We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big room, clean lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldy Hotel China Town

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aldy Hotel China Town
Ranked #77 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Big room, clean lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The three ladies on reception were all lovely, good English and very helpful. The room was big, and the beds, although 2 singles pushed together were very comfortable.
Loved the view out of the window into the courtyard of the Chinese Temple which doubled as extra seating for the Chinese restaurant next door.
Well positioned, not quite in the heart of the Old Town but close enough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

..this is my second visit and stay here, we were given a room on the third floor since we were arriving quite late decided to call and let them know and we were assured of our room.

..somehow this place feels just like home,very simple rooms and its budget but worth it....i booked through Agoda for the last room,but i guess they were "fullhouse" after that..i simple love this hotel,madam kings is just nearby and the whole chinatown is walking distance.

..staff are soo efficient and friendly,i didn't know they had installed a water cooler for guests and was hunting around for a jug kettle,the "pakcik" at the reception wasn't sure but he was kind enuff to offer me some boiling water from the cafe downstairs at 1am.I think that was so kind of him to do that,he was so ready to help out.

though hubby,hates this place and prefer a more posh hotel, i will still drag him to stay here on my next visit.The location is just superb and everything is just a walk away.Cars can be parked at Ramada hotel behind as its safer.The hotel can get pretty noisy but who cares,the comfy beds and power shower really make up for it :o)

will keep staying and visiting again and again..thanx for the great service and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, and location wise it is great for exploring lively Melaka! On arriving the receptionist couldn't find our booking and was rather rude, but it was the room that was very disappointing, nice and spacious but very dirty, our sheets had dried blood on and the pillow was brown ( once white ) the bathroom was soaked when we got there and the towels were wet, with a considerable amount of hair in the bath and sink... I think they had forgotten to clean it or change towels from the previous guest!! On the plus side the restaurant underneath the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stating in this hotel at present. Good decent sized room, clean bathroom, room safe and very good air conditioner. Only problem is wifi does not reach 2nd floor. Hair drier bought up quickly when requested. Found jonker St to only take 10 minutes at most if you don't come up from the heritage end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was staying here back to May 2009 during our reunion. We booked 2 rooms, for 2 nights.
Email response was fast and efficient and very helpful.
The room was ready during check-in. It was very nice room with a small but clean bathroom.
Towels and toiletries all ready and for us
The place was not as bit noisy as the other review suggested but i guess its only during check-out or room-cleaning. More or less it is all because of their staffs are doing some maintenance work.
The hotel was about a few minutes walk to Jonker Street. Parking was outside the hotel building but quite easy and enough space cost us RM5 per entry claimable from the front desk.
Breakfast was good with a range of RM10-RM15 per person.
Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel. Perfect & nice location as well.
Clean, comfy and pleasant stay for a short weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balkidzhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

...This was our last resort to try this hotel.After almost giving up calling some 10 hotels for booking ,decided to give this a last final check and they had rooms available for the weekend.Managed to get a room and checked in on the 14th July by 5pm.

This place can be quite tricky and difficult to find,tho its smack right in Jalan Bungaraya as there is no proper signage,i stopped by at Hotel Mimosa to ask for directions and the lady at the reception told me its just after the traffic lights and i still couldn't locate it while driving.

what i discovered was its at the crossroads at the right hand side,small building quite old looking and only 2 storeys high,behind it is Majestic hotel and Renaissance hotel and Putra specialist centre.The location is quite ideal but Chinatown has lost its glamour for shopping.There is a dinghy looking low budget sleazy rat motel exactly opposite to this place.Madam King's is just a few metres away and apparently had a sale,things were cheap but we had nothing to buy.Ceramic plates at 1/2 dozen were going for RM10,but we have enough to last us a lifetime at home.

Jonker's walk is pretty far by foot and since hubby had hurt his leg a few days back,walking was out of the question as well.Anyhow,checked into this place and was greeted by the receptionist Miss Suhaila,shes indeed the most helpful darling person i have met very cheerful and helpful, i was a bit skeptical bout the room and requested to check the room myself before hubby went in as hes such a fussypot! she assured it will be fine and i still took a peek,we were given 208 on the first floor,no lift but the staircase up wasnt tooo steep.The room was preety neat,recently furbished,tiled floor,good lighting,TV set,the shower was awesome!!! such a blast and the toilet was clean!! the beds were neatly made,sheets were clean.Except the only problem the sheets were too thin and the aircon was too cold even at 28!! so we kept it at 30 and slept thru the night.This place can get pretty noisy at night with the occasional odd traffic which can be heard at the wee hours till 2-4am,but we slept thru all that.

Breakfast as mentioned by other travellers was limited to 3 items only...cornflakes with milk,toast and nasi lemak...and thats it no frills and no thrills! anyhow,we had that and washed it down with coffee and checked out at 12pm sharp.The whole of melaka town was swarming with tourist by then and we decided to drive back home around 1pm after a quick lunch at casa de cafe.

Room Tip: make an advanced booking,and please ask for a room with all the facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel was located in China Town, and it was a 20 minute walk to the town centre. There was a laundromat a 2 minute walk away which opened at 10am and washed our clothes for the same evening at special request. The buffet breakfast was served in an area off reception, and fresh omelettes were prepared on request. It seemed clean but a cockroach was spotted by one of my travel mates on the floor of the breakfast seating area.

There were no lifts so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs. The room was narrow but we had enough space to pull the twin beds apart. The beds had blankets but no undersheet to stop it touching the body – who knows how often the blanket is laundered. I asked for an extra sheet but the manager/receptionist just remained lounging on the sofa and asked me to look for my own sheets on any housekeeping trolley that might be on our corridor (there weren't any). The bathroom was very clean and a good size. Our room faced the main road and it was very noisy from the traffic – bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back as there is too much noise from the road at the front and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#32 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#97 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#84 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
#70 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#109 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel China Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel China Town

Property: Aldy Hotel China Town
Address: 148 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Aldy Hotel China Town 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the strategic location perfectly situated in the heart of Chinatown, hotel guests are provided with easy convenience to the main attractions of the city. A short walk will take them to old charm china town, little India, shopping centre & night market as well as the historical landmarks. The Aldy Thoo Hotel - Chinatown is sure to impress even the most discerning guests traveling to Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Aldy Hotel China Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing