We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality went Down BIG time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and myself drove down to Melaka during the CNY vacation. We decided to stay at Avillion Legacy Melaka. My holiday mood got switch off after entering the room. The room smells(weird smell) I saw hole on the flooring. The window glass was so dirty. Since we check at night we wanted room service for dinner. The food was horrible. The hotel need to do major renovation and maintain it well. Quality went down big time. We booked for 2 nights, after these services we cancel it and only stayed one night. Very Disappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letchumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Avillion Legacy Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I checked in for a night during Chnese New Year .

The room was big , but it has musty smell and not well kept . It definitely need rebrushiment .

We asked for additional towel .We did not get it as it was hotel 's policy to provide only 2 towels per room . Furthermore , no WIFI in room .

I believe we can always get a better and cleaner hotel within the same area at the same

I will not recommend Avillion to anyone who wish to visit Malacca.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WXLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I stayed for only one night. The room had a fridge with complementary bottles of water. Something I could not stand, though, was the bizarre carpet odor in the corridor. I had to stop breathing when I got off the elevator till I reached the room. Wifi is free only at lobby, which is not unusual. It takes only 20 minutes on foot to downtown Melaka. At some point during my stay, I went to downtown, took a look around, and came back within an hour. to me it just an ordinary hotels like other hotels..its just fine to get 1 or 2 night rest in this hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riguez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

at first i thought very luck still can book a hotel on peak season. when we arrive, we saw the hotel building very nice, the staff was helpful. Omg! the room very dark, all the old furniture, not feeling good. The bath room ... overall need to upgrade.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I stayed for only one night. We were skeptical because we read some pretty bad reviews of the hotel on tripadvisor.

When first entered, we found the design of the hotel to be quite nice. It had a nice greek theme to it and there was a really nice dome design in the lobby.

Then, we were handed the keys to our room. We entered the room and found it to be only satisfactory.
The desk had old stains on it and it looked dusty. It was also missing a few knobs. That is the same for the cupboard that held the TV.

The TV was an old one but that doesn't really matter. What annoyed me was when you open each drawer, you will find it to be very dusty.

Other than that, the safe deposit is not free. They require your credit card. I find that shocking because, well, safe deposits have always been free to me.

Then, the wifi is only free in the lobby. In rooms, you have to purchase it and it's rm5 per hour.

The breakfast also sucked. It was terrible food. Anyhow, at least, the noodle soup was alright and the egg counter was okay.

The aircond in my room wasn't cold at all. It was only alright. That was a little annoying.

Other than that, the hotel was alright. It has a nice swimming pool and a pretty good gym.

The hotel also provided shuttle bus to destinations such like Jonker Street however, the timing of the buses are only 12pm, 3pm and 6pm.

But the hotel is within walking distance, about 20 minutes away from Jonker Street. My family and I walked.

The service in this hotel is very good. The staff are kind and friendly.

So all in all, a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmensakura07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had to stay for two nights here and was a bit afraid to check in because of somewhat poor reviews. In my opinion, the hotel is quite alright, if not perfect. I have not stayed at other hotels in Melaka, so I don't know the general standards in the region. I presume, however, that the hotel would probably above par in the area.
Bed was good, although there was stain and a cut hole in the bed spread. The room had a fridge with complementary bottles of water. Something I could not stand, though, was the bizarre carpet odor in the corridor. I had to stop breathing when I got off the elevator till I reached the room. Wifi is free only at lobby, which is not unusual. It takes only 20 minutes on foot to downtown Melaka. At some point during my stay, I went to downtown, took a look around, and came back within an hour. In this regard, I might as well say that the hotel is well located. The cafe at lobby provides buffet, which seemed like Malaysian food with some more. I found it okay. I have not been to the gym/pool.
Overall, the stay was better than I had expected.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hotel had all you could ask: big room, spacious bathroom, decent breakfast. But it is a 15 minute walk to get to the old streets or river. Staff were very helpful. Good value in terms of quality of accomodation. I just didn't like the position of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#26 of 167 in Melaka
168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#36 of 167 in Melaka
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#94 of 167 in Melaka
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
1.3 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#24 of 167 in Melaka
284 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avillion Legacy Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Legacy Melaka

Address: 146 Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avillion Legacy Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avillion Legacy Melaka is a luxurious 235-room boutique hotel in Melaka offering fast and efficient Melaka hotel booking. Inspired by the city's colonial history, the hotel's architecture is further complemented by its elegant interiors, including an impressive glass dome lobby and classic Roman pillars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avillion Legacy Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Legacy Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing