We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch disappointment”
Review of Orang Belanda Art Cafe - CLOSED

Orang Belanda Art Cafe
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Orang Belanda art cafe is a new, small, trendy Cafe in china Town with a dutch and french kitchen and even some Swedish dishes.Our Dutch and French Pancakes are not only famous in Melaka but our clients from all over the world come back for our Crépes from Singapour and KL ones they have tasted their deliciousness.Next to the Boeuf Bourguignon(French Beefstew)and Poulet Basquaise (a French chicken dish)we also serve Fresh juices, Smoothies Ice creams and Milkshakes.Our top selling desert the Crépe Royale,a french crépe with icecream,chocolate sauce and whipping cream.
Fremantle West Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dutch disappointment”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Ordered fresh juice, got cordial. When I complained was told it was juice, but the waiter took the glass away and later came back with juice. Confused? Me too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“European Haven”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were walking in the pouring rain and quite literally just stumbled into this little haven for a late breakfast.
It's a mixture of Dutch, French & Swedish cuisine. Ambiance & decor are delightful, but you need to check it out personally.
My wife enjoyed the toasted sandwich with coffee while I chose the omlette with green tea, loose leaf in a teapot.
Attentive service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We found this cafe on TripAdvisor, and its location in the same street as our hotel was perfect.

We found it when we saw the cow outside. A waiter pointed his finger towards the door, as if to ask if we really wanted to come in :-) Inside we were the only customers. The lady in the kitchen came and greeted us when we came in.

The interior is in purple colours, with some large portrait photos on the wall. There is also a small painting from the countryside somewhere that did not fit in at all. The furniture was nice.

We studied the menu, but found it quite disappointing. Pancakes for the kids (or crepes as they say in fancy French) was a winner, and so was the fresh apple and orange juice.

We ordered a ham/cheese sandwich and a chicken salad. The sandwich was a really sad experience, with nothing else added on the plate. The chicken in my salad was only small bits and pieces, but all in all the salad was ok.

Our service experience is hard to describe. A very quiet and serious man took our orders and brought us the food, but we did not hear him speak or see him smile during our lunch.

Total price was 85 RM.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice little air-conditioned cafe, good food choices, nice atmosphere, good respite from the heat!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lovely little air conditioned cafe/restaurant on Hereen Street, parellel to Jonker Street . After traveling for 3 weeks around Malaysia, enjoying Malaysian cuisine, we changed it up and enjoyed a Chicken Sandwich and French Fries here, both very good, and a nice alternative! The crepes looked great too and we promised ourselves we'd come back for them (but check to see how late they're open (8:30pm?) as they were closed when we returned). We spoke with one of the owners, born here in Melaka, but having lived for ten years in Germany, so she spoke excellent English. Her husband was also very nice and welcoming. Apparently they are partners with a Dutch person, hence the mixture of Malaysia and Dutch cuisine - but it works! It was so hot that day and we were happy to find this little respite and enjoy the quality food they serve too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This cafe opens all day and sells mostly Malaysian/Nonya food but does offer a few western things especially for breakfast. Friendly ehlpful staff and tasty food. Love the Nasi Lemak breakfast

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orang Belanda Art Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing