is steeped in tradition so you will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndonDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our midweek stay was a very pleasant one, the staff were very helpful, and the room (101) was really nice, big, with a large bed, clean bathroom, and full of original features. We enjoyed our stay. It has to be said that there can be some noise from the room above, but this is down to inconsiderate people, not really the hotels fault, but they will sort the situation out if need be. Melaka is a nice place, vibrant, has some great food options, and everything is in walkable distance. Two days here is enough though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Amy and Kahy were especially helpful and welcoming. There is no elevator, but staff carry your bags up. Kahy walked us down the street to a lunch place he recommended. We were on the second floor in the back and it was quiet. We liked it because it is right in the midst of china town and very convenient. Our plane left at midnight and the hotel was willing to let us stay until 8 pm. for 60% of the rate, which was very nice, so we could shower after a hot day before getting on the plane. We had a problem with the airline and they called the company for us. No breakfast, but great dim sum place on same street. room was very large. tub and shower.

Room Tip: Get one on the back, I'm told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked this hotel through agoda.com. Checked in late evening to this hotel after our Kuala Lumpur trip. Had difficulty looking for parking as there were night market blocking the entrance to the hotel. We were tired after shopping and drive down from KL and what we need is quickly check in and have a nice rest to continue our journey next day.
After check in, we need to climb the narrow and a bit steep staircase to our room. Room has a nice touch and this is the reason we book this hotel. However, was disappointed as there was stain on the bed sheet. This should not happen for the price we paid. It's not a budget hotel and the management should be concern on the cleanliness.
We were tired and when we want to hv a nice sleep, the noise from the karaoke in front of the stage was disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliaasiatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I and my family were extreamly satisfied with your good service which provided to us.We were happy to stay in your hotel and thanks to all the staff.But I personally want to thanks Louis because he is really a helpful guy.My wife were suffering with gastric the night when we checked in,as we knew that along Jonker Walk there will be no farmacy.I contacted Louis and asked him where is the nearest farmacy,but he offered me to help me on this matter. I and my wife were so touch when he said that to us.Around half an hour time, he bought the medicine back to us.What a wonderful service from him.
I surely will recommend all my friends and relatives to stay in your hotel when they visit to Malacca, and for sure I will re-visit your hotel for the next time. =)
I rated all your services as 5 stars.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoystonLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in January Tuesday-Friday so can't comment on the impact of the night market. Good initial impression, all the staff were very helpful and polite. Check in was a breeze greeted with a welcome drink and receptionist gave lots of info about local area, things to see and best places to eat. The carpets on the second floor are damaged and need replacing but at least they were clean. There was a problem with the lock on the room we had booked so we were upgraded for the entire stay without any fuss. The room was huge with the biggest bed I've ever slept in, at times i wasn't sure my wife was still there! Unfortunately the rooms have a major design flaw. In an effort to do something interesting with the ceilings you look up at the beams and the floor boards of the room above. There is no vertical soundproofing whatsoever. This wasn't a problem the first couple of nights, but the final night with a five am start looming for us. What sounded like the Chinese clog dancing team were still practicing in the room above us at 2.30am. In the end i went and complained to the night porter and he rang the room and sorted the problem out immediately. This one fact unfortunately spoils an otherwise great little hotel and needs sorting urgently.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrynLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing