We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Deluxe Family Room!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of CK Hotel

CK Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CK Hotel
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid the Deluxe Family Room!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the second time i stayed in this hotel, since I am a family of 4 so i decided to take the deluxe family room which has 2 queen size beds. This was the biggest mistake i made as this room faced the main road (jalan munshi abdullah) , and it was a Saturday night so there are a few group of crazy motorcycle riders are racing at that road from 12 am until 3 am!! The noise was so loud until my whole family cannot sleep! It was a long and tortured night for us. I went down to complain to the staff, he told me that was "normal" and nothing much he can do, the hotel folk should have told me about those crazy riders when i checked in so at least i can go to another hotel ! Second day, we checked out immediately and I swear I won't be back to this hotel again although the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms facing the main road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alphaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We intended to just have a decent place with carpark facilities and this place is just about that.
Rooms: are smallish and not much bigger than those of Tune Hotel! I think its just 90-100 sq feet! This is quite shocking bcos the photos at TA looks better. Bed is comfy and mostly work well, and maybe because its pretty new. Do note this is a smoking lodge (common for most small hotels in Malaysia) and room has faint smell of smoke but quickly go away with the new aircons.
We had 2 rooms, one with windows which prove to be noisy as the hotel is facing the main road. Choose those w/o windows if you are light sleeper.

Location:its relatively good, just about 800m walk to Jonker street and prominent tourist spots. We were late (less than a week) when we decided for melaka, hence the limited choice. Take a town map in this hotel with you to familiarise with melaka, but mostly this is a small town despite its UNESCO heritage standing.

Do note Meleka hotels/lodging supply and variety is defintely lesser than say KL and tends to be crowded out during public hols. Book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnmagfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl, malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Not to deny, the cleanliness of this hotel may be due to it's new status (they just operate for a year). The hotel are clean but i can say the price are a bit pricey compare to other budget hotel. The staff start from the receptionist back to the housekeeping lady / guy are very helpful. There were 5 of us and because of the last minutes arrangement for the holiday during peak season, we can only have 1 room but the uncle was very understanding. Some budget hotel will charge additonal for the 4th or 5th person. We order additonal bed for RM20.

+van : centre of the town.
: new hotel, so cleanliness guaranted.
: for family travellers, best if you get the super deluxe room at the top floor, room are
spacious with huge verandah.

-van : no elavator

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alinkhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The room is clean and also the bathroom but small. However, CK Hotel is a good budget accommodation. The hotel offers Wifi, selective ASTRO tv program, Coffee-Tea Facility and also CCTV. The CCTV makes us feel safe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tiffany_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serdang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My family and I decided to stay here because this hotel was still new and we didn't want to break the bank just for an overnight stay in Melaka. We were given a room on the ground floor, near the stairs, and behind the reception.

The room was really small, had no windows, and a small bathroom (which had a small window). The room and bathroom were clean, but we saw two large roaches in our room during our one night stay. I think the roaches came from the bathroom drain. The bathroom was also very small and had no shower room, so it was inevitable to drench the entire bathroom whenever we bathed.

The other problems were the noise and smell of cigarettes. Because this hotel is more on the budget side, it does attract a certain kind of crowd with less than desirable habits. They are loud, and they smoke like a chimney. So, our room had this smell of cigarettes (which came from outside our room) for the entire time we were in there.

For foreigners, the other problem is the hotel staff can barely speak a word of English, so you may have to use a local tour agency to book the hotel for you.

Bottom line: Avoid.

Chris

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbsteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
865 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,083 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This a new hotel located in the centre of Malacca, within walking distance on the old town and hundreds of shops and restaurants.

At the time of our visit, the hotel had only been open for a little over one month, so everything is still very clean and shiny. Our standard room was small but very well designed so it didn't feel pokey. It came equipped with an LCD TV, tea and coffee making facilities as well as AC and hot water. The only problem was the water pressure in the shower seemed a little weak.

We had spent the previous night in the Discovery Cafe and Hostel, where we had paid RM 50.00 for a dirty, bare room. So at RM 78.00 the CK hotel felt like a Christmas present.

Overall, the CK hotel is fantastic value and would make a great choice for any traveller visting Melaka.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Aldy Hotel China Town
Aldy Hotel China Town
#74 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ming Hotel
#67 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#22 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#36 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#89 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#51 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CK Hotel

Property: CK Hotel
Address: 83 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your CK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing