We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good cheap satay”
Review of Ban Lee Siang

Ban Lee Siang
Ranked #55 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good cheap satay”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It was recommended by a friend to me. I really like their satay celup as you can't find it everywhere. In general it was a good experience and worth eating there.

We had 24 pieces and 2 drinks for 22 RM.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeraEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    66
    44
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“this is restaurant food??”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the second time I tried satay celup.. and I was reminded why I didn't like it the first time 10 years ago (at Capitol then)..

The ingredients are mainly processed meat/fish pieces skewered.. the taste of blended peanuts and pineapple is overpowering, the place is hot and sticky.. Just not to my taste..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dogtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
672 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“alternative satay celup choice...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

When it comes to satay celup everyone says head to Capitol but I can't bear waiting in line for hours. No food is that great. So usually I find alternatives. This is one of them. Decent sauce and choices. Price is generally the same all around.

There are 2 shops with the same name side by side. Not sure what their story is but both similar sauce and options. The one on the left is generally busier. Both are clean with good speedy service.

If you are hankering for some satay celup and don't want to wait in line do give this place a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's not bad but it's not super good either. The boiling sauce was alright, but the seafood was not all fresh. The processed meats like fishballs and all are ok but fresh seafood could be better.
At least we didn't have to queue miles long like at Capitol.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karynn-YH-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recommended by Hotel Hong. Put away your inhibitions and try something different. Satay fondue without really knowing what you are cooking. Staff had limited English and tried to help with what was in the fridge, but after a few sticks you don't really care as long as it tastes good.
Worth the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank souchyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Lee Siang also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Ban Lee Siang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing