We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic character guest house in great location”
Review of Cafe 1511

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe 1511
Ranked #17 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic character guest house in great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Beautiful building attached to a museum. Very friendly host, who made us feel really welcome. The location is amazing, amongst cafes, shops and galleries. Reasonable breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay again. One note of caution though, the stairs are incredibly steep, not a problem for us, but may be for some people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
81
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The owners of Cafe 1511, Colin and PG were very friendly and welcoming. We were the only guests at that time and it was great! The place is just parallel to Jonker Street and a few block away from all the tourist attractions around Melaka. Great location and great value for your money. Oh, and did i mention they have a mean nonya laksa for breakfast... which is included in your room rate!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenblueblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here only for a night with my partner but after years of travel experience, Cafe 1511 is one of the best places I've stayed so far. The house is a classic Melaka experience, very clean, the rooms are small but adequate, the dvd collection's good for a night of vegetating in the room if you want, there's also the stack of National Geographic magazines free for you to read (this little detail excited me tremendously), the people are the nicest and accommodating I've met so far, the food downstairs is not bad at all, it's a stone throw away from happening Jonker Street yet quiet enough for a good night sleep.

My fave part of this place is the privacy. They make sure you're all right and then just leave you be to fully enjoy and experience the place. I won't hesitate to recommend this place, not at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Cafe 1511 is a clean and lovely place to stay. The room we had was pleasant, bedsheets & mattress was comfortable (not old/grubby like some budget B&Bs can be!) and the toilet facilities were ok. The toilets were a bit small but looked quite new. The staff were friendly and breakfast was nice. The location was good too - It was very near Jonker street. We had an enjoyable stay there :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakecakecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Staying in what is essentially part of a museum of Straits Chinese culture, this ornately decorated and lovingly preserved relic from the time of the Chinese traders in old Malaya was a perfect setting for a relaxing holiday in a fascinating area. Our room was cosy, the entire property was meticulously clean, and the free breakfast was one of the highlights of our entire trip. Whereas most budget hostels in Malaysia serve breakfasts of plain toast, Cafe 1511 offered full continental and local style breakfasts, from sweet waffles to spicy laksas. I was ill on the third day and came downstairs at almost midday and was served my free breakfast without complaint, although in most hotels this would be impossible. The staff are helpful, full of smiles, and polite, and I can't describe how good it felt to wander around the old Chinese streets after midnight, walk up to this beautiful old home, and swipe the card to let myself in - no curfew, no suspicious frowns from staff, they leave you in peace and look after you when you need it. A fabulous place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Cafe 1511 is the best experience I've had in terms of accomodation for a long time. Arrived here just a day before may day n could check in early before starting half a day of itinerary. Was pleasantly surprised by the warm hospitality shown by PG upon check in. Room was the Pongteh room which is the same as the famed laksa room's layout but I think Pongteh is better as the windows are half length so it helped to block out traffic noises from the very busy street below. Found the room small but quaint n really clean.

This is a place filled with history. Found out after I met Colin(the owner) when using the free Internet in the hallway that this n the baba nonya museum beside belonged to his family. The place we are staying is converted from the living room of the service quarters. What a fab place for servants to live in!

Best thing about this place is the breakfast. I had nonya laksa n the Assam laksa, delicious! The location is very convenient n as our coach was only at 4pm, PG let us leave our bags with then after checking in AND let us take a shower before leaving.

Reason why they only accept a certain age group is because you'd need to carry your own luggage up the stairs. Love this place, an overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This place is gorgeous and it made in itself the trip to Melaka from KL worthwhile.
The owner is very friendly and professional and the rooms are nice and spotless. They also include breakfast until past lunch time for very cheap and you can choose from Western style or Thai style, delicious and healthy, which covers for a nice meal, if you are on a budget you can save some money with this deal.
I completely recommend it, its nice and quiet the old traditional building is just stunning.
If you are into partying in noisy hostels, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisadeLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#45 of 166 in Melaka
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe 1511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe 1511

Property: Cafe 1511
Address: 52 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Cafe 1511 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cafe 1511 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe 1511 Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing