We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly, clean,comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed with my 4 year old daughter for what was going to be 2 nights but we ended up staying for about 5. Lisan and Christoph are so very friendly and helpful and welcoming. The guesthouse very clean and comfortable. I was actually a bit sad to leave as I felt like I had been staying with friends! Christoph makes a fantstic pasta!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

Very new, to the point that there's still work in progress going on, but couldn't complain at the value of the accomodation or friendliness of Christophe and family. We had a double at the front - you absolutely need the aircon - and it was a little noisy but earplugs ensured sleep. Breakfast is free and fine, of the coffee and toast variety. Christophe has travelled widely in SE Asia and a good source of info.

Location is okay - technically in the Old Town, although a ten minute walk from Chinatown, which is really where the action is - but the price, I think, reflects this.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trigger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Very very friendly staff. A joy to stay at their house.

Bathrooms are shared, rooms not very big but the communal space is! I recommed this place to anyone visiting Melaka

(BTY it is not in the old town, but close (=; )

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bas035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy35, owner at Old Town Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2009

Thanks for you review. It was a delight to have you with us.

Btw : our guesthouse is situated in the UNESCO buffer zone and was recently gazetted as a heritage village
I suppose your referring to Chinatown, and for sure we're not in Chinatown, we are 500m from there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Clean and spaceous guesthouse with friendly owners. We have stayed here for two nights and it was definitely à good choice. Breakfast is included and à laptop is free to use. Besides this, THE city centre is just à couple of minutes away.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

A great place, which is very clean and just a 5 min walk to the city centre. A public notebook is available, otherwise you can use the WIFI. Some people complained about not having a TV into the room...Do you really expect a TV into your room for this price? It's a backpackers place, where even families felt very cozy. But if you really need TV, the owner offers a big DVD collection for free. Everybody is very helpful and a family run atmosphere. EXCELLENT!!!

Alex, Germany

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Room is cozy, like a homestay, owners were friendly and prompt to offer us suggestions and directions around melaka. one tiny setback, is that though there is a tv in the common room, we do hope there is a tv in the ensuite room, may get a bit too noisy at night due to the coffee shop across the street, so room would be better with some soun d-proofing. Free wireless is available in the hostel which is good! good value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nugetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Just came back from Malasya and can say that this guesthouse was the best option that we had during the trip.
The hosts are so friendly that sometimes it seems that you are one of their family.
It's very cozy and cheap, and cleanness is beyond praise. From some rooms it can you can hear the noise from the street, so ask host about it.
It take about 5-10 min to get to the major attraction, 3-5 min to the busstop (10 min and 1RM by bus to Melaka Sentral). It's not
I'll hope it will be home for a while for you too)))

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inc_foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.4 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.5 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 152 in Melaka
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hong
Hotel Hong
#3 of 227 in Melaka
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse

Address: 119 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $19 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Town Guesthouse, a place where you can feel at home. We’re a budget guesthouse with charm and we are one of the cheapest options because we don’t have staff – we do everything ourselves. Our home is your home – come sit back, relax, and join us for a cup of coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing