We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place with worst welcome ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalan-Jalan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jalan-Jalan
Ranked #13 of 206 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top place with worst welcome ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We would give this place five stars only for the awfully unfriendly welcome by the cantankerous sarcastic ex-pat Brit running this place.

If you were writing a script for a film for a grumpy hotel receptionist you couldn’t have come up with anything as unfriendly as this guy.

That aside, everything else is superb. The hostel is very clean, well kept and incredibly good value in a very convenient location in Chinatown just a minute walk from the river and street market. The WIFI is excellent – the thin walls do help.

One concern would be if you get people drinking or socialising very late/early you’ll wake straight away as the walls are really thin. The benefit of thin walls is excellent WIFI reception though! Just bring ear plugs!

The grumpy guy will organise a taxi when you’re leaving.

Overall, highly recommended just ignore the attitude of the guy running the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    90
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
7
53
76
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Really great place, great staff who go out of their way to help you, Lee took us to the temple fir breakfast really great experience. The place feels like home, dinner club every night to get everyone together is awesome.... I will be returning for sure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinnewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

i frequent melaka pretty often and this is my definitive place to stay. Sam is very hospitable and a jolly good fellow. location is fantastic - everything is within walking distance and Jalan Jalan has a very melaka-style charm about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there couple of days and we should say that we really enjoy your stay. You can use fridge, hot water. Coffe and water are provided for free. The housekeeper (english) is really friendly and provide good tips. Location is also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLMATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed for one week in one double room in the old Jalan Jalan, very clean, simple and cheap rooms, the dorms looked pretty good too. Alan takes care of everything diligently and with lots of british humour. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

It is excellent value for money and as I am travelling alone, it was great to feel home and save. We received a lot of great advice on where to best eat from live in manager Alan. Also loved that you could rent bikes. Nights were sociable in the cosy lounge. Will definitely come back if I pass by again. Exactly what I am looking for in a backpacker hostel. Wish more places would be like that.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlonajourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Jalan-jalan for two nights in mixed dormitory room. The dorm is spacious with locker. I like that each bed has its own fan and power outlet. The toilet is clean and u never have to wait so long for it. U will always see the owner cleaning here and there in the hostel. Overall, I really like the experience staying in Jalan-jalan, definitely will stay again next time when visit to Malacca

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xzhen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalan-Jalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalan-Jalan

Property: Jalan-Jalan
Address: 8 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jalan-Jalan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Jalan-Jalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalan-Jalan Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing