We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time....”
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #18 of 212 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Step back in time....”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My family and I spend four days last month at the Cyclamen cottage which provided a very pleasant stay in a colonial guest house, that still retains many original features and furnishings from days gone by. The owners are very hospitable and accommodating to their guests, with Chris providing a fascinating presentation of his personal collection of antique furniture and silverware. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped and provided excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The placve was spacious, clean and well maintained. Choose the Garden Wing if you have family and want your privacy. There are enough spaces to lounge around and the location is not far from eating places. Breakfast was simple and enough for all.

Room Tip: Choose the Garden wing if you are with your family. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for one night at Cyclamen at a Superior Room in the Main Wing in Dec 2011. The hosts are friendly and nice. The property is clean and well maintained.
We had 3 adults and as there was no Triple Room available, we requested an extra matress in a Superior Room. For 2 adults, a Superior Room is good enough, but for 3, it was cramped. Suggest taking up the Triple rooms if you have a child/3rd adult.

Breakfast was bad and inadequate. The helpers need a bit more passion - they refused to cook more sausages after it ran out - when they had loads of sausages stored in the freezer. That was really disappointing - and it clearly was because they were not willing to. Though the breakfast is supposed to be until 10AM, they start to wrap up way earlier - despite the fact that people may still be at the tables.

Overall Verdict - Value for money.

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are bigger and the property is newer and better. Carry your own bread and sausages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed there for 3 days 2 nights over the weekend. heard good reviews about it and were looking forward to it. We did not stay in the main building but in the new garden wing that just opened a month ago. first impressions of the place was good. loved the furniture and the interior design of the house.

however what we found extremely lacking was the breakfast. the tea was diluted and the coffee sour. We even saw the milk being diluted with water. She even refused to cut more papaya when it was finished. it was this aspect that spoilt our stay. The only nice part was the kueh. those were good.

I got to say that chris the owner is very friendly and nice. he even gave us some of his herbs to take home.

Conclusion: if you are thinking of staying at cyclamen cottage, you would be better off requesting to stay at the main building as chris is in charge there. Wendy is in charge of the garden wing and she does not seem to be doing as good a job as chris.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riallesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here in a group of friends in October 2011 and found it to be fairly good accomodation for a good price.

The people who owne the guesthouse are lovely - and do go out of their way to ensure you have a good time with them.

Good points: clean rooms and bathroom, all in one shower/bathroom OK, good shower pressure, great breakfast - and good service, very informative about what exactly you are being served, helpful calling taxis etc, 3 person room has 3 proper beds as opposed to two beds and a camp bed.

The main negative would be the location (which is something that the owners obviously can't help) - although it is easy to get into town, it does become a bit of hassle going back and forth at least in my opinion. I think it would be better to stay in the centre if only coming for a weekend to maximise sightseeing, if staying for longer or as part of a extended trip I think staying at the Cyclamen Cottage may be preferable due to warm and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: One of the downstairs bedrooms just has an internal window which leads into the dining room - it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibbybobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Cyclamen Cottage is a good choice especially for those of you who r driving. It's about 5min drive away from the main attractions of Malacca, but super near to the famous Baba Charlie Nonya Kueh place. I had a pleasant stay there for 2nights, enjoying the spacious room, as well as the cosy cafe where we had free access to. An additional perk is the free Wifi. On a little note, as I was staying on the 2nd level near the courtyard, the noise from people gathering at the courtyard could be quite loud. I dun blame Cyclamen though, but would appreciate fellow guests to be more aware of their noise level especially in the morning.. the noise from a generator/pipe could also be something u like to consider if u are a light sleeper. Otherwise, its a good and budget friendly stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-geok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Cyclamen Cottage is an old colonial building renovated into a small a charming hotel. It is situated half an hours walk outside the centre of Melaka and a few minutes drive. However, the extremely friendly and helpful owner often drove us for free and showed us around town telling us about the buildings and its history.

Breakfast is included in the stay and it is delicious with a nice mix of local and western food.

The room has TV, WIFI seems to work fine, the rooms are cleaned every day, staff is friendly and helpful. When having breakfast they often carried our baby allowing us to eat. They have some kids games and a lawn that is good for playing.

Some extra benefits from staying here are the two excellent foodcourts just around the corner, one is called Limbongan. The other and slightly better one, is right next to the football pitch you pass when heading towards town. Talking about football, a group of locals play here every day 18.30 and it seems as anyone can join, at least I did so three days in a row and that was no problem at all.

So choose this place for its atmosphere, GREAT service, good local food, and join a football match...


The only two drawbacks to this place is the fact that there are quite a few mosquitoes around and that it is situated slightly out of town.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent as the mosquitoes are enjoying life in the garden and in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuslingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#31 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
#18 of 166 in Melaka
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Property: Cyclamen Cottage
Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing