We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful boutique hotel with an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a beautiful, boutique hotel in a great location in Melaka. We had a deluxe room on the ground floor. The staff in ther hotel were friendly and helpful as were the staff in the small cafe opposite where breakfast was served. The only downside (and it is minor) is that the hotel has no outside space to relax for a couple of hours after a day of exploring. We had dinner at Harpers and Eleven Bistro - both were excellentr although watch out for the baked fish in Eleven Bistro - it was hot!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spend an amazing weekend in Malacca, the people, food and place is fantastic. We just love the pork satay which is close by to our hotel. We came across this hotel from TA, bookingnwasndone smoothly. When we arrived, we were offered welcome drinks and a map of melaka with recommendations ofnfood and place and interesting sites.

The rooms is a mixture of local peranakan and modern design, my wifen love the strong pressure of the rain shower. The bedbis one of the most comfortable bed that i have come across among the hotels that i have stayed. Breakfast is at the cafe across the hotel, breakfast spread is decent. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If posibble,request for the room facing the courtyard, great place to relax, we were in room G3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

easy base from which to explore the old town of malacca, on foot, alone, at day and at night, just a few blocks away from everything, yet very calm, excellent brunch worth spending all morning brunching!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msballen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely old building in the historic part of Melaka. Despite the age of the building, the bedrooms are very modern and stylish. I was on the upper floor (F4). As it is a long narrow building in a terrace of shophouses, the room has no external windows but natural light comes in via a skylight over the bathroom and a little garden next to the bathroom. It is lovely seeing the plants growing while showering in perfect privacy.

The room was generally quiet but the skylight does mean that noise comes in from the corridor when people are passing. On my first night, there was loud music coming from the bar next door. I thought that would ruin my stay but they either stopped playing early or my earplugs were more effective than I expected as I did not notice the music once I turned out the light. Surprisingly, there was no music the following two nights (Friday and Saturday).

I loved the arty style of the room and the bed was comfy. At first glance, the room looked newish but some of the furniture was showing a few knocks and the bathroom basin had lost its plug. Great shower! The staff are very friendly although there was no information in the room or provided on arrival about things like laundry or location of breakfast. However staff were very helpful when asked. If it was raining at breakfast time, a staff member with a giant umbrella escorted guests to and from the little Cafe@Heeren across the road for breakfast.

The best thing of all is the location. It is in one of the most interesting streets in Melaka - don't miss the Baba-Nonya Museum half a block away. The hotel is around the corner from Jonker St and is surrounded by good restaurants.

Tip: avoid Saturday if possible as the historic area gets filled with busloads of tourists and Jonker St is packed. Many of the more interesting little shops close early to make way for the night market. The night market is the same as any night market in Asia - lots of plastic junk, sunglasses, shoes, kids jewelry etc. Nothing of local interest and certainly not worth forcing your way through the crowds to see (unless that sort of thing takes your fancy).

Room Tip: I took the advice of earlier reviews and asked for an upper floor. F4 was a lovely room and very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

At the time we stayed there was major renovations going on. We had booked months in advance and has asked for a quiet room but we were put in the room right next to the work. The room has a glass wall which the bed sits up against and work was being done on the other side of the glass so the noise was extremly loud. When we checked in they told us that the work would stop at 5pm which was clearly not the case. We were very tired when we arrived and wanted an early night, at 9pm it was still going on so I rang reception who said they were just finnishing up but it was after 10 before it stopped. We had asked to move rooms but they said they were full.
Eventually after much discussion they agreed to move us to another room at the back for the next 2 nights, this room only had one bed so one of us had to sleep on a camp bed. The staff were polite and keep saying sorry but did'nt actually do anything. The owners should not be so money hungry and leave the room vacant during renovations or at least stop work at 5pm.
On the plus side we had the best breakfast of our trip here and the breakfast room across the road is stunning. The rooms are modern with lovely unique bathrooms and the location is perfect in the lovely town of Melaka.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed one wonderful night in this lovely hotel. The hotel is quaint and beautiful, but is also clean and comfortable. Great bed and pillows, wonderful shower and unique spacious bathroom. Complementary breakfast is something special, not just the food but the area it's served in. You won't be disappointed...

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs get Wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenslanderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, clean, helpful staff, great location, and what really impressed us, it that after we checked out we realised we had lost an item in the minivan transfer. The hotel contacted the bus company for us, and arranged for the free return of the item to us, throughout this process they kept in touch with us so we were updated as to the status of the item, and we have received it back safe and sound. The 'aftercare' of our stay was outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#8 of 169 in Melaka
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#4 of 169 in Melaka
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $45 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing