We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“BEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL I HAD STAYED IN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“BEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL I HAD STAYED IN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The conservation hotel was located smack right in the middle of the old town that is full of character. The location was excellent and all the sights are within walking distance. The hotel was tastefully done with modern amenities while preserving its old charm. A lot of planning must have gone into its restoration and conservation.
The best part of any boutique hotel must be it personal service and quiet charm. And to this end the hotel was par excellence. The front desk is where you get to meet the very knowledgeable staff with always a friendly smile. All their recommendations for food were checked out to be excellent choices. Even the chef was most entertaining and recipes were given when queries were made about the local Peranakan food.
If you are lucky enough, you may also meet the charming owners of the hotel.
By the way we booked 4 rooms and all have very different designs and layouts with unique feature walls. It was the most enjoyable boutique hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    293
    81
    13
    8
See reviews for
236
466
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Courtyard @ Heeren is in the very best location and the staff make sure each traveller is guided towards all Melaka has to offer. Outstanding service was provided by all staff, including the wonderful Alvin, the chef. Alvin understands the needs of vegetarian travellers and prepared an exquisite vegetarian breakfast every morning of our stay. This is the best place in Melaka for vegetarians to stay and enjoy a substantial, filling and beautifully prepared breakfast. Well done Alvin, Amar and Edmund and thanks for the last night Edmund.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

we stay 3days,
1,Room
Because the hotel is old,have moldy smell in the room,
but renovating very nice!
2,Service
Wonderful service!!We stayed Chinese New year,
number of taxi is not so many but the hotel prepare for us hotel car!
we went to Supermarket in which we can't find taxi! we called the hotel ,
the hotel clark was very kind to coming the supermarket and piked up us at 10pm.
3,Place
convenient to sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in August 2010, and we loved it. We stayed for 2 nights, but left wishing it was longer. We stayed in room G2, which is on the ground floor, and while the room is a little small, as you’d expect, it was beautiful and comfortable, with a lovely shower! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is beautiful. It’s also just about perfectly positioned.

If I had to say anything negative it’s that we had noisy, inconsiderate guests returning late on one night, and since the rooms aren’t soundproofed, the sound travelled clearly into our room, so if you’re a light sleeper then you’d need to keep that in mind as a possibility.

We enjoyed the breakfast upstairs, but the hot food can get cold quite quickly, but it was still a great way to start the day.

Overall, we loved the hotel and thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melrick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The level of service provided by this lovely boutique hotel is truly outstanding. My young son was struck with gastroentiritis after consuming food from an external venue during our stay at the hotel. The asistance the hotel staff provided with not only driving us to a medical clinic, but actually assisting with securing a fast tracked appointment at the clinic, coming along to the consult with the Dr in case of language issues and even offering to carry my 8 year old son up the stairs back to our room as he was too weak to walk - were absolutely beyond standard expectations. We even received an sms after we departed Melacca from Edmund to check whether my son was ok. Thank You Edmund, for your truly incredible, 'beyond the call of duty' service - we really appreciated it and have been recommending this hotel to friends back in Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_choi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

been there somewhere in june last year, the hotel rooms are unique and clean. staff are friendly. durin the last day of our stay, we nearly missed our bus back to kl, 30 minutes before our bus, we still can't get a taxi due to the TERRIFIC JAM in melacca, we started to get worried. the hotel owner also did help us to call for taxi, after 15 minutes, the hotel owner told us that he will drive us to the bus station HIMSELF! we felt grateful and we offered to pay him 30 bucks but he refused and DID NOT TAKE IT! thankyou thankyou thankyou!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch00sy_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

You will love the character of this boutique hotel, in one of those old baba nyonya houses of the chinese district - but newly refurbished with style. Our bedroom (junior suite) was spatious, nice and confortable. But it is located close to the backyard exit - loud guest and suitcases going to and fro at night or early morning will disturb your sleep.
The rest of the hotel is beautiful with a mix of old and stylish pieces of furniture. If you want to avoid the big standard international hotels, then the Courtyard @ Heeren is your choice. Friendly staff.
Breakfast is ok, a small (you are in a boutique hotel) buffet.
WiFi available in public areas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing