We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm!”
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #18 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Staff were so helpful and friendly, taking us into town to orient us to the highlights. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the antiques around the place gave a lovely charm. We stayed in a kind of annexe which had a lovely indoor/outdoor pool. Breakfast included in the lovely garden. It is a little way out of the hustle and bustle of Melaka - easy to get back from Melaka to the hotel, but not always from the hotel elsewhere!

Room Tip: some noisy dogs in the muslim neighbourhood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiscesTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Not the usual "hotel feel". Feel at home with friendly owner who will make breakfast for you. Good location - quiet - away from town and traffic. Very clean room and greenery. You can get very good sleep. Just take 10 min drive using the coastal way to reach Jonkar Walk and for shopping. Near to klebang beach + famous Klebang coconut milk shake + evening sunset by the beach + seafood dinner.

Room Tip: Stay 2nd floor - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardScissor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am looking for cottage to stay instead of Hotel in Malacca which i found cottage is more friendly and feels like a home. Before this trip, i actually staying in another cottage but unfortunately, this time is a bit too rush and it is fully booked.

I get some time to search this cottage and i considered between Cyclamen and others budget hotel which is a bit cheaper. However, at the end i decided to stay into this cottage and I AM NOT REGRET AT ALL. It will definitely my first choice if i need to visit malacca again. It is very comfortable and clean with a lot of antique decoration. If you like traditions taste and homestay idea, it will be ideal for you to stay here.

I would say backpacker will like this place but due to their location is quite far from main street, therefore if you has no car, you need to pay more for transportation. Previously i saw some comment about their breakfast services is worse but for me is just enough. Never compare their home cook with stars hotel, limited selection is for sure but is nice and enough for your morning refreshment.

Very small matter i faced is Cyclamen is just straight after the main street corner. If some of "noisy turbo car" or motorbike is speeding, it might disturbed your sleeping mood. You will never afraid you couldn't wake up in the morning, the Muslim Mosque is just nearby and their morning praying will somehow wake you up (it is not a big deal, if you enjoyed the Malaysian local culture).

Room Tip: Their upstairs floor is made by wood, i think ground floor is better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloechng90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute booking as we usually stay in Holiday Inn or Equatorial hotel and they are all fully booked.
I wish to thank the contributors here, if not for them I wouldn't have found such a fantastic place to stay.
I am very particular abt cleanliness and I must say that they deserve 5* . They have done a better job than the 5* hotels in Malacca.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabitinocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cyclamen Cottage is another hidden gem I found recently. I am comparing it with all the hotels or guest house I have stayed before around the world.

A good lodging should be a place to enrich your experience with the local culture or even give you some inspiration with different kind of life style. The hotel should be designed and set up with unique character that make it stand out from others. Cyclamen Cottage has all these to classify as a hidden gem. Everybody come to Melaka tend to select the hotel around Jonker Street or around the big mall and not realizing there are other decent choice like Cyclamen Cottage which is in a quieter and peaceful setting. And, everyone who choose to stay here seem to be knowing what is life about including Chris and Cindy, the owner.

Don't be scare off by the distance from Melaka town. It is 3km from Jonker Walk. To walk, it is about 15 to 20 minutes and to drive it is less than 5 minutes. The direction is easy too. Once you found Jalan Tan Cheng Lock (a famous old street in old town next to Jonker Street), you just go straight to Jalan Tengkera and Jalan Limbongan until you see Formosa Garden View Hotel at your left. Cyclamen Cottage is just at the small lane at your right. A little bit of distance but what you get is the peaceful atmosphere you cannot get in the city centre. For people who drive, you can park your car in the garden so you can sleep without worrying about your car. Most of the Peranakan old house in old town do not has car park so this is another plus point of Cyclamen Cottage.

The 2 houses itself are unique because there are colonial architectural style building that built on 1930 and mixed with some Peranakan style. Chris and Cindy are very good and helpful owner who has a lot of tips especially about where to eat and also their knowledge about Peranakan culture. There is a nice Peranakan museum set up by Chris in a old Peranakan house just located right opposite Cyclamen Cottage. Personally I felt this unpretentious museum is better than the one at Jalan Tan Cheng Lock and the house is still kept in the original form even the layout of the furniture left by the previous Peranakan owner.

I am great I choose Cyclamen Cottage as the place to stay in Melaka for my 3 days 2 night trip (I stayed Cyclamen Cottage for one night and I choose the other one near to Jonker Street with slightly higher price for the other night and I prefer Cyclamen Cottage more). It really given me a different perspective of Melaka, the old house and Peranakan culture.

For more photos and stories about Cyclamen Cottage, you can view my personal travel blog at -

http://cracklewhite.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/cyclamen-cottage-in-melaka/

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChongHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from a self drive 3D2N stay in this lovely accommodation.
My booking with this accommodation was a last minute booking as my family decided to embark for a short getaway over the long weekend. Manage to secure 2 rooms for my family as most good accommodations were fully booked over this long weekend.
From the online booking, check-in, stay & check-out - they were professional and provided a personal touch to the entire experience.
Though the place might be slightly difficult to find, but try to follow the map and directions provided by the owner, you will be able to find it soon. Just look out for Farmosa Garden Hotel and the tyre shop they mentioned.
This accommodation reside in a neighbourhood lined with landed properties. Nonetheless, the rear of the new wing is a school. Thus, during weekdays, the noise from the school could be significant. The other 'disturbance' is the barking of dogs around the place as many of the household keep dogs, thus any stranger or stray dog pass by will draw the doggies barking. The other part is the close vicinity to the call for prayers, which can be quite loud to some guests.
As for the actual accommodation, the place is clean, well maintained, filled with traditional furnitures & finishings that simply provide a guest an experience of a traditional Peranakan aka Nonya household. Malacca has a strong heritage of Peranakan, and if that's what you want to experience, this place is sure to provide it, especially the old wing.
The staff are friendly, helpful yet not intrusive. Cindy is slightly reserved, but her hubby is definitely a great help. Even their teenage son helps out to run the place.
This accommodation is about 10mins drive to Malacca Central; advisable to drive than to walk to central, Jonker Walk. Its adequately distance away from the central so that you can enjoy the serenity of the surrounding and culture embedded in the accommodation. Its living hall, kitchen, and garden allow reading, lazing, chatting in a cosy environment. Not to forget, there's even a pool in the kitchen area of the new wing with natural light glazing into the kitchen/lazing area.
Would definitely stay in this place again for its serenity, culture, friendly staff and no frill accommodation at reasonable price.
One truly annoying part is the electromagnetic glass door at the new building that is loose, that causes loud banging sound when the door is magnetise to lock. Hope the owner can improve on it as it really disturb guest at the room directly beside the glass door.

Room Tip: If you truly want to soak in Peranakan culture, stay in old wing (its even a double storey building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucIfer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place considering the fact that I had very little expectation in view that it is old bungalow where the operator turned it into an 7 rooms with attached bathroom cosy place, with basic cooking facilities. Big compound outside where kids enjoyed playing football within secured fencing. The service was good too. The only complaints were the limited selection of breakfast and the yellow color bed sheet..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamGoh160872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,235 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
2.3 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 222 in Melaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $28 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing