We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #114 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for family”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

At the reception, Check-in very fast. As it was the Chinese New year celebrations, there was cookies, mandarin oranges and drinks for guests at the lobby which we enjoyed. The bath towels are fresh and clean. Good for small family as as rooms furnished with a queen and single bed.

Wi-fi not really working in the room, we have to bring our lap-tops to the lobby to surf the net.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing apartment, opposite rooms fronting the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It's a very big apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 attached toilets. The 1st impression was a disappointment as the pictures appeared on the web looks more appealing. The actual place looks dirty with sticky and dusty floor, stained curtains and chairs. No kitchenette. Malfunction shower area. Full toiletries given but stain of soap found on the selve. Beware of cracked tiles. No double lock for the apartment door except a loose latch.
Definitely, won't staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdmCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
After reading your feedback on our Hotel Apartment, I would like to apologize for what you have encountered during your stay there. We are constantly trying to improve on our weaknesses. We now have maintenance on pest control in our rooms and apartments by our staff.
Thank you.
Kings Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I went to Malacca for a R&R with my friends and since there were five of us, we decided to rent an apartment as it would be cheaper. The apartment we stayed in consisted of two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living room.

Apartment:
- 1st bedroom has two single beds
- 2nd bedroom has 1 single bed and 1 queen size bed
- Each room has its own bathroom
- Living room has two large sofas, TV, dining chairs and table and fridge

Location:
- The hotel is located 15 mins by car from Malacca town
- Has a few shop lots near by the hotel

Pros:
- Apartment is very spacious and can accommodate up to 10 people (if they bring their own sleeping bags)

Cons:
- THE BATHROOM IN THE APARTMENT HAS COCKROACHES!!!!!!!!!

Overall, I liked the big spacious apartment however the cockroaches was really a big turn-off. I would NOT recommend this place to people who are not driving as it is not easily accessible by public transport.

The price of the apartment is not too bad as each of us paid around RM 70++ (note: price subjected to change).

I would not recommend this hotel apartment to anyone as the roaches reflect the cleanliness of the hotel. I will probably stay in the city center the next time I visit Malacca.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,
Apologize for the roaches you have encountered during your stay in our Apartment. We have taken action on it. We have now pest control by our maintenance staff every alternate days. Please do come back and enjoy our spacious rooms.
Thank you.
Kings Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I was on a 2 days working trip with my 2 other colleagues. The night stay was good but the staff right from the reception, housekeeping and banquet were not friendly. Seen some trainees were trained right in front of the customers and treated unprofessionally. Though we are local visitors sure we need equal treatment same as the foreign tourist had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasilawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sepang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I went to Melaka and checked in a 3 rooms apartment at Kings Hotel on 21/5/2011 for family gathering. My family very enjoy to stay there because the living hall and the rooms is so big and comfortable. The most enjoy part is the mattress--- is new. Because I have checked in two years ago the mattress is just a normal mattress and the single bed is bigger than our household size. However, we will more appreciate if hotel can change the sofa set in the living hall is not comfortable to sit and change the TV set will make the room look more high class. Overall, we like it very much.

Other than that, we are enjoy the breakfast too. Even is not a lot of varieties but compare to others hotel this hotel have a very nice Cafe-- very Nyonya feel with the decoration and design. With RM12nett per adult, is very reasonable because it is with egg station, and my parent like Roti Hainan very much (they like the kaya.... taste nice). Only part to be improve is the arrangement of the food especially at the bread counter is not very attractive.

I'm sure will come again for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybabylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My one night stay here can only be described as UNSATISFIED. The room looks old and shabby. The air condition is old and ancient looking. The bed is okay but it makes my skin itchy after sleeping on it. The breakfast provided is not good, not good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadoyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Chose this hotel because we only wanted to stay in Ayer Keroh, and not go to the City (Pusat Bandaraya) and also because there were 6 families. We took 2 apartments (each apartment has 3 rooms and a small living room)

Check-in was quite a nightmare, because the hotel has 2 towers - hotel and apartment. We went to the hotel tower to check-in, but they told us to go to the apartment tower. Over at the apartment tower, we were told to go back to the hotel tower. Bear in mind it's about 5 to 10 minutes walk, and it was quite late when we reached... it was quite annoying.

Our apartment was fine, the door handle was broken, so we sortof had to kick the door to open it. The floor was sticky. The rooms were huge though, but the living room was small, and the sofas were really miserable. We couldn't feel the cushion at all. There was only ONE TV set in the whole apartment of 3 rooms!

We were only given ONE key. Imagine, a hotel room would usually 2 keys, and this - an apartment with 3 rooms - we were only given ONE key! So everyone had to plan properly to go out together etc. On Saturday night when my family brought their key along with them, we asked the reception for another key, and they said they only had a master key, and even if they unlocked the roomdoor for us, we won't have electricity at all. It felt like I was in the 70's or something.

However, bed was very comfortable. Read somewhere that mattresses were all new. Breakfast was also ok, although they close very early (stopped topping up food arround 9.45am, when bfast ends at 10) and Chef refuses to cook more than 1 type of egg for us, even though he will say yes to whatever you order. On our 2nd day of breakfast, they told us we cannot have boiled eggs because "stove is broken" ??!! What nonsense is that???

Swimming pool was a joke - a small square (maybe 4m x 4m) and it only reaches up to the ankles.

On the whole, if you have to stay only in Ayer Keroh with a big family, I guess it's ok if you aren't too fussy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaka
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#62 of 166 in Melaka
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#4 of 8 in Ayer Keroh
47 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#97 of 166 in Melaka
56 reviews
4.8 mi away
Emperor Hotel Malacca
Emperor Hotel Malacca
#99 of 166 in Melaka
99 reviews
4.3 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#36 of 166 in Melaka
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: No. 30 Jalan Ayer Keroh, Melaka 75450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a Hotel and Apartment. In total we have 70 rooms. Ample parking space. Walking distance to shopping mall and supermarket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing