We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Wonder”
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #19 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Weekend Wonder”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had to get away from KL and it was the end of Ramadam weekend when everyone is away but Chris at Cyclamen had a vacancy and we had a wonderful time. Malacca was en fete with great street celebrations and a real party mood. The room we had in the cottage just across the road was beautiful and full of 30's period furniture &decor , close to my heart. Clean, relaxed and very friendly. The highlight was accompanying Chris and a few guests to an open house to celebrate Hari Raya the Malaysian & Chinese New Year and end of Ramadam. We visited a some families and were feed wonderful food as the whole neighbourhood was engaged in doing the same. Great breakfast and Chris & his wife are great gardeners so their breakfast room is a delight. We've been travelling for 6 months - this was up there with the best!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We love vintage buildings and this complex of former army officer cottages has been lovingly restored and decorated by owners Chris and Cindy, who are extremely gracious and caring hosts. They even helped us arrange transport when we were inadvertently stymied by public holiday traffic.

The garden environment was extremely pleasant and relaxing, especially nice for breakfast. The vintage furnishings and decor are extremely well done. Overall the historic atmosphere was great!

The individual rooms are well appointed and comfortable (well, I didn't like the pillows, but they're a common type in that part of Asia, so can't really complain) and open into a common area that was also comfortable and easy to use. We encountered fellow guests of various nationalities and ages, including extended families with small children (ethnic Chinese from Singapore and PRC), and enjoyed the chance to get acquainted with them and swap travel tales, too.

We found the distance to the center of town (nearly 3 kilometers) to be a bit daunting, so we rented bikes in town and used them to get around as well as back and forth between the hotel and town. Perhaps Chris and Cindy should contemplate having a small fleet of rental bikes available for guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banda-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stay at Garden wing cottage and occupy 6 rooms in the cottage. Interesting finds of antique furniture in every room with varying styles but all pointing to the traditional Peranakan culture. Sleep on the high queen-sized bed for added thrill. Big spacious common areas for interaction. Good place to stay with big groups of people. Love playing with the outdated typewriter and guessing the use of different decors! Nice!

Only con is its distance from shopping area and Jonker Street which is a little farther.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JorinGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A nice place to be with a warm environment and great hospitality. You wouldn't get to see antique furnitures everyday. This place is nearby to both jonker street and pantai klebang. Breakfast can be prepared upon request. However, please be prepared for mosquitos. Besides that, its a nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PravinKumarKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Furniture from my grandparents' era, down to the vacuum flask with the cork stopper and the aluminium enamel tray it sits on. The giveaway is the plasma that is bolted to the wall. Beautifully landscaped and has good service. Along with old school living, the mosquitos came with the package... I was bitten in around 8 spots over breakfast.
Location is great as it is near the beach to the north and close enough to the city with a short and pleasant drive.

Room Tip: Ask for those without mozzies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony12cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stay at the place for 1night in a group of 14pp in the new building in Mar.Rooms are clean though not very big. But the triple room is spacious with 1 queen and 1 sgl bed.Breakfast is simple with bread,susages,kaya,some nonya kueh and scrambled eggs.

It will be good if you have own transport.If not,it will be pretty far to Jonker walk and shopping centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolbreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at Cyclamen cottages with some friends who brought me here from Kuala Lumpur to explore the Peranakan Chinese culture of the area. Chris and CIndy have restored these cottages (and are expanding in the vicinity) to older Malaysian style. The room was wonderfully air conditioned, and the whole atmosphere was really cozy and homey. I truly enjoyed the two night stay which we had at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaCosmopolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 166 in Melaka
484 reviews
2.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#60 of 166 in Melaka
130 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#28 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Property: Cyclamen Cottage
Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing