We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed here for a night when travelling in Melaka. The hotel is just a few steps from Jonker Street, where you can find bars, restaurants, and a night market which opens over the weekend. And it's not too far to walk to the famous monuments and tourist attractions. My friend and I got a clean and bright room on the ground floor, they keep the traditional Chinese decor in the hotel but still maintains a cozy feeling to the guests.

The complimentary breakfast is satisfactory. But what my friend and I credited most was the service from their friendly staff, they are helpful and always ready to answer your questions. This place is definitely a must-return hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

I chose this hotel because of the rating here, and we were not disappointed.
Very oriental hotel but superb design that capture natural light well into the hotel, thus you dun have the "haunted feel". Location is very good, walking distance to attractions and night market. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple and basic, but fresh and tasty, even the coffee was great (unlike most of the hotel provide McD-like coffee in their bfast). Our room was quiet. Bathroom was spacious, particularly love the rain shower. They have parking lot at the back of their hotel.
However,
1. Drainage from sink was too slow due to the stopper couldn't be open wide enough. As such, there are some residual (very little) left in the sink from the previous tenant.
2. Water filling up the WC tank was too slow.
3. If you travel with old parent, pls opt for room at ground floor as there was no lift.
4. Open bathroom concept- would be better if bathroom has a ventilation fan to avoid the awkward smell flowing into the room.
5. Some dust at the corner of the bathroom.

The above was not that critical thus I still give excellent rating.
We stayed at the Deluxe Family Room which consists of a queen-sized bed and a single bed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Brand new hotel with very nice rooms; tasty and with very modern bathrooms. Nice service too. A very good place to stay in Melaka. Just a couple of thiks may be improved: they have LCD TV on the rooms, but the only international chain you cat get is CNN (altough you arn't there to see the TV...); no Wifi available, anb the breakfast is just OK (Continental one: they can do better in this nice hotel).
However, I will absolutely recommed it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedeboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We were welcomed at the front door, offered refreshment while we booked in and then had our bags carried to our room. The Junior Suite was a lovely space - clean, cool and comfortable. The Hotel has been lovingly restored, with a modern feel without losing the charm of it's heritage. As a location it is ideal. We walked every day to see sights, museums etc and for fabulous food. Malacca is a place rich in history and it is all at the doorstep of Courtyard@Heeren. There were comments about noise, but we were in a suite at the back and it was quiet and peacful. The staff & owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful - from which restaurant right through to driving us to the Bus Station at the end of our stay. Breakfast was basic but pleasant, with a small sampling of Asian dishes on offer.... but really, what more do you want when the local food takes up the rest of your day! A fabulous place that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzLizBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

A lovely lovely boutique hotel run with the efficiency of a top-notch hotel and the warmth of a family-run B&B. Traditional Peranakan culture blends effortlessly into the modern architecture which has been employed to allow natural light to flow into what was typically once a long, narrow and dark shophouse.
Location could not have been more ideal; service is world-class. What made it so special is that the service is so warm and sincere, coming from the soul of a family who genuinely wish for you to enjoy your stay in charming Malacca.
When drainage was a little slow, immediate help was available. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
After we had checked out, we discovered that our car battery was out flat. Mr Tye Jr left the reception counter which he was manning and made several attempts to jump-start our car, failing which he called in a local mechanic with a replacement, tried to bargain the price down for us, and when we confessed that we had no more local currency, paid for us out of his pocket (not knowing if he was ever going to get it back).
While awaiting the mechanic’s arrival, we were ushered to wait in the hotel lobby out of the scorching sun, and icy cold drinks were served on the house. When I expressed an interest in the wall hangings and artifacts which adorned the hotel, Mr Tye Snr showed me a beautiful book and entertained us with informative knowledge on a subject which is obviously very dear to his heart.
When it was finally time for us to leave, Mrs Tye warmly pressed a box of Malacca’s famous pineapple tarts into my hands “for the children” and bade us a safe journey home.
Hospitality unsurpassed. Thank you very very much, Mr and Mrs Tye, and Jr (I didn’t get your name).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The room is nicely furnished with great taste, and not overdone. Shower and bath is superb! Luv the hi-jet water in the shower, but the drainage was a bit choked. The peek-a-boo room concept is suited for couples, but not for siblings. Breakfast is sufficient to give you a good start for the day, & nicely prepared too. No room safe, mini fridge nor hair dryer, but not exactly critical items. Definitely worth and should check out, and there are many picture-taking scenes within the open compounds. Staff are really friendly and patient.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choco22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed here one night during our recent trip to Melaka. Can't recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are beautiful and I especially love the indoor/outdoor shower thing they have going on; the location couldn't be better but what made it for us was the service. IT WAS INCREDIBLE. As the hotel was booked the second night we wanted to stay, the hosts booked us into another hotel, took us over there, and offered to come and bring us back for the following night when they had a room spare. I was not feeling well the day they took us to the second hotel, and they even sent their driver out for fresh coconut juice for me, which made me feel much better!
Our only complaint about this place would be that there was just a little noise at night, however I guess this is a small price to pay for being literally moments away from the action of Jonker Walk, which was after all the whole reason we were in Melaka.
I've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world and this one is in my all-time top five, especially with the very reasonable room rate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a friendly, intimate and 'real' Melaka experience, and hope one day to come back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasi_ayam_search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $43 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing