We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheap hotel, in few minutes in centre of Melaka.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldy Hotel China Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aldy Hotel China Town
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel, in few minutes in centre of Melaka.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Hi, we stay here for 4d3n and it was very pleasant time.

The lady at the reception is so helpful - she introduce to us most important 'hot spot/must do' and give us a map of all points. We stay at 2nd floor.

Rooms are ok - dont expect huge rooms, but you find here comf bed, tv, table, kettle and some tea, and a bathroom (its small, but clean. When are you going out and not staying in bed, its absolutely ok.

Near hotel is small shop (like 7/11), restaurant (the one at the hotel was wery expensive on the fact that you are in Malaysia, but very tasty) and road to the centre - by foot cca 15 minutes. Due to neighbouring with reastaurant, there may be a little noise, but they are closing at midnight and its not so much disturbing ;)

If I eill be traveling there in future, I will stay in here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Díša M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The sincere welcoming and eager to help staff at this hotel is refreshing! The location is great, only a 10 minute walk to the UNESCO Heritage buildings and local restaurants.
Booked for 3 nights and stayed 6 nights.
Good comfy bed, large room, and hot water (room is cleaned when you require).
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naiad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Although the room price is good compared to other hotels in the area, we found the room not clean enough and as said before no much things in the room.
The ladies in the reception counter were friendly and helping.
The Wi-Fi was always not working and there is only one PC provided for public use.
The hotel is not in the old city but still adgesent and within walking distance.
In general, for people looking for budget saving Aldy Hotel is very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Damascene_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was there with a group of friends of 7, only one nite over the weekend. because the Main hotel at Jonker Street is fully booked. so decide to take ths alternative choice at Chinatown, but abit too far from jonker street. about 15 mins walk. the Hotel Manager Stella was friendly enough to fetch us from Bus terminal, she even guide us the walking direction of some of the local attraction, nice hotel to stay if you dont mind bit walking. No F & B outlet inside the hotel, no Toothbrush or Shampoo provide, if you are going to stay there, please bring along your own toothbrush and Shampoo, for ladies please carry your own mini hair dryer. No Fridge inside the room. My double is okay for twin sharing, but accordingly to my male friend who are stay int he Family suite find abit too crowded for 5 persons even the rooms is allow for 5 person stay. Maybe for one nite should be okay.

Room Tip: Find someplace which is walking distance along or closed Jonker Street if you are a party animals, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The three ladies on reception were all lovely, good English and very helpful. The room was big, and the beds, although 2 singles pushed together were very comfortable.
Loved the view out of the window into the courtyard of the Chinese Temple which doubled as extra seating for the Chinese restaurant next door.
Well positioned, not quite in the heart of the Old Town but close enough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

..this is my second visit and stay here, we were given a room on the third floor since we were arriving quite late decided to call and let them know and we were assured of our room.

..somehow this place feels just like home,very simple rooms and its budget but worth it....i booked through Agoda for the last room,but i guess they were "fullhouse" after that..i simple love this hotel,madam kings is just nearby and the whole chinatown is walking distance.

..staff are soo efficient and friendly,i didn't know they had installed a water cooler for guests and was hunting around for a jug kettle,the "pakcik" at the reception wasn't sure but he was kind enuff to offer me some boiling water from the cafe downstairs at 1am.I think that was so kind of him to do that,he was so ready to help out.

though hubby,hates this place and prefer a more posh hotel, i will still drag him to stay here on my next visit.The location is just superb and everything is just a walk away.Cars can be parked at Ramada hotel behind as its safer.The hotel can get pretty noisy but who cares,the comfy beds and power shower really make up for it :o)

will keep staying and visiting again and again..thanx for the great service and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, and location wise it is great for exploring lively Melaka! On arriving the receptionist couldn't find our booking and was rather rude, but it was the room that was very disappointing, nice and spacious but very dirty, our sheets had dried blood on and the pillow was brown ( once white ) the bathroom was soaked when we got there and the towels were wet, with a considerable amount of hair in the bath and sink... I think they had forgotten to clean it or change towels from the previous guest!! On the plus side the restaurant underneath the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#107 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#110 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#85 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ming Hotel
#65 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#61 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#49 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel China Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel China Town

Property: Aldy Hotel China Town
Address: 148, Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the strategic location perfectly situated in the heart of Chinatown, hotel guests are provided with easy convenience to the main attractions of the city. A short walk will take them to old charm china town, little India, shopping centre & night market as well as the historical landmarks. The Aldy Thoo Hotel - Chinatown is sure to impress even the most discerning guests traveling to Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aldy Hotel China Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing