We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastefully restored boutique hotel in middle of Melaka's China Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Tastefully restored boutique hotel in middle of Melaka's China Town”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Melaka's China Town is narrow streets, parking both sides of the road, continuous traffic and no pavements! Step inside the recently restored Courtyard @ Heeren and you're into a different world. Like most of Melaka's old, residential buildings, the Courtyard is long and thin(Dutch taxes on the width of buildings means that most Melaka buildings built in Dutch colonial times have a narrow frontage but enormous depth), with a series of delightful inner courtyards leading you through the rooms from the charming reception area, complete with Koi carp pool. Our room, at the rear of the hotel, was large with an enormous en suite by most standards. Surprisingly, it was tastefully furnished in a contemporary style (others had a more period feel). It also had a covered veranda, sadly looking out onto an overgrown excuse for a garden where someone had abandoned an old bike. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - the security guard who sat all night at the rear of the hotel watching the back entrance and the roped off area of the back lane which was the hotel's car park, even helped us fix our remote key lock to the wreck of a car we had hired. Breakfast, taken in an equally tastefully restored building across the road (behind a women's fabric and dress shop, which can be a dangerous distraction to some) was of excellent quality and variety. Added to its central location, I'd very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian2005wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    328
    100
    15
    9
See reviews for
273
524
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
320 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

You would expect dungeons and dragons to pepper this place that time has forgotten.

It is as homely as it can get. But muffled creaks and eerie hallucinations, especially in the wee hours of the morning, freaks you out. Though keeping you still in the realm of sanity. Think Thriller! Truly for the faint hearted.

And, seriously, you are not alone. Lots of rooms are being turned over for new guests afer housekeeping's done. Something must be right.

The room is spartan and sufficient. Hardly furnished. Airconditioned, definitely not spacious, its for you to sleep and have your shower, It is not the type of room you want to laze around. You might get wasted.

Windowless, it is functional and serves its purpose. The elevator down the corridor jerks complainingly when in motion. Just be glad when it is in motion.

Breakfast is provided. Very local. Exquisite experience. Car parking lots are available.

Overall, the hotel is, well.... accommodating. The courtyard is chic and quaint, I should add. There is an unexplainable pull. Its not the Hilton but you know you won't bump into Mr Nightmare. You hardly know why, but you'll chance coming here to stay again. Its hard to miss the unique warmth that keeps you from the cold.

False bravado and fragile egos... make for strange bedfellows. But once you are in the hotel and the hotel is in you, you won't think you are in a hotel. Its Cool! I'll be back, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A well maintained boutique hotel.
With a fish pond & a mini man made waterfall within the hotel premise, the place looks serene, contrast with the busy jonker streets nearby. Returning to the hotel feels like returning home. Lighting was well done & the hotel uses lemongrass oil to fragrant the place.

The place is conveniently located just one street away from jonker walk & yet from where we are, we did not hear any noise at all. It is however away from the newer shopping malls.

Staff were friendly & most helpful.

Good place which I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3llingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A very nice boutique hotel just next to Jonker Street. Beautifully designed and spacious. Service was excellent and friendly - many thanks to the staff for helping us with our taxi bookings and requests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lxwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this unique boutique hotel, the design of the hotel is simply stunning, its a mix of new and old world. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff and the lobby is beautifully furnished. Check in was done smoothly and we were shown to our room which is on the ground floor. Room is also stunning, room size is decent and the bed is one of the more comfortable bed i ever slept on. Great shower too! Breakfast is a spread of local and western choices. Will come again if we do drop by melaka in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri_tg139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This small hotel is in Chinatown is close to many of the local attractions, we had a small inside room (no windows to the world) for this reason we were please it was only a one night stay. The room was clean good hot shower and air conditioner worked well, an automatic insect spraying device kept me guessing for a while in the black of the night. Staff were attentive. Breakfast was down the road behind a batic shop, clean well stocked and eggs to order.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was amazed at how they architects and interior designers managed to maintain the Malaccan historic shophouse charm with modern zen designs, it was beautiful.

No one mentioned this in their review but there was a well (yeah, a real one!) within the premises. Most people probably thought it was just a made believe thing by the IDs but one peep down the hole and I was amazed... it was REAL. Though they did put a protective grill to cover the hole to prevent kids from falling in.

We stayed in the family deluxe room, a queen bed and a single bed. It was lovely. The shower was outdoor with a rain shower head... so so wonderful! Everything was provided including a hair dryer and a mini fridge. It was a 5 star room.

I do have one complaint though. The room is supposed to be a family room but it wasn't child friendly. It had dangerous corners around the bed and the entrance to the bathroom had a sharp edge as it was made of tiles. Not safe for toddlers.

Breakfast was good with wonderful staff and ambience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avya98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing