We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget accommodation”
Review of Da Som Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Da Som Inn
Ranked #9 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent budget accommodation”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Da som inn is a very clean and comfortable budget accommodation In the heart of Malacca. It is simple and basic, but tidy. Room includes only the necessities, air con, shower , free wifi, bar fridge. No breakfast in the mornings.

The staff where friendly and very helpful showing us what to do in malacca

Overall I gave it a 4 because it lacks parking, however there is a public parking lot about a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theminusplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
44
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was our first trip to Melaka for us. It is a wonderful and historical place to visit. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean and relax environment of the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The interior of the room was clean and the window opened to an air-well. In the morning, we just turned on the fan to enjoy the cool and fresh air. The location is great and it is quiet too. You have to be used to the morning prayer though. We are planning to return for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearly2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I'm totally amazed by how artistic the people in the guesthouse are. The walls are painted with nice murals, lots of unique batik designs framed on the wall and they even designed their own T-shirts! It's like an art gallery on it's own.
Our room is located on the ground floor, the middle one, twin bed. Either I'm half deaf or dead asleep from partying near Jonker street, I find the room quite noisefree. It's spotless clean and spacious, with A/C and hot water of course. Towels, soap and shampoo provided. No breakfast is no issue as there's a nice Dim Sum place just next door for us to indulge for breakfast, and don't miss Limau-Limau Cafe nearby for some coffee or fresh ice blended or juices. As everyone has mentioned it's on perpendicular road to Jonker walk and if you're in for some good music do check out Ringo Classic Cafe at the pub area.

Room Tip: no elevator in this guesthouse so groundfloor is good if you're not into climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed with Da Som for 3 nights, and was allocated Room 6.

Noise level: We read about the morning mosque prayer, Room 6 is the second last room on the level two, and we could not hear the morning prayers at all.

Wifi: Wifi signal is weak, but lying at the foot of the bed seems to help. And standing up helps too. Don't ask me why. Wifi still functional though, if slow.

Cleanliness: Bathroom is so clean, even the plug chain is spotless. The sheets feel freshly laundered too.

Provided in the room: two towels, a small square of soap and two packets of shampoo. Definitely bring your own toiletries. I didn't expect otherwise, and no issue with that for the price of the room.

Location: Just one street behind Jonker Street, perfect location of 3 min walk from Jonker. Perfect proximity to Jalan Hang Jebat, Tun Tan Cheng Lock, no lack of food, provision shops, little knickknacks and things to explore. Jonker is really alive only on the weekend, week nights are quiet, though there are still dinner places to be had. Da Som is also right next to the famous dim sum place selling the famous big pau and lotus leaf rice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends.

Friendly Korean owner only ask for deposit to secure the room for 4 person.

Checked in quite late as we tour around the town, the owner did called twice to confirm what time we going to check in. And give us the direction to the Inn.

Our room is No. 10 on the ground floor. Spacious clean room with ensuite bathroom (which is also quite huge). Wifi is a bit poor due to our room is at far end, but they do provide a PC at the common area.

Friendly staffs around. The Lady owner even help us to taxi with our bags!

Mosque is just opposite, read about peoples' reviewers for light sleepers, luckily I managed to get a good sleep without disturb with the early prayers in the morning.

I will recommend friends & relatives to stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ic3_amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is vy good,just few step to jonker street night market,you can find many nice restaurant around the hotel.
They have a nice little garden,room vy clean n lovely.
The hotel staff vy friendly n helpful.
Thumb up!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The rooms were very well cleaned. Very comfy and cozy. The building is very well maintained even if its an aged one. People working there are very nice and friendly. As one of my friend was having headache, there are no convenient shops around, the hotel authority provided us a Chinese medicine that cures headache. Definitely recommending my family and friends to stay there the next time :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#50 of 166 in Melaka
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Som Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Som Inn

Property: Da Som Inn
Address: 28 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Som Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished ancestral house in the heart of unesco world heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Som Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Som Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing