We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apa Kaba Home & Stay
Ranked #3 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights in November.

We received a lovely welcome on arrival and were informed of local places to eat and given direction into town.

Our room was medium sized, basic and a little worn but pretty and had a reasonable little bathroom and air con. There is a lovely area outside where you can sit and read.

The main town area is 10minutes walk, Jonker street is about 15 minutes and well worth a visit.

Overall this was a lovely little guesthouse, we enjoyed our short stay and felt it was good value.

We wouldn't recommend staying in Melaka for much longer than a couple of nights as there isn't a huge amount to do, however it is a great stop off and a nice way to break up the trip from Singapore to KL.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Apa Kaba Home & Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here two nights and would've stayed longer if it wasn't fully booked. That says something about the popularity of this place and in hindsight i'm not at all surprised.

What a lovely place. From the tiny little courtyard with the reception, to the basic rooms looking out over the lovely garden, to the breakfast with homemade tidbits to try out, and the great service from Kenny and his family, it's all good. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. It's basic (no aircon, just a fan. No windows....wooden-shutters do the trick as well) but very clean and well maintained.

Apa Kaba is only a short walk (10min) from the main sights in Melaka, but don't be surprised if you find yourself just hanging around in the shade on the patio in the garden to absorb the laid back, Asian atmosphere which makes this a highly recommended place for a holiday in Melaka.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JellevanKralingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I noted the name of this hotel from a blog and it is as peacefull and confortable than expected.
10 mns far by walk from the centrer of Chinatown, the guest house is in a garden, far from the noise of the cars. My standard room is maybe a bit small but costs only 40 Rg with breakfast and there are bigger ones with aircon. It is very clean. But over all, Kenny is so helpfull and interesting that I felt as if I was hosted by a friend! Amazing
He gave me a lot of tips, bruchures, bus information... whatever I needed.

I sincerely recommand this guest house.

Room Tip: Bring your musquito net if you don't have electric reaplelant. Even if Kenny does his best to av...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawadee75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I booked two nights as a solo traveller at apa kaba guesthouse becuase of the reviews on tripadvisor and I was not dissapointed!
Kenny and his family looked after me so well, and having tea out in the garden every night with them made me feel like part of the family.
Breakfasts were fantastic and the place was spotless.
It is a traditional house, so be warned about the lack of airconditioning...this is not a Hilton but a family lodging - but there's fans, which for me (who loves the heat) was just fine with.
It is a little 10min walk into the centre - I was fine with this because it meant I was able to stay in the village, but it is possible to stay closer to the "main sights" of melaka.
The only trick was as a solo traveller I had to book the whole room (2 beds) and pay double.

All in all though, one of the best stays I've had in any of my travels. The personal touch means that I would reccomend it in an instant and remember the hospitality forever.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieFromOuterSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Warm, welcoming, friendly atmosphere thanks to the staff that treat you like a relative. It is an old, wooden house in a big, nice garden in the centre of Melaka. Our room was big, beds comfortable, breakfast very good, a clean bathroom, helpful, friendly receptionists. It is a quite, relaxing place in the city, real oasis. You can sit in a garden with a cup of tea and talk with the hosts.
Don't expect luxury, but do expect warm, friendly, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaPola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Can not give more praise to this home stay. The most amazing hosts and what it lacks in "comforts" it more than makes up for in character, warmth and surroundings. You must eat at Capitol Satay!! Make sure you sort out taxi's prior to leaving as it is in the middle of a residential district although incredibly easy to walk everywhere!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's experiences like staying here that make you realise what homestays should be about. Don't expect 5 star luxury - do expect total warmth of welcome, pro-active service, delicious traditional breakfasts, a really clean bedroom, and a formula of informality mixed with unexpected treats. We shall always remember Sam's enthusiasm for life, Kenny's many kindnesses, and the way in which Corrine quietly but effectively touched the tiller of our enjoyment of Melaka. Neither could we ever forget the beautiful garden and relaxing in the summer house - a true oasis indeed. I can't believe we won't return with memories like these!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Kaba Home & Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Kaba Home & Stay

Address: 28 Lorong Banda Kaba, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $11 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Apa Kaba Home & Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Kaba Home And Stay
Apa Kaba Home & Stay Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing