We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location, located next to the famous Jonker Walk. Room is clean, comfortable and well designed. The room insulation is bad. We can hear the sound from upstairs and corridor although the noise is bearable.
Overall, me and my boyfriend were both satisfied with our stay at Courtyard@Heeren and definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladys0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    334
    104
    17
    9
See reviews for
278
535
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

clean, well-appointed rooms in this boutique hotel. the hotel itself is a conserved shophouse, so heritage & architecture buffs are in for a treat. Jonker Street is the next street to the East, and the river is a short 3-mins walk to the South. excellent service by the friendly staff. there is also limited, reserved street-side parking monitored by CCTV.
only complaint would be the "open-concept" bathroom. the bedroom and bathroom is separated only by a screen, meaning you will hear everything in the bedroom - the toilet flushing, water from the tap, etc. We had a 17-mth old with us, so we actually had to use the toilet at the reception after she sleeps, to avoid waking her!
Will definitely recommend the hotel, but do note the "bathroom acoustics" issue (especially if travelling with young children). Other rooms may have different layouts, so probably worth checking when booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minghowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful 3 night stay. All the staff were friendly & attentive. Greeted with the nicest juice on arrival. 5 min taxi ride from central bus station. Good location, just one st from Jonker. Very quaint old part of town. Breakfast each day catered to all tastes however lid on the hot food was constantly left open by staff which meant this was not hot. Room was great, clean, nice linens, little fridge, good aircon, strong wifi & cable tv with limited channels. As mentioned in previous posts, there are slats for a door from bedroom to toilet so not a huge amount of privacy. Only 2 negatives was because of open plan ceiling over shower area it meant the lighting used to highlight the trees & palms went till way into the morning. For this we slept with eye masks as the whole room was lit up. Mentioned to a staff member but he didn't quite get it. The other was the door handle, needs to be fixed but forgot to tell them. Tricky to operate. Bed was amazing & comfy pillows... Didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: 104 upstairs was good, in the middle so it was v v quiet. Just ask about the lighting at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WessandCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After read all the reviews, I have decided to book at this boutique hotel for a short family trip.
I was glad that I make the right decision as the rooms and breakfasts are nice.
I have booked 3 rooms and each of the room has it's own character. The best part of my room is facing the little garden and if photography is your hobby, this place will be one of the spot for you.

The location is very good, walking distance to the jonker street, tourist hot spots and full of shops and restaurants around. The only downside is limited parking area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVL38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked a night's stay in the Executive Suite because of the in-room jacuzzi. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was so comfortable that I had such a restful sleep. I cannot find fault with the room except that toilet seems to have an ant infestation problem. I kept finding dead ants strewn all over the bathroom floor but it did not bother me much as the ants can be easily flushed down the drain.

The hotel is centrally located, and is within the vicinity of many yummy food spots - Cafe 1511 is a must! All in all, Courtyard is a place that I'll visit again as its staff showed such impeccable hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comet2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Melaka's China Town is narrow streets, parking both sides of the road, continuous traffic and no pavements! Step inside the recently restored Courtyard @ Heeren and you're into a different world. Like most of Melaka's old, residential buildings, the Courtyard is long and thin(Dutch taxes on the width of buildings means that most Melaka buildings built in Dutch colonial times have a narrow frontage but enormous depth), with a series of delightful inner courtyards leading you through the rooms from the charming reception area, complete with Koi carp pool. Our room, at the rear of the hotel, was large with an enormous en suite by most standards. Surprisingly, it was tastefully furnished in a contemporary style (others had a more period feel). It also had a covered veranda, sadly looking out onto an overgrown excuse for a garden where someone had abandoned an old bike. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - the security guard who sat all night at the rear of the hotel watching the back entrance and the roped off area of the back lane which was the hotel's car park, even helped us fix our remote key lock to the wreck of a car we had hired. Breakfast, taken in an equally tastefully restored building across the road (behind a women's fabric and dress shop, which can be a dangerous distraction to some) was of excellent quality and variety. Added to its central location, I'd very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian2005wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

You would expect dungeons and dragons to pepper this place that time has forgotten.

It is as homely as it can get. But muffled creaks and eerie hallucinations, especially in the wee hours of the morning, freaks you out. Though keeping you still in the realm of sanity. Think Thriller! Truly for the faint hearted.

And, seriously, you are not alone. Lots of rooms are being turned over for new guests afer housekeeping's done. Something must be right.

The room is spartan and sufficient. Hardly furnished. Airconditioned, definitely not spacious, its for you to sleep and have your shower, It is not the type of room you want to laze around. You might get wasted.

Windowless, it is functional and serves its purpose. The elevator down the corridor jerks complainingly when in motion. Just be glad when it is in motion.

Breakfast is provided. Very local. Exquisite experience. Car parking lots are available.

Overall, the hotel is, well.... accommodating. The courtyard is chic and quaint, I should add. There is an unexplainable pull. Its not the Hilton but you know you won't bump into Mr Nightmare. You hardly know why, but you'll chance coming here to stay again. Its hard to miss the unique warmth that keeps you from the cold.

False bravado and fragile egos... make for strange bedfellows. But once you are in the hotel and the hotel is in you, you won't think you are in a hotel. Its Cool! I'll be back, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing