We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to linger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to linger”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can only agree with other reviewers - highly recommended. Old Town Guesthouse is very clean, very friendly, very spacious and very affordable. We stayed 4 nights in an air conditioned 3 bed room using the shared toilets and showers, and appreciated the large size of the room compared to other places we stayed in Malaysia and Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    42
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
37
108
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and were satisfied with every aspect of this guesthouse. It is clean, friendly has a good location and is cheap. Absolutely recommend this place to anyone planning to stay in Melaka

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent three nights in this guesthouse -- actually I felt like a guest to a happy family instead of a client in a guesthouse! Christophe and his Malaysian-Chinese wife are friendly and helpful. Once arrived, they gave me a map and explained all the stuff I need to know about Melaka. The map was small but very handy and useful. They keep the house very clean: I always saw Christophe holding his baby son with one hand, and another hand mopping the floor!

The location is great. Although it is close to the Red House (about 10 minute walk), it is not located in a touristy area. It is located in the local Chinese residential area, with a market and food stall in the opposite. So you can really experience the local life by staying there. I enjoyed having breakfast in the Chinese food stall --the guesthouse does provide breakfast, but it is more fun to have breakfast with local people!

Melaka is a nice place, and I will certainly go back and stay in the Old Town Guesthouse again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have spent here 3 nights, and it has been a pleasure!

A young couple run this quite place, where their well educated children play. You feel like if you were at home. The atmosphere is very friendly and familiar, they are also very nice and helpful. For example they arranged our bus tickets to Singapore, and provide every information we request.

The rooms are diferent size but for sure everybody will find its own, ours was very spacious with a big mattress. The living room and the kitchen (separeted) are both quite big, there is a fridge for guests and the internet works perfectly!

I do recommend this place to everybody! It is also very good valuable, since it´s one of the cheapest in town.

Room Tip: Ask for interior room (also have window and natural light).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i've been at old town 3 yrs ago,and i was back now in october.. in 3 yrs nothing has changed..it's still a peaceful and nice guest house, clean, with free coffe, tea, water and breakfast..and of course: WIFI.
the owners are polite and willing to help you, and they have 2 lovely children, so when you are there you can feel like at home and not in a cold guest house where you get smile just for business.
if outside it's raining you wont complain to stay in the living room reading your book or talking with other guest.
i really raccomend this guest house for your visit in malacca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aBoUtAtRaVeLeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

When we arrived in Melaka we didn't have a place to stay yet, but because tripadvisor recommended this place, we went to this one.
It was a great experience!! The rooms are situated in the house of a family, a very friendly Chinese lady, her French husband (a bit more distant, but friendly too), and her two kids. You really feel at home here!! There is free wifi, enough toilets and showers, a living room. Simple but good breakfast... nothing to complain about!
The first night we stayed in a room at the streetsight. Although the lady said it could be noisy, we still took it, but we didn't sleep at all... There are some restaurants nearby and they seem to party all night long...
When we asked for another room the next day, it was no problem at all. We got a smaller room with only a window to the living room, but it was well enough, and sooooo cheap!
Everything is so clean, nice and pleasant, i really think they could ask a higher price for their rooms!!
We stayed a few nights more than we planned because it was so nice here (the city too is very small, but very nice and laid back). I was really charmed by the warmth of this guesthouse!! Didn't know these kind of guesthouses still exist... Congrats!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylveske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I visited Melaka for the first time in September 2012. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we decided to stay at Old Town Guesthouse. The family is very welcoming with lots of great tips on where to eat and what to do (I loved the DIY Batik Painting that LeeSun suggested). Their two kids are very cute!

The room is simple, clean and comfortable. We choose a room with aircon as we struggle with the heat and humidity. As noted on their website, these rooms face the busy street so ask for an internal facing room if you have trouble with noise.

The free breakfast of bread with spreads and tea/coffee is a great way to start the morning. The common areas had lots of books, games, dvds and more. We love the free wifi as it let us catch up on emails and various social media.

The location is great. It's only a short walk to Dutch Square, Jonker Street and Capitol Satay. It's also a short drive to the Portuguese Settlement (or you can also walk it but it's about a 35 minute walk).

The hosts were very helpful. We ended up with food poisoning from one of the local restaurants. They called around to see whether the doctor was opened and showed us how to get there.

Thank you Christopher and LeeSun for having us in your lovely home.

Room Tip: Choose an internal room if you're sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJazzyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.4 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse

Property: Old Town Guesthouse
Address: 119 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Town Guesthouse, a place where you can feel at home. We’re a budget guesthouse with charm and we are one of the cheapest options because we don’t have staff – we do everything ourselves. Our home is your home – come sit back, relax, and join us for a cup of coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing