We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop In”
Review of Calanthe Art Cafe

Calanthe Art Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Malaysian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Get to try all different taste of authentic coffee from Malaysia 13 States'. Local cuisine, home-made desserts, varieties of drinks and many others. A place to not only to enjoy the coffee but also to relax, appreciate the building and many others.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Drop In”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Try Mr Bean on the menu - tasty sprouts and tofu combo for light snack.
When you are through swing by nearby Me & Mrs Jones for music & drinks, then stroll Jonker St.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    235
    66
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Number 1 place in Melaka”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I visited a lot of restaurants in Melaka but this definitely is my number one, due to combination of coziness and great food. It has friendly staff and great atmosphere. I have had the best nasi lemak I had in Malaysia (and I had a lot) - I believe they call it "golden rice" here. I loved the place so much that I also went here for breakfast which was good as well. The only thing I could say is bad about this place is that sometimes the service could be a bit faster and that I suggest that they open up the place for breakfast every day instead of just the weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvanderB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Far from the maddening crowd...”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was a Saturday night 3 weeks from the Lunar New Year, so the streets where insanely packed with people. The cafe offered a refuge away from all that madness - with the great service and spacious seating arrangements. I had a bowl of Calanthe Nonya laksa and a cucmber smoothie, which complemented each other very well. But for those who prefer thicker, more intense curries, Calanthe may not be your style as the laksa gravy was refined and soup-like. Still, its worth a visit, just to escape.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“The claypot fish laksa was out of this world”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff were friendly and very efficient with our meal. They were concerned that the food would be too spicy, but is was far from the truth. They offered extra spice on a separate dish, so they cater to all pallets. We ordered satay and the clay hot pots and both meals were filling and delicious. The tastes lingered and left us wanting more, but the servings were so generous that we were full. We would go back again as the price was very reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“cozy beautiful art cafe'”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

i love this place, it's cozy, artistic with lots of little art work. it has nice breakfast, good coffee and a really good atmosphere. good to sit and watch people walking by or read or surf the web. definitely a place to go when you're in melaka!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calanthe Art Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Calanthe Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing