We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean & great location!”
Review of Da Som Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Som Inn
Ranked #9 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean & great location!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends.

Friendly Korean owner only ask for deposit to secure the room for 4 person.

Checked in quite late as we tour around the town, the owner did called twice to confirm what time we going to check in. And give us the direction to the Inn.

Our room is No. 10 on the ground floor. Spacious clean room with ensuite bathroom (which is also quite huge). Wifi is a bit poor due to our room is at far end, but they do provide a PC at the common area.

Friendly staffs around. The Lady owner even help us to taxi with our bags!

Mosque is just opposite, read about peoples' reviewers for light sleepers, luckily I managed to get a good sleep without disturb with the early prayers in the morning.

I will recommend friends & relatives to stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ic3_amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
44
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is vy good,just few step to jonker street night market,you can find many nice restaurant around the hotel.
They have a nice little garden,room vy clean n lovely.
The hotel staff vy friendly n helpful.
Thumb up!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The rooms were very well cleaned. Very comfy and cozy. The building is very well maintained even if its an aged one. People working there are very nice and friendly. As one of my friend was having headache, there are no convenient shops around, the hotel authority provided us a Chinese medicine that cures headache. Definitely recommending my family and friends to stay there the next time :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Da Som Inn is operated by Koreans.. Just behind Jonker Street. Since everyone has mentioned the cleanliness and location of the Inn, I will not go further. One thing I wanna highlight is that it is located right in front of a Mosque. If you are a light sleeper, i suggest you to request for a room at the back of the Inn, which is more quiet. Because they usually broadcast their prayers very early in the morning that may disturb your sleep.

However, if you are a internet person... the wifi will be weaker at the back... I stayed at the second storey and right at the back of the Inn. Room 7. I need to come out of my room and connect to the wifi due to weak frequency.

Else, everything is up to our standard of comfort. Last but not least, the Chinese Resturant serves good morning tim sum.

Room Tip: Further back of the Inn is more quiet and away from the Muslim prayers from the mosque's speaker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice hotel, located beside Jonker Street, without the hassle and noise of Jonker Street. Booked 2 rooms, both v spacious. One is deluxe double on first floor. Quiet and beside a small courtyard. The second room is deluxe triple, located on 2nd floor. It is along the road, opposite the mosque. Be prepared to be woken up early in the morning by prayers, otherwise ask for rooms away from the road. Will definitely book this hotel if I am back in Malacca again.

Breakfast is not included. There is a dim sum restaurant next door. Their big pau is great, other items are ok only. Crowded place, not easy to get seats and hard to get attention of serving staff who brings assorted dim sum to tables for selection. If you want good food, try Jonker 88. It opens at around 10am, so be there early to queue.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Da Som Inn is in a street parallel to the main drag Jonker St (which is too noisy to stay on), so excellent location. You can walk all around town from there. Rooms were very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. There's no breakfast and amenities are basic, but its cheap so you can't expect 5 star service. Most importantly it had a great ceiling fan and air conditioning which are a must as it's very hot in Melaka. It is just across the road from the mosque so the call to prayer is quite loud. We were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were there 3 days. Fantastic location - not too noisy and lesser traffic compared to Jonker St and Jln Hang Jebat. Although it is directly opposite of the mosque. Our rooms 9 & 10 were not disturbed by the prayers. Room 10 - sleeps 5pax (2queen & 1single). Toilet/bathroom is very clean. The rooms are huge, clean and simply furnished. The bedsheets seems to a been through many washes, as the colour is a little faded but quality/feel is not too bad.

Sadly, they do not have their own carpark compound. We had to park our car in a paid car park, a short distance away.

Lady boss, Misun is very friendly but she is mostly in their hand painted T-shirt shop. Many more designs & sizes of their T-shirts is in other shop. We got some T-shirts since they were quite pretty. We came to know that they also had classes on design your own T-shirts which both my kids took up. Cost is RM$45-50. It was possible since the T-shirts could be ready in time for our departure as they need to put through some washes to set the paint. My kids love it since they are wearing T-shirts that they drew and paint themselves.

Therefore, it was be a very memorable stay for us in Da Som Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Som Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Som Inn

Property: Da Som Inn
Address: 28 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Som Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished ancestral house in the heart of unesco world heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Som Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Som Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing