We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apa Kaba Home & Stay
Ranked #4 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Maybe a bit difficult to find - not even our cab driver knew the place, but very well worth to stay in. Peaceful atmosphere just a couple of hundred meters from the city core. Cosy atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman_varo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 167 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

A very nice location : 10 minutes away from the center, but it gives you the unique opportunity of going through a small lovely village... The breakfast was nice (and it was so lovely to have it outside, in the garden), the staff was really caring and helpful. A lovely house with a unique and different style from many other guest houses... I really loved my stay there !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friendly family including grand-dad! Nice garden with relaxing area where our children (6 and 9) loved to play. With their kids, their small bikes they could use or just by playing football. Breakfast room is small but nice local food is offered next to toast. Nice short walk through 'kampung' to city centre with all land marks

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jedidja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have booked the place thanks to very good reviews. I have not been disappointed. Very charming address for the price. Good location, nice breakfast, nice garden and friendly staff. The Room was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice clean rooms, very friendly people. Relaxing atmosphere, nice garden with a chill out area. a good homemade breakfast, great cakes!!
Friendly place with children, and a great experience the tour with the family.
In 10 by for you in malaka centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christianevisamifeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Location
The accommodation is about a 10 minute easy and flat walk from the centre of the town. The accommodation is set in a quiet garden away from the hustle and bustle of Melaka. The quietness of the accommodation was a real contrast. However, we travelled as a couple and if I was on my own, I think I would have preferred a more central location.

Accommodation
We stayed in room 3 - a twin en suite for 4 nights. The rooms are basic but they are clean, as is the whole place. The rooms aren't serviced daily and we were offered clean bedding/towels on day 3.

Breakfast
There was tea and coffee available and bread for toast. There was also a daily fruit and a daily local dish. Breakfast is available from 8.30am in the kitchen and you help yourself. Although this seems late, the town and tourist activities tend to open around 10am and then stay open late, which I think explains the decision for 8.30am breakfast. You have to wash your plates after breakfast, but we didn't find this a particular hardship.

Service
The email correspondence before we arrived was great. We were given a map on arrival and shown key points to assist with our time in Melaka. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Apa Kaba really feels as a home – and it invites to stay long. It's a unique place – a little quiet and peaceful oasis close to the centre of Melaka. We stayed here for four nights. You can walk to the old centre of the town in about 10 minutes – yet the guesthouse is located very quiet in a lovely garden. Rooms are simple but very clean and foreseen with the basic necessary things: there is a good bed, (depending whether you book a room with attached bathroom) a good hot shower, a good working airco. The guesthouse has a unique sphere, as it is an old house which is maintained with love. You can prepare and enjoy your own simple breakfast in the shared kitchen or in the garden. Beyond all these positive things, the top of Apa Kaba is an extraordinary friendly and helpsome staff. Whenever you have a wish, they will help you. Kenny Koe, the owner, takes care for everything – and especially for you as a guest. He informs about things to see, hands out maps of the city, and gives tips where to eat – in short: an extraordinary place with extraordinary people. We sure would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Kaba Home & Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Kaba Home & Stay

Address: 28 Lorong Banda Kaba, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $11 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Apa Kaba Home & Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Kaba Home & Stay Hotel Melaka
Apa Kaba Home And Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing