We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff compliment the beautiful hotel...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely staff compliment the beautiful hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed for two nights and i booked my mother the Junior Suite....stunning! We had a family room which had an extra bed...stunning too.
Many positives about this place and only negative is wi fi only available in reception and not in rooms....other than that....stunning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    319
    98
    15
    9
See reviews for
267
512
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Went with my husband and in-laws and stayed for three nights.

One of our two Standard rooms were upgraded to Superior when we checked in (Yay, to travels in low season)...and WOW, that is a huge difference! While the Standard room was spotless and still pretty, it was more modern than we expected and only had touches of the gorgeous heritage shophouse building, e.g. slatted windows exposed to inner courtyards. But the Superiour room was amazing: carved wooden screens, antique mirrors and benches. We really got a sense of grraceful old-time shophouse living...

Anyways, great location in Chinatown, great non-fussy staff, great rooms,..what more do you want?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

This is our second time staying at this hotel. Both times we were made to feel like we were really welcomed and as valued guests. The first time we stayed at a superior room and the second time in a deluxe room. Both times the rooms were comfortable and clean. We like the beddings especially. We think that the pillows and mattress were the best! However, be warned that there are no wardrobe available and that the bathroom has no lock.

The spread for the breakfast was good, with both asian and western food item available. The staff were quick to respond to our requests. The reception staff were helpful in answering to our enquiries and also to recommend food to us.

The hotel location is really good, just a street away from Jonker Street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumndew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed in the Superior double on the ground floor. The room was larger than expected, no drainage problem and relatively quiet. There are windows that open out to the courtyard, but we had to give up a little privacy so we had it closed, mostly.

Great location. Super friendly staff and very accommodating too (we got early check-in and late check-out). Breakfast was really good (yummy nasi lemak and teochew porridge!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiaolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Just had a stay at The Heeren Courtyard and when i reached the hotel, the valet was nice enough to guide me to the parking lot at the back of the hotel and while getting there, he mentioned all the good places around to eat around Jonker Street. The hotel is gorgeous, well the lobby was gorgeous in all honesty, all the intricacies of the building was well kept, but however when we got to the rooms, it seemed so modern that the classic look that we were looking forward to staying in was hardly in sight, so you can say that we were slightly disappointed. Breakfast was a very basic affair but there were alot of eating areas around the hotel though, so we skipped brekkie in the hotel and headed out instead. The location was simply excellent! Bar none! Nancy's kitchen was barely a minute away, jonker street was an extra minute away from the hotel and everything was within 5 mins away literally. The rooms were a tad small, though we were putting up in a family room that was meant for 3 though there was just the 2 of us, they ran out of superior and deluxe rooms, the rooms was nice and modern, though we were hoping for something more traditional, and in that sense, we were a little disappointed. In addition, the walls of the rooms were pretty thin and you could hear ppl walking by our room very clearly and in the middle of the night or early morning, you could hear the pipes going off because of residents in other rooms taking a shower and it does make quite a din.

Overall, we enjoyed the accomodation and our holiday, though it could be better. For the price we paid, it was good enough for us, wasnt overwhelmed, though The Majestic Hotel was way better but then again it cost 2.5 times more too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Courtyard @ Heeren is an absolute gem. The location is great - in the heart of China Town (my favourite part of Malacca) and only a five minute walk to the main square. As the name suggests, the rooms surround a beautiful, small courtyard with a charming water feature and antique furniture. The room itself is wonderfully decorated - a huge bed, a flat screen TV and probably the best shower I've ever used. The staff are helpful and the breakfasts delicious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12BlueLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and his parents stayed there for one night. The parents had a family room which for the purpose was nice although the bedroom had no window but for one night it was OK. There was light coming in from the bathroom. We stayed in the suite and found that although the room was very comfortable the bathroom was quite literally a wet room as said in earlier posts there is a problem with the drainage. So it's not at all nice to be walking around in your "dirty bath water" after having a shower and this also brought to the fore other peoples hair!

On a positive note I must say that the staff in the hotel were really good and very, very helpful. The breakfast the following day was also very good with no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing